We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced just right, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet to your Saves list
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Priced just right, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Expecting to stay in what we know in our country as a cabin, the Australian cabins are like our motels, full cooking facilities, fridge, crockery, dining table/chairs, lounge and bedrooms, oh and the important bathroom too! Quite impressed with what we had, verandah to watch the sun go down. Queen size bed in one room, bunk beds on another room and standard double bed in another room, a little over kill for the two of us, but that's what we got. Yes the bathroom is a little small, but it is a cabin! We received good valve for what we had and no, we didn't think it was 'too public', it was exactly what we had booked and what we had wanted and was priced accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The bathroom is quite small! Lucky my wife & I are littler people as you wouldn't get to the toilet...
We had to tune the television in to pick up stations!
But overall it is basic and priced just right.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed in one of the 2 bedroom self contained units for a long weekend. Exactly what we wanted & lovely atmosphere in the complex. Only reason I scored cleanliness down a bit was that the freezer was frosted over. Other than that it was very clean. No problems with noise from other campers/residents and all staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We unfortunately had only 1 night to spend here, but really appreciated the facilities at Big4. A short walk to the F & C shop (grumpy lady), bakery and pub. Easy drive to the Visitors Centre at Freycinet. Very clean and very reasonably priced. No free wifi but otherwise spot on. Beautiful, peaceful spot with lovely views. Will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We (2 adults + 1 toddler) stayed one night here in one of their smaller cabins towards the back of the park. The cabin was clean, they provided a cot for our little one for no extra charge and the location meant that there was no noise at night. There was no door to close the main bedroom off from the rest of the cabin, however the 2nd bedroom had a door so it didn't bother us.

All in all, a great budget choice in Coles Bay where everything else is VERY expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed in a cabin towards the back of the complex. The cabin was very comfortable and clean, there was a clear TV in the bedroom and working kitchen. A nice little patio comes off the cabin which is a great place to unwind. It's right behind the tavern which serves really nice pub food (the ribs were excellent). The location is about as good as it gets without the million dollar views. I was very happy and comfortable staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the cabins for a couple of days. The cabins are pleasant, clean, quite basic but well worth it. Coles Bay caters mainly for tourists and most places are priced accordingly, $6.50 for a take way coffee, $10 for take away fish and chips (2 pieces of fish no bigger that the palm of your hand). No problems at all with the cabin. Would go back for sure

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet National Park > Coles Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coles Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Freycinet National Park, Tasmania - Coles Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.