We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and wonderful villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet to your Saves list
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Location and wonderful villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2013, We had a 2 bedroom unit. This was able to accommodate 2 adults, 3 teenagers and 1 child. It had 1 bedroom with a queen size bed and 1 room with 2 sets of bunks. The bathroom/laundry was big enough for us. For a family of six, a kitchen is a must, this kitchen was well equipped adn I was able to produce meals with everything on hand. Though a set of tongs wouldnt of gone astray. The villa was spotless when we arrived.
We were situated just near the playground and the kids could go off and play quite safely. The Big4 is situated just opposite a beach, so we could go for a dip, without trudging too far. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a 2 bedroom unit, worth the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Yes, Iluka is a fantastic family spot, glad you found it convenient. What a shame you didn't come down to reception and get a pair of tongs. Hope you make it back to beautiful Coles Bay again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Sorell, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

When my family accompanied me on a last minute trip to coles bay after I had just accepted a new job, paying only $150 for a one night stay, we didn't exactly have high expectations. We were pleasantly surprised. The cabin we stayed in was the first closest to reception. It had three separate bedrooms. Two with double beds. Was very clean, warm and inviting. More than enough space for the four of us. A nice touch were the ice Cube trays filled in the freezer ready for us and the complimentary coffee, sugar and milk. The location was perfect, pretty much right on the beach and bakery and supermarket only a minutes walk away. Will definitely return and recommend to others. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at Iluka, and hope you return another time.
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We are a group of |young at heart| older ladies we spent 3 nights in the backpackers lodge as there were 14 of us we booked the entire facility we were really impressed with the cleanliness, of all the facilities. A perfect venue for us to enjoy some lovely walks in the national park, very quiet except for our noise Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Great you all enjoyed yourselves, we certainly enjoyed having you. And thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff (I'm guessing owners) were brilliant, offered advice and local knowledge willingly. They were also quick to help if needed and really friendly. The parks located near to the local tavern for an easy meal and all facilities were clean and ready to use. It was a great place to be able to go back to after a day of scenic walks in the Coles Bay area

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for giving Iluka such positive feedback. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We spend 2 nights this week and we enjoyed it ....Cabins had all we needed , the area around the 170's was very quiet at all times and we spend so much time under the covered patio , I even brought the laptop out and worked listening to the rain ...
Bed was great ....not sure if I like the shower head ...
TV reception poor but we have had same issue here in Port Arthur ..but who comes to Coles Bay to watch TV ? ( we put it on because of the rain ).
Cabin was very clean.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your quiet stay with us at Iluka, and do hope you return once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

While basic, the cabins are excellent value, very quiet and located close to the Wine Glass Bay cruises. Despite what you may read on advertising etc, this place is not on The Esplanade but rather on Reserve Road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi There,
Many thanks for your positive and helpful review, yes, we are aware of the address issue and have commenced changing marketing material for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I really wasn't sure what we were in for as we haven't stayed at a BIG4 before but it was excellent. The cabin was immaculate, it was central to the little town centre and the national park, there was a little bakery and tavern off the back of it and it was right on the beach. Couldn't have asked for more, especially with how little it cost. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hello Mike, Thank you for taking the time to let others know about Iluka, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the very beautiful area of the Freycinet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet National Park > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Freycinet National Park, Tasmania - Coles Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.