We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local north-west Tassie treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tasmanian Arboretum

The Tasmanian Arboretum
46 Old Tramwy Rd, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
610364272690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Attractions in Devonport
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 66ha landscape Arboretum displays interpreted collections of trees and shrubs from the temperate world. Tamanian plants a feature. Walk along old railway formation among local birds in season. Platypus may be seen on Founders' Lake. Visitor Guide Map suggests walks including the Limestone Heritage Walk.Open daily 9AM to sunset. Entry $5.00 per adault, children free.Tree Park Kiosk offers light refreshments from October to the end of May 11Am to 4PM. Wi-fi available.
Burnie, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local north-west Tassie treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can't believe it took me so long to finally visit this local treasure. Despite having limited time, we had a great walk, and my friend was even able to bring her dog with us. I will definitely be back when I have more time to explore the old tramway, the track to the Don River, and to just sit and enjoy the peaceful lake. There's even a cafe!

Congratulations to the volunteers, who we saw working hard while we were there. Keep up the good work, and ignore the knockers. It is a massive site to maintain, and you're doing an amazing job.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous spot to wander around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautiful spot and plenty of platypus to see, can have a BBQ or picnic with plenty of room to run Around

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Arborists delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Outstanding wander through various outcrops of trees... all of which have labels! Platypus in the lake too!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A long way to go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It clearly needs a helping hand- too many weeds, signs either lacking or hard to read and not that much to see. Not really worth the detour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmanian A, Manager at The Tasmanian Arboretum, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
The 66ha is managed with a largely volunteer workforce and a small budget we raise. Many people comment to us in a positive way. Yes, we have woody weeds, but fewer than before as our program to replace them with local species moves forward. Perhaps the 'weeds' are the areas we have left as shelter for animals and birds. This is the first time we have had a lack of signs drawn to our attention. Maybe they missed the Vistor Guide Map or didn't take the Audio Tour. We are 16km from the Devonport PO with Limestone Heritage, over 60 birds species, platypus and 4750 plants in the collections. there is as much here as at many comparable botanical institutions in Australia. Yes I've seen a few
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Railton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

pleasant spot to vist not too far from the city and easy access, quiet spot for a wander around and a look at many flora species

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasmanian Arboretum also viewed

Devonport, Tasmania
Devonport, Tasmania
 
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to The Tasmanian Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tasmanian Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.