We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huon's Little Treasure Bistro

Huon's Little Treasure Bistro
3422 Huon Hwy, Franklin, Tasmania 7113, Australia
+61 3 6266 3328
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Franklin
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A small family run restaurant nestled in the riverside town of Franklin in the Huon valley. Offering picturesque views of the Huon river and surrounding countryside with both inside and outside dining.We offer separate lunch, dinner and takeaway menus.For lunch we have delicious Thai curries and stir-fries, an asian mixed platter as well as crepes(locals tell us our seafood crepe in the best ever) and seafood chowder are amongst the choices.Fish and chips are also an option.Our dinner menu offers a full Thai menu with dishes such as Pad Thai, Tom yum and coconut prawns.Our specialties are our Penang curry lamb, Chu Chi salmon and Seafood Chu Chi Curries.Everything on our Menu is homemade with our spring roll selection extensive (try our kangaroo or prawn spring rolls). There is also a Western menu for those who just feel like a good Steak. The Restaurant is fully licensed with a large wine list.
Dover, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The name says it all....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great food and fantastic hospitality. From take away to large groups, the food is delicious and the service swift and friendly. Spring rolls are a must try and the prawn green curry also goes down very well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Nice People, Nice Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Huon's Little Treasure Bistro is a great place for a meal wheather you want thai food or just fish and chips they have it all. Best Service in tasmania, the chef their is amazing and the waitress is very friendly. Must have home made spring rolls and their dim sims are amazing!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too Sweet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If they dropped the sugar from their Thai dishes then it would make the menu more acceptable particularly if you have a large group that has mixed tastes, as the restaurant serves Thai and some Western dishes like Fish & Chips and Crepes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart tasmania
1 review
“nothing like thai food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The homemade spring rolls were wonderful, then I had the Thai Red Curry.. The plate was swimming in what looked like tomato soup and there were were some vegitables and a little chicken on the plate. The dish was overpoweringly sweet with no hint of chilli, as a person who traveled widely in South East Asia in my job and a regular visitor to Thailand eating in places far from tourest destinations, I can say with authority that apart from the spring rolls,the food was nothing like anything that I ate in that country.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great Thai food. Fresh food cooked to order. Great food, great wine list and friendly service. The sea food chowder is amazing. A busy small restaurant where the chef and his wife welcome you with a smile and you feel like part of the family. The banquet nights are great and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huon's Little Treasure Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Huon's Little Treasure Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huon's Little Treasure Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.