We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small unique park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Russell Falls

Russell Falls
Mount Field National Park, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Visit Russell Falls like an insider
Top Rated
$104*
and up
Mt Field National Park and Russell Falls from...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Small unique park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This small park has well developed pathways and is well worth the visit. The stunning waterfalls in the park are wrapped around by the natural rainforest. Located near a town called "national Park"

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    37
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crowley, TX
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Falls...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I have just finished seeing all of the main U.S. National Parks, so we try to visit other National Parks as well. Mount Field's rain forest and falls were among the prettiest hikes/views we have found...we absolutely loved it here...just beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Russell falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The falls are in Mt Fields the beautiful national park about an hour from Hobart, it's a very scenic drive. The staff are very helpful, the facilities are clean, the walk an easy one on a paved walkway. There are walks to be done for all fitness levels. We were there after a lot of rain and the falls were so beautiful and the park was truly beautiful. I would recommend taking children there they would love the walk through the park. A magical place

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful National Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was definitely worth the drive (approx. 1hour) from Hobart. We did three walks in the park: Russell Falls, Horseshoe Falls and the Tall Trees Circuit. All were quite easy for a person of average fitness. Kids would really enjoy the tall trees walk as it was very interactive. The forest was amazing and the waterfalls spectacular.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall only a short walk away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Although its not necessarily worth driving all the way to Mount Field National Park just for the falls they are still beautiful none-the-less.
They are only a 10min walk away from reception and you can had a walk too horseshoe falls and the Tall Tree walk if you want to go a bit further.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell Falls also viewed

Mount Field National Park, Tasmania
Mount Field National Park, Tasmania
 
Freycinet National Park, Tasmania
New Norfolk, Tasmania
 

Been to Russell Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.