We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt like a race!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freycinet Adventures

Freycinet Adventures
2 Freycinet Drive, Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park, Tasmania 7215, Australia
0362570500
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Coles Bay
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Freycinet! Tasmaia's greatest sea kayaking destination The Freycinet Paddle- explore the breathtaking coastline of Freycinet National Park by sea kayak on this relaxed guided, award winning tour. Listed #4 Things to do before you die, in Australia
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“felt like a race!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I went sea kayaking with my friend and seven other people were in the group. The guide was lovely and informative but the adventure wasn't 3hrs in the sea as we had to wait for people to arrive and then go through the procedure before entering the water, which is what we expected as safety comes first but we didn't expect the adventure to be like a race as if we were training for the Olympics. Due to this we were in the water for 1.5hr as we returned back 45mins before we were suppose to finish.It was suppose to be an enjoyable paddle to explore... I believe we should of had two guides when you are in a group for safety reasons, having one in the front of the group and one in the back. Please, don't get me wrong the experience is wonderful but it would of been much better if we could of enjoyed the paddle to take in the beauty of Freycinet...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetAdventures, General Manager at Freycinet Adventures, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Lisa,
Thank for your feedback on your experience. We value you taking the time to let us know your thoughts. With every tour our guides aim to pace the tour to the group and the conditions. We try our best to make the pace relaxing so our guests can take in the scenery. We hope that if you join us again you will find the experience more relaxing. We also have minimum standards for client to guide ratios which is satisfied on each tour. Thanks again for your feedback- we hope to see you out on the water again. Freycinet Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    33
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

this was our second time at freycinet adventures. My husband and I had rented kayaks from them previously and were really happy with the quality of the gear and of course Coles Bay and Freycinet is an awesome place to kayak. This time we came back with our family group of 5 adults and 4 children aged 5-10. The staff were really accommodating and helpful with the kids. All of us had a great time ( especially the 2 five year olds) who got a free ride with no paddling! The morning tour was easily manageable by the kids and the staff made sure that we went at an appropriate pace to keep the whole group together. Morning tea with milo was a big hit too. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour to freinds and expect we will be back next time we take visitors to Freycinet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I had never been sea kayaking before, but we felt very well looked after with our two guides. We were given a good introduction on how to kayak, they gave us enough independence once on the water that we felt free to explore but also well looked after. They were both friendly and knowledgeable, and we even got a warm cup of tea/coffee and a biscuit halfway round. The bay was beautiful in the sunset with Freycinet national park in the background - a great way to get to know one of the most beautiful parts of Tasmania, and good value too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go with confidence - a tour that gives it and gets it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are middle aged, out of condition, don't set ourselves enough challenges and don't do enough together - this was an ideal leveller for all those things, loved it.

Sophie & Leith were our guides, both were confident, capable and cared. They gave clear and simplistic instruction's, kept track of us (we were slightly dysfunctional as a group - but they dealt with it) kept up a steady and knowledgeable banter about the sites, offered personal touch's of themselves and possibly best of all made us feel like this wasn't the first time, we always went out paddling with them.

Don't kid yourselves, there is some physical work involved, however working together (for the most part...) was good for us and something we have taken away. Great sites, a great day and a great experience.

Thanks

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreycinetAdventures, General Manager at Freycinet Adventures, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks Ray- we appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear our guides were accommodating and gave you the confidence you needed to enjoy the expereince. You guys sound like pros now.....we are alwys looking for new guides :-) We hope to see you back in Freycinet one day soon. Freycinet Adventures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Nice first time experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I and my friend both had our first time ever sea kayaking in late March (or should call it river kayaking) and enjoyed it very much. We had to take the alternative route due to windy weather on that day, but apart from the exciting kayaking experice itself, we had chance to see the oyster farm, and also tried the most fresh oyster straight from the river! Nathan was so nice and considerable to encourage and help us finish our first kayaking trip. Very safe, easy (with Nathan's help) and enjoyable, would suitable for anyone including young kids.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freycinet Adventures also viewed

Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park
Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park
 
Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park
Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park
 

Been to Freycinet Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freycinet Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.