We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous day full of treats and interesting history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Long Lunch Tour Co

The Long Lunch Tour Co
Garnet Ave | Town Center, Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park, Tasmania, Australia
0409 225 841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Attractions in Coles Bay
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come on an adventure of Gastronomical Proportions Indulging in Local Wines and delicacies that have made Tasmania a gourmet paradise. Be picked up from your accommodation and returned in comfort and safety.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous day full of treats and interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

One of the highlights of our recent Tassie trip was the Long Lunch- Winedy Road Tour, originating from Coles Bay.
Brad, our owner/host took us on a delightful 6 hour experience which included delicious local foods, tantilizing tastings of the local wines (visits to three local wineries) and locally made berry treats.
He also kept us informed about history of the region and the interesting development of local industries such as poppy, walnut, olive and, of course, wine growing.
Being picked up from and delivered to our accomodation was very much appreciated.
An excellent experience!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Expectations exceeded and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

What an amazing day we had. A group of 4 of us booked the day tour from Coles Bay to visit the local delights in the surrounding area. Brad is the tour guide and is passionate about the local produce. He takes you in a mini-bus to a number of destinations.

We started at a little gem just down the road from Coles Bay - Freycinet Marine Park. They serve the freshest of seafood and, being on Brad's tour, we got a little sample of everything from oysters, scallops to mussels. We then visited a number of wineries for tastings and an insight into the wine making process. Plenty of time to buy a bottle or two!

Lunch was a fabulous spread of fresh Tasmanian produce set in a winery - simply breathtaking. And you finish the tour at Kate's Berry Farm for an ice cream of your choice.

The Long Lunch Tour is a must for both Tasmanians and visitors. Don't delay, book in.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Certainly a must-do Tassie experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The 'Long Lunch Tour' sounded attractive, hence we booked. But it far exceeded our expectations. We thought there'd be wine tastings interspersed with a lunch, but got so much more:- a series of tasty treats in between the wines and interesting information on the local produce and the people involved as well as little-known snippets of national history where applicable. Brad is a clever chap who charmed us so unpretentiously with his knowledge and obvious love of food, wine and Tasmania. Being collected and returned to our lodgings was SO much appreciated. I will be recommending it to anyone I know who is visiting Tassie.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A tour of gastronomical proportions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Brad picked us up from our accommodation doorstep in a comfortable air-conditioned minibus and brought us to several gorgeous boutique wineries and Wicked Cheese, providing us with a fountain of knowledge about Tasmania and it's local produce, as well as interesting facts about Tasmanian wine and the wine making process. The highlight of the day was the incredible gourmet lunch that Brad put together for us with all local Tassie fare and a beautiful vineyard backdrop to boot. At the end of our tour, Brad even gave us great suggestions for things to do and see around Hobart, and was an overall delightful host to an exquisite day. If you are planning on booking a wine tour in Tasmania, book with The Long Lunch Tour Co. You won't be disappointed!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Superb Taste of Tasmania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

What an excellent way to spend a day. Door to door pick up and drop off, comfortable minibus, a good selection of vineyards to visit with superb seafood and nibbles along the way. Lunch was a kaleidoscope of flavours of local produce, and Brad an inexhaustible source of insight about local history and wines. To get the most out of a visit to Tasmania you must take the Long Lunch Tour. Top quality, and a lot of fun.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Long Lunch Tour Co also viewed

Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park
Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park
 
Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park
Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park
 

Been to The Long Lunch Tour Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Long Lunch Tour Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.