We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant/pub food surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Inn Hotel

Hamilton Inn Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamilton Inn Hotel
Save
You added Hamilton Inn Hotel to your Saves list
10 Tarleton Street, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant/pub food surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stopped here for lunch with a party of eight, honestly not expecting too much given the small country town etc. We were very pleasantly surprised by the warm service, accommodating our various special requests, and by the delicious food. The grilled salmon was the best fish we ate during our week touring Tasmania, really delicious, chips were highly recommended, as was the salad. One of our group loved the beer on tap. We came with four little kids who were made to feel comfortable and welcome and overall we were very pleased to have stopped there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Best little antiques and collectables at this 1826 quaint hotel.
Had the fluffiest scones ever!
The owner/cook was amazing, so helpful and welcoming and very stylish.
The hotel has the most gorgeous little dog who stands on her back feet and begs for attention. I didn't want to leave!
The service was incredible. I really felt at home. We had one of the best sleeps ever and each room has it's own ensuite. Everything was very clean and tidy. Loved it! If you ever go past Hamilton you must make sure you stop off at the Hamilton inn

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We had an unexpected stop over at this unique and marvellous hotel it had such a warm and friendly feel as soon as we were greeted by the owners John and Gina what lovely people...the prawn and mango pizza was to die for and the entertainment by Alec shay a young talented guitarist was so spontaneous but magnificent!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wow, what a gorgeous old sandstone hotel.

A real treat to relax back in time at the historic Hamilton Inn.

With friendly staff, lovely food and well priced accommodation (all rooms have en-suites) it really was a delight to stay and relax in the countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great setting ; amazing fireplace ..... Great Coffee and Muffins ....Plenty parking . Bella was cute .

Very clean ....beautiful food and very welcoming hosts ....

Will be back .....Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

After a long day of driving and sight seeing the lights were on and the $85 p/double suited the budget. We opened the door and were greeted by a very strange statute holding a beer along with 3 dogs and 2 cats. We must have been the only people to enter the door all day as I believe we startled the owner.... the establishment appears to be under going a MAJOR renovation after doors were hurriedly shut we were shown the room which was clean and tidy it had an en-suite. Down for a nice dinner in the bar/dinning room along side the open fire, the bar was not functioning and refreshments (what was left) was only available in cans/bottles. Overall the experience was interesting - birds nesting in the roof scratching all night (one in the hall way in the morning crashing into everything trying to get out). Breakfast was offered in the price but only during a 1hr window...... As it was late when we arrived we planned to settle the account on check out. There was no one to be found anywhere we stood in the foyer yelling for 45min even bashed on the residents door!!!!! NOTHING we had to rummage through paper work to locate the phone number ring to get someone down to settle the account. As a result of this delay we missed our planned tour at the next stop. NOT HAPPY :(

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Hamilton Inn is a great hotel - the rooms were nice and very clean. It was in a great spot just off the main road. It had plenty of parking for guests and the restaurant downstairs was brilliant - great service and lovely food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamilton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Hotel

Address: 10 Tarleton Street, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140 , Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hamilton Inn Hotel Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.