We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Pleased We Stayed Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tynwald Willow Bend Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tynwald Willow Bend Estate to your Saves list
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Road, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Blue Mountains, Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So Pleased We Stayed Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are so pleased we stayed at Tynwald! We planned to spend some time touring Tasmania and found Tynwald through the net. While we liked the website we loved the building, the room was wonderful and the dinner was just gorgeous. Pat and Garry were perfect hosts whose attention to detail was excellent. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have dinner here. You will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gunnedah, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved this place! Our group of 8 (grown up) family and friends stayed here very comfortably and happily in late January. It is great to see such a beautiful historic country homestead being so well loved and looked after, and used in this way as a B & B hotel. We found the owners to be very welcoming, friendly and helpful, the restaurant dinner supurb, and the setting looking out over bushland from the verandah was very relaxing and surprisingly private. Not a house in sight! A bit of a pity the river itself, below the garden, was obscured by trees. We could easily have imagined we were there a century ago. The place has a lovely feel to it, with beautiful antiques giving a sense of history, but with all the practical amenities that are appreciated today. We occupied several rooms upstairs and the cottage and were all very comfortable. Great breakfasts - best selection of healthy cereals, yoghurt, fresh local fruits and cooked foods I've seen anywhere. Loved the gardens too. Looking forward to our next trip to the Hobart area so we can stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

So glad we found this place! We loved it when we arrived and ended up staying for a week. Our hosts went to great trouble to juggle things around for us so we didn't have to move back and forth between rooms. We did get to stay in three different rooms including the spa room- our favourite was the yellow up stairs room! The rooms are beautifully appointed- it's the details that make it feel so welcoming - working transistor radios, chocolate supplies, a box of little handy things (sewing kit, panadol, bandaid, condom, safety pins), fresh flowers, bedside reading, a respectful and friendly cat, a one eared taxidermied hare. My partner is vegetarian and the restaurant menu isn't vego- if you let them know you're coming pat puts together a great vego meal. It's 20 mins from Hobart, there is public transport. We would absolutely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you enjoy Victorian period architecture and antiques, this is a must do. Staying the night is like going back in time. The spacious room was beautifully furnished though the toilet was down the hall. We had access from our room to the veranda where we enjoyed the view of mountains and the river and the old fashioned gardens. The breakfast was generous and delicious. We loved the dining rooms and parlour. Very elegant. The hosts are gourmet chefs and we enjoyed a dinner from a menu that fit the period.

Room Tip: The room we had had a dedicated toilet but it was down some stairs. There are rooms with ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This magnificent historic place and its hosts Pat and Garry's exceptional service made our wedding truly special. If you are wanting a small,intimate destination wedding in Tassie this is the place to be. Pat and Garry were able to accommodate my family and friends who stayed a few days before and after the wedding. If you need assistance with coordinating your wedding( from hairdresser-B and S Studio to wedding celebrant Celia etc), ask Pat, she certainly made it stress free for me given I did not know much about services in Hobart let alone New Norfolk. Apart from providing accommodation for the wedding guests they organised drinks and savouries after the ceremony and the wedding dinner in their lush and intricately decorated dining room. Garry is a gifted chef who uses the fines ingredients often sourced from his own livestock and garden. Pat surprised us by kindly making a wedding cake which she wonderfully presented on the table.
We had our ceremony in their glorious verandah, overlooking the mountain, surrounded by verdant English style garden. The rooms were tastefully decorated, beds comfortable and rooms clean and well appointed.
New Norfolk is an ideal location for those who appreciate history. There are some great antique shops to visit such as the Willow Court in George St, and others in Stephen St( Drill Hall Emporium , New Norfolk Antiques), High St(20th Century Artefacts,Rose and Sons Antiques),beautiful stationery in High St called Flywall.
For dinner definitely have it at Tynwald otherwise you may need to venture into Hobart( about 30-40 mins from Tynwald) for gourmet food eg Salamanca pl - Mandini etc.)
We will most certainly come back here.

Room Tip: Derwent has a spa and ensuite and it is coolest in summer. All other rooms are nicely decorated and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Four of us stayed there last Saturday night. The house itself is a museum of Tasmania over the last 150 years and the rooms were spcious and accomodating. The highlights were Garry and Pat's friendliness, attentiveness and cooking (both in the breadth of the menu and the quality of the cooking). Their after sales service in returning a sweater to me was also greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have access to a verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful and very special place this is. Situated in the historic and very picturesque Derwent Valley, this majestic home encapsulates the beauty and romanticism of the belle epoch. Your delightful hosts, Pat and Garry, tirelessly invest their passion and energy in this wonderful place while making you feel that their home is your home.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable. You will feel like you have stepped into a 19th century novel. The estate features an atmospheric restaurant where you can find delicious dishes made with the best local ingredients.
This place is a destination in itself, whether you like to romanticize about days of old or you simply need to escape from urban chaos. Come pull up a chair on the verandah and hear nothing but the swaying of willows and the gentle flow of the river... It's waiting for you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tynwald Willow Bend Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynwald Willow Bend Estate

Address: Tynwald Road, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tynwald Willow Bend Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate New Norfolk, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tynwald Willow Bend Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.