We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm and Welcoming Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Kettering

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cove Kettering to your Saves list
The Cove Kettering
3 Oxleys Rd, Kettering, Tasmania 7155, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kettering B&B and Inns
Box Hill, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Warm and Welcoming Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We travelled in June and while icy outside temperatures could have dampened our stay, the Cove Kettering was cosy and welcoming. The underfloor heating throughout the rooms coupled with the lovely open fire, heated towel rails and cosy bed made our stay relaxing and comfortable.
Ross and Bronwyn added further warmth to our stay.
I would highly recommend staying at the lovely Cove Kettering

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I'm glad your stay was memorable and hope to see you on your return trip to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
82
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

with a lovely smile. We stayed there last week for 2 nights and wish it had been more. A beautiful dinner with wine in front of an open fire on the sunday evening and a trip the following day to Bruny Island which had been kindly organised for us. Both Bronwyn and Ross made us feel welcome - almost like family. Looking forward to a return trip!

Room Tip: All rooms (there are 3) are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
A big thank you for your review and can't wait for your return trip to The Cove. Again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Thank you to Bronwyn and Ross for making our stay so memorable. Their passion in providing accommodation that makes you feel like you are part of the family is evident from the moment you arrive. Meals are prepared using herbs and vegetables grown from their own gardens and food bought from local suppliers. Our room was fantastic, well equipped and with heated floors throughout. Bed was so comfortable that we enjoyed 2 fabulous nights sleep. The Cove is a great choice if you are wanting to spend a day at Bruny Island. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure and can't wait to see you on your return journey to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night at The Cove, but it was superb! Convenient location to Bruny Island, Cygnet and the Huon Valley. Browny is the perfect host and little Lucy is a perfect extra! The rooms are modern, beautiful and have great facilities- underfloor heating to keep you warm on chilly Tasmanian evenings, stunning bathrooms and very comfortable bed! Breakfast was delicious and I would highly recommend a visit to The Cove, Kettering

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
It's great to hear you appreciated your stay and hope to see you on your return journey to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived at the Cover stressed and very tired and stayed for four nights and left totally rejuventated as we found it was the most wonderfully relaxing place, it was quiet and the beds were so comfortable and the view lovely. Bronwyn and her husband are perfect hosts and the food was magic. I have travelled a lot and this is without doubt one of the best breakfasts l have had - each day was an adventure of new tastes. Bronwyn was full of great suggestions as to what we might like to do and the oysters from get shucked on Bruni Island delicious!! It was really close to a number of interesting places to visit. We stayed in one night and had a cooked meal, just lovely. We left totally rejuvinated. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I'm delighted that your stay was relaxing and can't wait for your return trip to Tassie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have just spent two nights at The Cove Kettering and lived life in the lap of luxury. The Cove is a luxury Bed and Breakfast with a magnificent view looking out over the D'Entrecasteaux Channel to Bruny Island. The rooms are very luxurious with under floor heating, beautifully comfortable beds, a magnificent walk in shower and bathroom and your own private balcony with a fabulous view. Bronwyn cooks a delicious breakfast with local produce and a meal at night if you want. She is the perfect host and could not be more helpful with information or anything. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms and I am sure they are all equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review it's greatly appreciated and hope to see you on your return trip to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Bronwyn has to be one of the best B&B owners. She was funny, helpful, welcoming, chatty in a good way and awesome at poached eggs.

This owner built B&B that looks out over the bay where the boat to Bruney Island departs daily. This could be very handy for those wishing to day trip to the island though for me this mean't a bit of traffic in the mornings when I was trying to sleep. If the sliding glass doors don't have double glazing they need to.

The noise was my only complaint especially as we were in a room below the owners apartment which meant I didn't have as much serenity as I was hoping.

The lounge has a beautiful large fireplace though we didn't use it as it means you need to leave your room and once we hit our room each arvo we didn't want to leave. Perhaps if the owners hosted some late afternoon wine and cheese tasting, provided board games or something specific to the region than we may have been enticed to use the room and meet other people.

Rooms were very large and spacious which when on holidays is welcoming. In a room that size I would have expected though a King bed but it was only a queen. A nice addition was the daily home made treats.

All in all we had a pleasant 2 night stay which allowed us to see some of the Huon Valley, and would recommend of friends or stay here if travelling to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronwyn R, Owner at The Cove Kettering, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and will take on board your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cove Kettering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Kettering

Address: 3 Oxleys Rd, Kettering, Tasmania 7155, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Kettering
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kettering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three spacious suites are luxuriously appointed. Each has its own en-suite with walk-in shower, heated flooring and heated towel rails. Wake up to views of Little Oyster Cove from your own private balcony, or relax in comfort with heating throughout. We also have a lounge and dining area available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Cove Kettering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Kettering Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Kettering, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.