We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a half day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marakoopa Cave

Marakoopa Cave
Mole Creek Karst National Park, Mole Creek, Tasmania, Australia
61363635182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Attractions in Mole Creek
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for a half day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We drove up to the caves from launceston, easy relaxing drive with great scenic views. The walk through the forest to get to the cave entrance was relaxing a very peaceful, only takes 10minutes and good for all fitness levels.
The cave itself is stunning. Our tour guide was extremely informative and seemed to love telling it's stories. Was told it would be a 45min tour however we were in there for over an hour so good value. Highlight was reflection pools, just magical. Glow worms were also cool to see. Dress warm it's cold. Also if you're tall expect a lot of ducking to miss rocks. Would recommend for anyone wanting a nice half day trip, small town stop offs along the way if you have time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Marakoopa Caves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Visited the caves in March 2013. Very interesting caves with its limestone formations and fireflies as the highlight. It is well preserved with lights being switched off when we leave the different sections. Really worth the visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wet cave with beautiful formations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We didn't have many days in tasmania and could only do 1 cave. After reading the reviews, we decided on Marakoopa. We joined the underground river and glow worms tour.

I've visited caves in other parts of Australia and find Marakoopa superior. The underground rivers and reflection pools were beautiful and so was the fern glade walk leading up to the meeting point outside the cave. Apart from glow worms, we also saw crickets.

It's a pity that we didn't have much time or we would love to do the grand cathedral tour as well.

It was an educational visit for my young kids and definitely money well spent.


Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not a must”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The tour guide was very nice and humorous. The entrance fee (about $20 per person) was a bit expensive. There are a lot of stairs to climb; not suitable for elders and disabled persons.

Although the formation and discovery of the cave fascinates me, I visited Guilin in China few years back where there are a few stalactite caves that are tens of times bigger - you can even ride boats inside the caves!

Overall I think if you haven't seen a stalactite cave before and if it's on the way it's worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Disappointing guide”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We saw the underground rivers cave and the glow worms. The caves are okay, not the best we have seen but we have seen a lot. It was expensive, almost $50 for two adults and one child. The big let down though was the guide who did not take the job of educator seriously. I suppose it must get boring doing the same thing day in day out but it was our first visit so would have appreciated a more serious attitude to the adulation side.
I would not recommend this site. There are better caves in Tassie and the mainland.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marakoopa Cave also viewed

Mole Creek, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to Marakoopa Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marakoopa Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.