We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh- Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Argosy Motor Inn Devonport

Save Saved
You added Argosy Motor Inn Devonport to your Saves list
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   221 Tarleton Street, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Devonport
Zeehan, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meh- Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable but bathroom was very small and unpractical. The rooms are very dated and are in need of modernisation. Checking in was a bit of a hassle- staff could not even print me a receipt. Over all not too bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Manager at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We apologise if there were issues when you were checking in. If payment is made on arrival it is policy to issue a receipt.
The bathrooms are smaller on our older rooms, however we consider they are priced accordingly.
Thank you for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We took ages to disembark from the spirit of Tasmania, but the location to the ferry of the Argosy is terrific.the staff were amazing and kept the bistro open an hour longer for the travellers. The food was very good, and the staff very friendly. The rooms are very dated, but clean, it would be worth the management doing up the rooms, because of the location

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hi Judy,
Pleased you were happy with your stay at The Argosy, and we try to accommodate travelers needs when ever possible. Our accommodation refurbishment is underway, but we still have many rooms to go. If guests ask for a refurbished room when making a reservation our staff will advise what is available. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Food is boring, uninspiring and not worth the money you pay. We went during the school holidays to take advantage of the kids dinner special and play area - this is about the only worthwhile reason for going. I would rate the children's $2 meals better than my $24 chicken filo with veg - Cold, dry, creamy potato, peas, corn and carrots...very basic.
Service depends on who you get, long term employees show little or no interest.
I had a sponsorship discount voucher for this venue, which no-one knew nothing about and was very reluctant to honour (for the second time ?)...not good enough, too many second chances.
Don't bother wasting your money.
Totally agree with traveldreamer1979.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Manager at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We apologise if you felt your meal was not to an acceptable standard. In regards to the staff and voucher issues we would be happy to discuss if you like to call to the hotel on a weekday and ask to speak to the Manager - Vanessa.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Argosy is located on the main road running to the ferry terminal and about 2kms from the terminal itself. Very convenient if you have to catch the morning ferry (which opens check-in at 6.30 a.m.) or if getting off the ferry at night from Devonport.
Rooms and carpets are dated, in need of a renovation (as noted by other travellers and also acknowledged by the management on this site), but rooms were large and the beds comfortable. It is perfectly okay for one night, and serves the purpose well.
Didn't have breakfast, but there seemed to be a cheap offer for cooked brekkie although the picture on the menu showed it may be inadequate.
Overall, good value, large rooms, and you cannot complain if you're only staying here for one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you Yasiru for your review of the Argosy Motor Inn. We are in an excellent location for passengers on the Spirit of Tasmania Ferry.
Your accommodation was in one of our Executive rooms and they are a larger size. The refurbishment of our Executive rooms is on our radar, so hopefully next time you visit our renovation will be complete.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Rooms were clean and had everything we needed and the staff were friendly. Our only complaint was with the misleading breakfast menu and prices. Outside the sign says breakfast from $7.95. When you get to the table there is a special menu card with the price for a cooked breakfast $8.95. We assumed wrongly that a cooked breakfast would be the more expensive option...well apparently we should have turned one of the two cards over to see that a continental breakfast is $11. You can get better value on the Spirit of Tasmania or maccas.....so wait.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Manager at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We apologise if there was some confusion over our breakfast menu. We do promote a special breakfast offer to TT Line passengers and the passing traffic. The $7.95 offer is a 'set plate' breakfast offer. Our Continental Breakfast is an unlimited buffet, and therefore more expensive at $11 per head.
Our staff would have been happy to explain the different offers.
thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sure the original early 80s decor, carpet, furniture etc might be looking dated, but does it really make that much difference to your comfort? Quite reasonable value for the price. Trucks were noisy during the day, but not during sleeping hours (NB might depend on timing of shipping movements). Bed fairly firm, which I didn't mind. Bathroom could use a radiant heater on a cold winter's morning, though the low ceiling in there might be the reason it doesn't have one. Split system a/c was quite effective in keeping the main room at a comfortable temperature.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms behind bistro (i.e. on eastern side, furthest from road) if traffic noise is likely to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Argosy. All our rooms have new beds and we have tried hard to select a model that would suit almost everyone. We are on a main road and always hope the traffic does not affect our house guests comfort too much. Stage 2 of of our renovation programme is to commence soon. This will see new soft furnishings fitted. Hope you visit next time you are in Devonport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Georges Basin, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I agree with many of the the reviews. Yes it is close to the ship and yes its ok for one night. The room was tired and way out of date, really needs to be refurbished as it was very dingy. Our bed was comfortable and clean and we slept well until bar shut and noise from patrons was terrible. Got up to check car several times. Photos on booking site are really decieving, was very dissappointed by the actual look of the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodstoneGroup, Owner at Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The Argosy is part way through a complete accommodation renovation.
Shortly all rooms will be complete with LCD TV,s, new linen and fittings. We have updated our photos on Trip Advisor, and our website. We look forward to you visiting us again when next in the area.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argosy Motor Inn Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argosy Motor Inn Devonport

Address: 221 Tarleton Street, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argosy Motor Inn Devonport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 mins from the Spirit of Tasmania, 10 mins from the Devonport AirportAmple parkingFacilities; ALL 7 Days a week; Bistro, Breakfast, Cut Lunches, Bottleshop, Gaming Lounge Bar, TOTE, Keno, Guest Laundry, function facilities, kids playroom.Renovated rooms, queen size beds, freshly painted, Flat screen digital TV”s, Microwave & Toaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Argosy Motor Inn Devonport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argosy Motor Inn Devonport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.