We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marakoopa Cave

Marakoopa Cave
Mole Creek Karst National Park, Mole Creek, Tasmania, Australia
61363635182
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Must Do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We came here 7 yrs ago with our daughter, and so we decided to come back to take our 5yr old son. We had forgotten how amazing, beautiful and stunning it was. Our little man loved it so much, especially the glow worms. The guide (Brian) was wonderful and his knowledge is excellent with a great sense of humour thrown in. This is something I could do many many times and never get tired of it. What a magical part of the world. Even better, is that it doesn't matter what the weather outside is doing, you can still do the tours! This is such a great thing to do for all ages!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    52
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept kids in line. Entertaining and magnificent cave formations. Well lit and easy to manage.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An enjoyable 'outdoor' activity on a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

On a rainy day we were looking for something to do outside & the caves were a wonderful option - recommended by the wonderful staff at the Christmas Hills Raspberry Farm where we went for morning tea.
Our 24people tour was led by John, who was very knowledgeable& enthusiastic, even after doing back to back tours with large groups. He was friendly & involved both our small children. The glow worms were a hit & the 45min tour was just the right length for our daughter's attention.
Getting there was a nice drive& the caves are in a beautiful lush location.
Please note: there are stairs, lots of them, and my husband and I carried our little ones (3.5&1.5yrs) for about 75% of the tour, which was a bit of a workout for me :) but this did not detract from the visit. It was a great experience for all of us.
The cave tour is about $20 per adult, but under 4s are free.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Awesome cave, great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Informative tour, thanks to Brian our guide. Saw the glow worms, and fantastic cave formations. Also visited King Solomon's cave which was also good, highly recommend doing both. The caves are about 11km away from each other.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went on a Wednesday and for the 11am tour and ended up being the only ones on the tour, so the personal experience! The guide was lovely and certainly knew her stuff and could answer our inquisitive questions! The walk from the ticket office was well worth it too! We would recommend and will be back to check out the Solomon's cave next time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marakoopa Cave also viewed

 
Mole Creek, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to Marakoopa Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marakoopa Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.