We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Friendly Management and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Sunrise

Comfort Inn Sunrise
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Sunrise to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Sunrise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 N Fenton Street, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Hobart, Tasmania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food, Friendly Management and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel every 6 weeks for the last three years. By my regular return visits I obviously find the hotel comfortable with well-appointed rooms and excellent restaurant with great meals at reasonable prices. The cooked breakfast at this hotel is to die for. The management and staff are exceptionally friendly and aim towards giving guests all they need to make the stay enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel to any traveller be it business or leisure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    26
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
13
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have stayed in this motel several times. It was clean and tidy, everything has always worked, and the beds have been comfortable. It is a quiet location back off the street and I have always slept well. It is a great location from which to walk Devonport's river or along the sea front. Breakfast was great!

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I like this hotel. Everything works - TV, A/C, heater etc. It's off the main street so it's quiet but it's still close to the river, beach and main shopping area of Devonport. The bed is comfortable and the place is clean and well maintained. I've stayed here a few times and I've never been disappointed. Also it's good value and affords privacy. I've stayed in some much more expensive places that I have not enjoyed as much as this one.

Room Tip: Use internet to book rooms as it's cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Standard old motel that they have tried to modernise with cheap plasma tv's and aircon. Bed was super soft and the bathroom is in desperate need of an upgrade. Not really walking distance to grab dinner in town. That said though, slept soundly and there were plenty of other guests around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Drove in and should have clicked then as there was not a sole staying there! walked into the reception which had a putrid smell of off fish they were cooking for lunch! The male owner could not smile for the life of him (I wouldn't be smiling either if i had to eat whatever was cooking out the back!!) and handed us the keys to our 2 bedroom spa apartment which I had paid for over the Internet, Drove up the back of the place and entered our room which was cold and dark. The bed mattress sunk in the middle so if you have a back problem and don't stay here!, The bathroom had no spa at all not evan a bath, or sink!!, The sink was actually in the room with us which was odd!, The tiles were moldy and old and in need of serious help!. The TV channels don't evan work half the time! Crapola place to stay!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

1.5 kms out of town. Good walk to restaurants. But quite location . Basic motel but ok

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

The photos on the websites look ok, but trust me - PAY AN EXTRA $10-15 and STAY ELSEWHERE!! The rooms stunk, air-cons didn't work, the MATTRESS was SUNKEN and you can feel all the springs in it poking your back...plus everythings like 100yrs old!!! NEVER, EVER, EVER, EVER ...STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Sunrise

Address: 140 N Fenton Street, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Sunrise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Devonport
Devonport Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Sunrise Devonport, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Sunrise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.