We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hawley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawley House to your Saves list
Hawley House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Esplanade, Hawley Beach, Devonport, Tasmania 7307, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Devonport B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I couldn't agree with the review below more. Find somewhere else to stay. The place looked great online, but we were disappointed upon arrival. Like the prior review, we were made to feel like an inconvenience from the moment we arrived. The lady that checked us in made it clear that we weren't her priority, and seemed annoyed when I had questions about the area. How dare I trouble her so! Customer service is definitely not a priority at Hawley House. This is not just apparent in the face to face service, but also in the passive agressive signage you'll find all over your room.

The best part of the house is the exterior, it looks really great. However, upon entering our room, like the previous guest, we found it to be shabby. The furniture is old and has clearly seen better days. The bathroom is not terrific. There is no shower curtain or barrier around the shower, which means water gets all over the toilet and all over the bathroom in general. I would expect this if I was staying at a caravan park, but not when I was paying a premium price for BnB accomodation.

I considered sleeping in the car, because I was concerned that the bed was so old it might give me bed bugs. I kept waking up thinking I was being bitten. I was already certain that the room was plagued with creepy crawlies because of the can of insect spray that was left there for us.

If it wasn't school holidays, and if we hadn't arrived so late in the day, I'm sure I would have investigated finding accomodation elsewhere.

Also, it is clear that the owners are only interested in making a profit. From our arrival, we were repeatedly told we needed to let them know if we were going to be there for dinner. No details of the dinner were provided or the price. Upon asking these impertinent questions, we were quickly flashed a menu and told that 3 courses would be $62 dollars each. A total rip off I think, given the quality of every thing else on the property. We went down to the local shops and had a meal instead.

My partner is allergic to gluten and had advised the property of this on booking. He sought to ensure the owners knew this the evening prior to breakfast. He was told this hadn't come through, and that there wouldn't probably be some fruit and maybe some yoghurt he could eat. Hardly what you've expect of a bed and BREAKFAST establishment. In the morning, he ate just this. However, upon checking out was told that they had prepared some gluten free bread, but weren't sure who to give it to. It wouldn't have been hard for them to find out, or even ask the guests, but they didn't do this. This seems to be the standard sloppy approach of Hawley House.
Also, despite the fact it is a BnB, don't expect a cooked breakfast in the morning - that will cost you extra.
Summary: Hawley house is run down and is to be avoided. The owners aren't interested in customer service or the quality of establishment they provide. You won't enjoy your stay here, and in fact, you'll be made to feel like an inconvenience.

Room Tip: Find a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawleyh, Owner at Hawley House, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
There are such large number of statements in this review which are absolutely not true, it is hard to know where to start with a response!
1. These guests specifically booked a 'disabled access' room, for no apparent reason. Clearly on arrival they had no need for a wheelchair accessible bathroom however at that stage we were fully booked so there was no option to offer an alternative. The room has new mattress, tea and coffee, air freshener and amongst other things flyspray (we do not make a feature of insect spray, and no-one has taken offence to that before!). The ONLY sign in the room asks guests not to use facewashers for makeup.
2. Dinner is offered as a dining experience. Prices and sample menus are clearly stated on our website, currently $50 for entree and main course, optional dessert $12. We always ask guests to let us know if they would like to eat in so we can prepare accordingly (this has nothing to do with profits, but is common sense!).
3. These guests asked many questions at checkin about penguin watching, which was given in great detail. They were also lent good-naturedly a personal headtorch for that purpose (failed to mention in their review) . In the midst of serving dinner, they telephoned from the penguin viewing to ask many more questions about penguins from the viewing area, obviously at that stage we were very busy in kitchen, not surprisingly that is inconvenient.
4. at 7pm we were asked what was gluten free for breakfast. There was no prior mention of GF requirements on their booking, or at checkin. We cater for all dietary requirements with prior notice, but this is very late notice when we are serving dinner. Late that night we did make time to cook fresh GF bread. At breakfast, there were different staff who asked every person in the dining room whether they were GF with no success. why they didn't answer 'yes' to that question at the time remains a mystery. Also we make clear that cooked breakfast is a modest $12 extra if desired. We include complimentary continental breakfast, despite the fact that we do not advertise anywhere as a 'BnB'.
On the issue of the room furnishings - each room is individually appointed with fresh flowers, original art, a solid teak bed frame, hardwood furniture and of course, freshly laundered linen.
It is disappointing that we weren't able to appease these guests, but the string of 'issues' were out of our control in this instance. We give personal, friendly service (as found by most reviewers here), and will continue to do so to reasonable people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    2
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
36
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed there one night Jan'14. Was very disappointed. Wasn't made that welcome, felt like we were an inconvenience being there. You pay a premiun price for what I would call poor service. They seem to trading under what once was a good name, not now though. The place is run down & the service definitely not up to scratch. Garden is run down, wasn't sure if the stairs to the roof were going to hold my weight. It was probably once a nice place that may have commanded a premium price. I think you could do a lot better finding accommodation else where.

Room Tip: Find one else where !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawleyh, Owner at Hawley House, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We cannot place who these guests are, as we have only had wonderful company over this busy period. It is offensive to be attacked for service and property management. Thankfully most reviewers here appreciate our style. The house is a heritage listed, family owned property, which is exactly as it is advertised. In the last month alone, the house and garden have been featured in Belle magazine, Virgin Australia inflight magazine, and been featured as one of the best coastal gardens in Australia in the book 'Coastal Gardens'. Naturally, not every establishment is everyone's cup of tea, but we take pride in what we do and we are sorry that this guest did not approach us during their stay. We would have aimed to please them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Our stay over two days was an unexpected delight. The family looked after our needs and the house batted back the elements, while we took advantage of the rare and remote place on the peninsula to rest and recuperate.

Unfortunately one of us came down with a horrid cold picked up from MONA the previous week, but if you have to have a sore throat the six thirty drinks was a place where you can sip on Hellyers whiskey and feel a little more prepared for the wonderful tastes of the evening dinner, ostensibly prepared by Marc, but behind the scenes prepared, served, cleaned up and stowed, by all of the family and the garnered help.

There's is a big menu for a normally little crowd, but with enough variety and good tastes to keep you there for at least a week without grumbling, and there was mostly a good list of no garlic choices so those amongst the human family that can't take the effects of sulphur in our foods, found it a pleasurable experience to eat at the white tables in Edwardian style, or what favourably passes for elegance in this outpost of a graceful and more serene time of remembered holidays and happiness,

Being thrown together to dine. wine , and converse with like minded, and/or other minded fellow travellers is a bonus that can only happen because of sixes, and GnT's in the drawing room, and goes to fill the extended dining with interest and revelation. And well received, as it takes time between servings.

We were lucky to sample two rooms. The loft and the stable loft. Both were quiet and charming. The former with fantastic views, a grand space and balcony, the latter , with a cathedral ceiling and crafted decor and dissimilar ambience and decoration in both, which matches the broader experience of the site and stay.

Hawley is a quirky place, but the quirks have the best of intentions,and there is the distinctive feel of the touch of human handicraft in every cranny. The garden is one of those labours of love that exudes the passion of its creator, and there is a respect in the management practice of the current trustees of their fathers, mothers, and grandparents handiwork, and to the generations past.

This is not a place for those looking for formula accommodation. It is hard to measure humanity and perseverance in stars, and old buildings in quality benchmarks. This is place for those who understand people and history, and want to savour restfulness and the senses. Guests who fit the resort rather than the resort that fits the guest.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawleyh, Owner at Hawley House, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed your stay here. Good company is always appreciated. It makes us feel like we have friends over for dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This guest house is a lovely spot to stay. It's not modern, the floors are not always level and the shower may not be perfect but this is more than compensated for by the beautiful surroundings, fabulous food, friendly helpful staff, lovely gardens and the homeliness of animals greeting you at the door.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hawley House in January. We fell in love with it immediately. Our room was super with an eclectic mix of styles that we loved. The gardens are beautiful with a small chapel in the grounds. It is ideal as a wedding venue. Breakfast was delicious with top quality produce including home made jams etc. I only wish we had opted to eat dinner in the hotel as it smelt divine and the other residents were very complimentary about it. It was clean and the family were extremely helpful and welcoming, taking time to tell us the history of the house and family. We would love to go back for a longer stay and explore the beautiful beaches and countryside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I arrived at Hawley House after a long journey from London - looking for a few days of peace and quiet, to recharge my batteries before a long run of meetings, conferences and travelling. I enjoyed a dish of home-grown/home-made pumpkin soup and sank gratefully into bed. The views from my room in the main house were stunning - across the beautiful water gardens, the beach, the rocks of the Rubicon Estuary and Narawntapu National Park. Jet lag has some benefits - I witnessed two wonderful sun rises.
The food was nutritious, home-grown or locally sourced and delicious. Despite being the only one there one night - the fire was lit in the drawing room and I spent a relaxing and happy evening there. It was a magical few days and I was very sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I toured Tasmania in August for twelve days and found ourselves with nowhere to stay on one of the night we were driving across the top of the island. After calling a couple of motels and B &Bs we were starting to get worried as they were either fully booked or closed for renovations. My husband found Hawley House online luckily and we gave them a call.....I am so glad we did. Considering it was all very last minute, our reception was wonderful and we were given a tour of the gorgeous house and offered the room of our choice. Our lovely hostess also offered to make us dinner, but as we were the only guests we elected to drive back to Devonport as we wanted to catch the Spirit of Tasmania coming into port.

We had one of the lovely stable rooms with a spa and we had one of the best nights sleep we had while in Tassie. The bed was comfortable, it was silent except for the sounds of the ocean and the room was comfortable and warm. Even though it was the middle of winter we only turned the heater on for about ten minutes when we first came into the room from outside and then its was warm enough to leave it off for the rest of the night.

The spa was a godsend as my back was killing me from driving around for 5 days straight and everything we needed was supplied. If we had of known this lovely place was here we would have organised our trip so that we could have stayed for a few more days. We wandered the grounds and took photos before the sun went down and as weare early risers we were walking on the beach as the sun came up in the morning....that was breathtaking and definitely something worth seeing.

This gorgeous house has been in the same family for 4 generations and is now lovingly cared for by the daughter and son of the family and they are doing a wonderful job. Even in their slowest period, winter, we were welcomed, shown around and cared for like royalty, nothing was too much trouble, all we had to do was ask and they would try and make it happen. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawley House

Address: Esplanade, Hawley Beach, Devonport, Tasmania 7307, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawley House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawley House (c.1878) offers heritage accommodation in a spectacular seaside location overlooking sandy beaches, set amongst 400 acres of gardens, vineyards and wildlife sanctuary. Hawley unashamedly embraces the patina created by her 130 year history, and the idiosyncrasies of being a family home, not least of which is her unique rooftop bath. Guest rooms feature original artworks and antique furnishings. Centrally located and easily accessible to Devonport, Launceston and Cradle Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawley House Devonport, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.