We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tides Reach, tremendous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Driftwood Cottages to your Saves list
Driftwood Cottages
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Bay View Road, Dover, Tasmania 7117, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tides Reach, tremendous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The 4 of us stayed in Tides Reach for 3 nights in February. We loved the absolute waterfront position, plus, the peace and quiet, a truly calming holiday. The house is well set up for 2 couples and is very clean and modern. There is plenty to see in the far south, and we would especially recommend a trip to Bruny Island, with Bruny Island Cruises. A priceless experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael T, Manager at Driftwood Cottages, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hi Maree, thank you for your lovely review- Tides Reach is certainly a special spot- there are not too many places where the sandy beaches are right at your doorstep! We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Tides Reach again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just stopped for one night in Dover and found this place. Very friendly receptionist. Nice waterfront studio cottage. Spacious, clean, balcony, comfortable, good kitchenette. And being winter the underfloor heating was lovely. We also had an extra electrical heater in case it was needed. The handcrafted soap was a very nice touch.
Off street parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I planned a suprise getaway weekend for my partner for his birthday and originally selected Driftwood Cottages based on its location. There are a number of activities available in the far south to do. We had a wonderful time doing the Cockle Creek walk and the Ida Bay train. The cottage was in a superb location. Private beach and private location. We sat on the deck for hours, drinking wine, eating nibbles and watching the sun set over the beach that was 50 metres away from the back door. The cottage had everything you needed and was very modern. We cooked ourselves dinner and ate in, but there are places to also eat out in the area. There is a second bedroom so would also be fun to get away with another couple.
Highly recommend and would visit again, although not on the cheap side.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed in a the beachhouse here and the accommodation was nice. It is self contained with not a lot around so come prepared with food. Spa on the verandah was nice to have but hardly private and with the traffic and neighbours hardly a relaxing experience. Value for money it was probably over the top as we have stayed in better accommodation for cheaper but if you wanted a nice place to stay and relax to visit the south of Tasmania then this place would be good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Don't be afraid to make the long drive from Hobart airport if you are looking for a remote base to view southern Tasmania. It will take over an hour to get here. The roads are winding but the Driftwood cottages made it hard to leave. Come prepared with your own food, the units are self- contained. There is a Woolworths in Huon Valley that is pretty well stocked. There is wi-fi in the room which is surprising unusual for Australia and Tassie.The Sassafras room has as lovely view of the water. It is on the road but in December is was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobram, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We loved staying in the 'Tasmanian Oak' cottage. Stunning view. Comfortable unit - great shower & great bed - high priorities for me. Appreciated the opportunity to wash clothes as we had been travelling for a while.
A great base to explore the south from or a great place to just relax. My husband caught an Australian salmon from the jetty. Cooking facilities good for a short stay.
Bring provisions with you as shopping is limited as are the eating out opportunities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It's a shame we were only here for 1 night, such gorgeous accommodation right on the water! And the owner was lovely, gave us great tips on what to do in the short couple of hours we had in the area. Definitely coming again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Cottages

Address: Bay View Road, Dover, Tasmania 7117, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Dover
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Driftwood Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Waterfront accommodation in Tasmania's beautiful far South. All fully self-contained, with spectacular water views, choose from cozy studios with under floor heating to luxury cottages with jacuzzi and wood fire. Driftwood is central to the Huon Valley and southern regions in Tasmania, and makes the perfect base to explore the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Driftwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Cottages Dover, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.