We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages to your Saves list
King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   125 The Esplanade | King Island, King Island, Tasmania 7256, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Discount - 7.5%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just got back today from King Island. The Naracoopa Holiday Cottages were in a beautiful, relaxing setting with the ocean just across the road. The cottage itself was older style, but really well set up and clean. Our hosts, Rhonda and John were lovely people who made us feel very welcome and at home. We loved being able to sit in their beautiful garden, enjoying the birds and visits from their dog Jess. Would recommend anytime to anybody. Loved it!!

Room Tip: We had the 1 bedroom cottage. It was fully self contained and all that we needed and more. Plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you,
We appreciate the positive feedback. We do try to keep our guests happy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
55
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo NSW Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Lovely location at Naracoopa on the east coast of King Island, with beach just across the Esplanade. Meticulously kept grounds. Warm welcome from John and Rhonda. Cottages are light and airy, decorated in seaside theme (lots of yellow and blue). You'd be hard-pressed to think of something missing in the kitchen and elsewhere. It'd be a great place for someone like a writer to get away from it all and do some serious work — or not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for your review, the beach theme is what was aimed for and it works nicely.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Cottages, the view, the extra touches, the pool room and of course John & Rhonda were all there to make our stay perfect! We had both cottages during the long weekend in June and wanted for nothing. We did our big shop on the first day and were then able to pack the picnic basket everyday ready for lunch at a different location. It was too easy! Penguins are definitely great, (Though there was a moment sitting on the camp chairs in the cold & dark rocky banks wandering if someone was playing a trick on us...) John & Rhonda's supplies/service/information and puppy were all above & beyond!
Thanks for an amazing experience. Very Much Appreciated & Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We appreciate the great comments and happy you found our accommodation to your satisfaction.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

What a lovely place to stay! And what amazing hosts. Couldn't have chosen a better spot to relax for our 3 days at King Island. The cottages are equipped with everything you could ask for and if it isn't there well you just ring the bell on the side of the main residence and "voila"!
From the little touches of a paper and pencil by the beds to hot water bottles, thermos flasks and folding chairs everything has been thouht of. Just pick up supplies at Currie and drive on over and settle in. The cabin was cosy and the heater soon had the place all" toasty" for us northerners and the view in the morning(once the dew and frost had melted) was loveiy.
King Island is a pretty but secluded part of Tasmania and as such doesn't seem to get too many tourists. But what is there is well worth a look - the dairy and cheese tasting room; the lighthouses and history and of course the PENGUINS! Make sure you get to Grassy and see the little fellows- you have them all to yourself most nights.
Loved our stay. Thank you John & Rhonda for your helpful advice and friendliness. Give that puppy a pat for us.

Room Tip: They are both the same I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed yourselves at our little Slice of Paradise and agree that the fairy penguins are a must see, you can get so close and personal with them.
Thanks for staying at Naracoopa Holiday Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it!

The hosts John and Rhonda were so warm and welcoming toward us, making us feel right at home immediately. They were a wealth of knowledge and only too happy to help us in any way they could.

The cottages themselves were terrific; containing everything you possibly need - and more! Every kitchen utensil you could think of/ever need, enough hot water bottles for everyone (much appreciated), gas heater, torches, thermos', books, King Island related DVDs, a compendium with all the island's information that would put the Tourist Information Centre to shame, even a sewing kit! (You get the idea...)

But really it was the small personal touches that made a difference and we wanted for nothing.
And waking up to those gorgeous ocean views every morning! Wow!

The gardens were absolutely exquisite - beautiful plants, shrubs, trees and flowers, multiple places to sit and relax, breathtaking views overlooking the ocean and even if you're not a gardener, you can't help but respect the amount of time and effort that goes into creating and maintaining it all.

They have a BBQ area to cook wood-fired King Island steaks, fish, etc, and a Games Room which includes pool/billiards, table tennis, hookey, darts, jigsaws, board games, another TV, a huge DVD library and even a couple of bikes you can borrow as well! There's also a Laundry with washing machine, various handy cleaning products, folding chairs and a spare full-sized fridge available for use if you need.

The cottages are ideally situated on the East Coast: the sheltered side of the island (protected from the Roaring Forties winds) and are nice and quiet. While we stayed there we were lucky if we saw a handful of cars pass by each day! Traffic noise certainly wasn't an issue!

A hire car is a necessity, both to explore the island and also to get to Naracoopa (approximately 25mins from Currie). John and Rhonda organised ours for us and they also advised us to stock up on food and supplies first at Currie as there aren't any supermarkets at Naracoopa either - there are however, a couple of great restaurants and a cafe!
When going on drives/trips, it’s always best to take food and drink with you, and be on the lookout for wallabies – there are lots of them!

There are lots of places/activities/attractions to keep you occupied:
Cape Wickham and Currie Lighthouses, the Calcified Forest, the Blow Hole, numerous shipwrecks, cairns, plaques and information around the island, the Races when they are on, and the gorgeous little penguins.
There’s fishing, surfing, diving, bushwalks, bike riding, even a drive or walk just about anywhere will provide picturesque scenery and stunning views, an abundance of birds and wildlife, and an amazing amount of kelp on the shore lines! It’s even more incredible what can be done with the kelp!
Sampling the local produce (dairy, meat, seafood, fruit and veg, etc) is a real treat. You can even bring some produce back with you. The 'Tasting Room' at the Fromagerie offers a great opportunity to sample different types of cheese and choose some favourites to bring home with you!

We will most definitely be back to King Island in the future and we would not even consider staying or looking elsewhere. Not when we've found this slice of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Well! What can one say to that review - nothing. You've said it all.
So glad you enjoyed King Island and our Slice of Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Naracoopa is the pick of all the areas to stay at on King Island. It is quiet and peaceful and at this time of the year, the bay and the beach is almost all one's own.

Rhonda and John's cottages are set back from the road in immaculately kept gardens with excellent views across the bay and out to sea. Since it was a wee bit cool outside at the end of the day, it was most relaxing to sit at the window with a glass of red wine and some of the excellent King Island cheese just watching darkness fall and with the pre-darkness flurry of the small wrens feeding on the bread crumbs on the table just outside our window.
R and J's cottages are sparkling clean and fresh and are set up with all the necessities - and some - to have you feel as though it is your very own. They have thought of everything!!

All in all, a wonderfully relaxing, friendly and comfortable place to have spent 5/6 days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about our seaside cottages.
We are always thrilled to hear our guests enjoyed King Island and the cottage accommodation.
As a matter of fact we might just do what you suggested, enjoy the beauty of the view over a wee glass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

All we hoped for and more. We had planned this 3 night/4 day break for a while in anticipation of our 25th wedding anniversary. John and Rhonda were truly magnificent hosts and everything we didn't even know we wanted was at our disposal. Naracoopa, on the eastern side of the island, was quiet and peaceful. We were given the heads up on buying supplies in Currie before heading out to the cottage as it is a half hour drive. Once there, nothing was too much trouble and John was even kind enough to lend us his red cellophane-covered torch for our expedition to see the fairy penguin parade in Grassy. We had hundreds of the little cuties all to ourselves and it was a magic night. With wallabies grazing on the front lawn, tiny birds on the shrubs just outside the large frontage windows and the "resident" seal playing around the gorgeous jetty, our thirst for seeing wildlife in its natural state was fully quenched. Our hosts had even thought of a thermos, mugs and foldup chairs so we had an outing with hot soup on our day down at Stokes Point (the southern-most tip of the Island). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John N, Owner at King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your King Island break. There is an awful lot of wildlife on this island I must say,
1600 people 600,000 wallabies not to mention all the other wildlife.
Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages

Address: 125 The Esplanade | King Island, King Island, Tasmania 7256, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > King Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in King Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Slice of Paradise: Stunning views from comfortable & delightful cottages 50 metres from romantic Sea Elephant Bay Beach. On the East Coast away from the prevailing Westerlies. 3.5 Star Fully self contained private & secluded set in garden/park like surrounds. Enjoy the serenity & tranquility of Naracoopa, the clean crisp air of King Island, wander along miles of sandy deserted unspoilt beaches or quiet bush tracks. Dine at great restaurants, eat King Island produce. Peace for the soul and solace for the frayed nerves. Tourist Industry Council of Tasmania accredited. Rainbow LGBT Accreditation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Island's Naracoopa Accommodation Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.