We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in a bit of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woolmers Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woolmers Estate to your Saves list
Woolmers Estate
Woolmers Lane, Longford, Tasmania, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Sleeping in a bit of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed in the three bedroom cottage with our daughter, son-in-law and two grandaughters. The location is beautiful. This is a world heritage site and is located on a farm 20 minutes from Launceston. There are historic buildings to walk through including the homestead that has not been altered for at least 50 years. This is very worth while visiting, if you can't stay the night, at least go and walk through the place and visit the homestead and the national rose garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This estate has accommodation in cottages on the estate, however we just did the tour of the house and gardens. Everything in the house is authentic and has always belonged in the house. The dining room is a real step back in time and the guide , Judee has extensive knowledge of the family history to share, the good and sad stories. The gardens are extensive and making the effort to walk around them and all outer buildings is worthwhile and is a "must - do" as part of the whole experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oatlands, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Working in heritage, I was pleasantly surprised with the fit out of the cottages. Loved the 3 nights spent at this treasured estate. The rose garden was delightful ... The only issue I had was very poor internet connection ...

The staff where incredibly friendly and helpful.... I had the notion that as a winter romantic get-away Woolmers would fit the spot; lovely wood fire and deep bath everything to satifsy any traveller...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spotted the signs for Woolmers on the main road to Hobart and decided to call in. What a great place. It details the history of the estate very well and it is a credit that the restoration is keeping the place in reasonable condition. The best way to appreciate anywhere is to take the guided tour, which we did. The lady was related to the family and was very informative. Also we had morning tea at the cafe which was very good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudlo, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had 2 nights in the quaint little Rose Gardener's cottage at the end of the property. It was an interesting way to finish a great Tassie trip and having the 2 nights meant we could do the historic tour of Woolmers (excellent guide Judy) and the neighbouring Brickendon Estate (theres a great TV clip on the Archer family) Reasonably priced cottage and you slip back in time to life in a previous era. There were some negatives about the cottage which were made known on the guest comment sheet - mainly sloppy house-keeping (previous guests clothes still in one of the drawers!) and generally lacking T.L.C. The rose garden is beautiful but we felt if it were ours we would keep it better trimmed and weeded. We self catered, and had to was all the plates before use as sloppy housekeeping had struck again, and they were all greasy!
Don't know if theres a chance to review this restaurant - but if in Longford the best meal by a country mile is at Happys - just ask the locals!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamboin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in a restored cottage - Oak Cottage - on the estate. It was pleasant and well-restored, athough the upstairs bedroom might be very hot in hot weather. The estate setting is interesting - it oddly reminded us of slave-based estates from the US South. Woolmers is heavily dependent on volunteer labour, and this left us feeling that we lacked the kind of information about what we were entitled to do on the estate, given that we were staying there. The national rose garden was impressive - but, equally, did not really give the detailed information about each plant that one might have expected, given that it has pretentions to being a national collection. All told, it is an interesting experience, and a visit to Wollmers and Brickendon is very worthwhile.

Room Tip: We could not fine any way to make a choice between the different cottages, and would, I think, have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Gardener's cottage. It no luxury BUT with such a reasonable price we could have the whole cottage and experience the 18th century life~ The rose garden is beautiful and it's like we were owning the whole area as each cottage were far from one another. We spent three nights there. It's a bit too much though. Breakfast was the only thing I would complain. It's just bread, cereal and milk. Should have better option in such a lovely environment.

Room Tip: Gardener's cottage is nice as it's at the far end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolmers Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolmers Estate

Address: Woolmers Lane, Longford, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Longford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Longford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Woolmers Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolmers Estate Longford, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolmers Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.