We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Explorers Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Explorers Lodge to your Saves list
Explorers Lodge
105 Derwent Terrace, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140 , Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in the Tasman Hideaway which is self contained. The fixtures and fittings were a little tired but everything worked. It was quite cold at night but the heaters and the electric blanket worked well. The small kitchen was manageable as we cooked dinner there one night and made breakfast both days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liztas, Owner at Explorers Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We now have brand new carpets throughout the Tasman Hideaway and new ceramic bathroom tiles in the ensuite to the main bedroom. The reverse cycle airconditioner is new and works very well as does the new digital TV.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spent a single night here on the way to Strahan. Really historic area, feels like it's a million miles from Hobart. The lodge is set in spacious grounds next to river parkland, great views from the upstairs windows. The beds were very comfy and the rooms were tastefully furnished. The owners were very helpful with recommendations about attractions and dinner etc. The breakfast was great, I'll definitely be going back there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My daughter and I visited Explorer's Lodge in April and we were warmly welcomed by Liz and Nigel. The accommodation was quaint and spotlessly clean and we had everything we needed. The breakfast was plentiful, hot and delicious and cooked to order. All in all a relaxing, homely and comfortable stay in a convenient location to explore Richmond and Mt Field National Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent only one night here on our tour of Tasmania, and only regret we didn't stay longer. New Norfolk is a very historical and interesting place to visit, but also a good base to see other parts of Tasmania.The Explorer's Lodge was tucked away in a very beautiful part of town, not far from the river. Our accommodation was spotlessly clean and roomy. We had the B &B option upstairs, however, there was a self catering option and a room for handicapped people downstairs. We had a very satisfying continental breakfast the next morning.
I left a some clothing behind, and the owner kindly sent it back to me in Sydney at her own expense. We will definitely be returning. I'll try not to leave anything behind next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed, everything was perfect, highly recommend, would go back again if visiting Tassy in the future. Facilities were all as described. Breakfast was delicious and fresh :) lovely area to explore too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here recently on a trip to investigate one of my ancestors, who was Governor of the island in the 1840s. The hosts were very very friendly and relaxed: it felt like staying with friends. The breakfast with homemade jam and fresh fruit salad was excellent. They gave me information about the local area regarding my ancestor and some great advice!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was such a joy to come to Explorers lodge after 5 nights of motels. Liz and Nigel were so welcoming and as we are in the same trade back in the Uk we had plenty to chat about! No two B and B,s are the same, the individual styles make for the experience, we can learn from each other and even after doing B and B for 19 years there are still good tips to be had!
The breakfast was just what I like, lots of fruit, home made delicious bread and good company!
Thank you for a lovely introduction to a wonderful island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Explorers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorers Lodge

Address: 105 Derwent Terrace, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explorers Lodge is a charming New England style house set in lovely gardens in a quiet area of New Norfolk only 30 minutes from Hobart. The lodge offers a comfortable and affordable self catering apartment with a separate entrance, as well as four traditional Bed and Breakfast rooms in the main house. The self catering apartment has a king bed and a single bed in one ensuite bedroom and twin beds with a dedicated bathroom in the second bedroom. A sitting area with digital TV/DVD and an attached kitchenette, together with a small verandah (and a BBQ)which overlooks the garden and surrounding hills, make this the perfect place to relax after a day’s touring. The apartment is ideal for two people (one bedroom option) or for four people (two bedroom two bathroom option.) A welcoming breakfast basket with homemade bread is provided for the first morning.The bed and breakfast section has four ensuite rooms each with its own digital TV, with a choice of twin/king or queen beds. Tariff includes continental breakfast which is served in the baywindowed breakfast room or in the lovely sunroom. There is a large welcoming television lounge for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Explorers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorers Lodge New Norfolk, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explorers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.