We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long way to go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Tasmanian Arboretum

The Tasmanian Arboretum
46 Old Tramwy Rd, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
610364272690
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Attractions in Devonport
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 66ha landscape Arboretum displays interpreted collections of trees and shrubs from the temperate world. Tamanian plants a feature. Walk along old railway formation among local birds in season. Platypus may be seen on Founders' Lake. Visitor Guide Map suggests walks including the Limestone Heritage Walk.Open daily 9AM to sunset. Entry $5.00 per adault, children free.Tree Park Kiosk offers light refreshments from October to the end of May 11Am to 4PM. Wi-fi available.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A long way to go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It clearly needs a helping hand- too many weeds, signs either lacking or hard to read and not that much to see. Not really worth the detour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmanian A, Manager at The Tasmanian Arboretum, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
The 66ha is managed with a largely volunteer workforce and a small budget we raise. Many people comment to us in a positive way. Yes, we have woody weeds, but fewer than before as our program to replace them with local species moves forward. Perhaps the 'weeds' are the areas we have left as shelter for animals and birds. This is the first time we have had a lack of signs drawn to our attention. Maybe they missed the Vistor Guide Map or didn't take the Audio Tour. We are 16km from the Devonport PO with Limestone Heritage, over 60 birds species, platypus and 4750 plants in the collections. there is as much here as at many comparable botanical institutions in Australia. Yes I've seen a few
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Railton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

pleasant spot to vist not too far from the city and easy access, quiet spot for a wander around and a look at many flora species

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Small botanical gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

few trees but not real interesting I live local and did not think I would bother to take my vividtors there

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmanian A, General Manager at The Tasmanian Arboretum, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
The Arboretum contains over 900 tree species, all with some features every month of the year. Amusing visitors, whilst important to us, is secondary to the purpose of botanical colections. perhaps more would be explained by taking the audio tour. Beyond walks, wildlife and peaceful we offer a site for family and community events such as Music in the Park on the last Sunday in February and March 2013. These events, like the Arboretum itself, is dependent on the efforts of local volunteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A 'hidden' gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

That the Tasmanian Arboretum is run entirely by volunteers is simply amazing. This is a great place to unwind and enjoy a stroll through trees and shrubs from both hemispheres. And a walk around the lake late in the afternoon is more than likely to yield a glimpse of platypus going about the feeding.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasmanian Arboretum also viewed

Devonport, Tasmania
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to The Tasmanian Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tasmanian Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.