We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but service and atmosphere let it down.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laneway

Laneway
2/38 Steele Street | In Rooke Lane, Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
+61 3 6424 4333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Devonport
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open from 7:00am 7 days a week including public holidays. Our aim is to focus on turning great quality locally produced goods into simple fresh cafe-faire food. Together with a professional standard of coffee and a warm and welcoming service we hope you enjoy what we have to offer.Owners Rhys Taylor and Alex McVeity have both been involved in the hospitality industry in various guises for over ten years now. Rhys a chef has more recently been working as the owner/operator of a quality Italian establishment in Hawthorn, Melbourne. Alex has for the last 5 years been working as head barista and bar manager of the renown Pantry Cafe in Brighton Melbourne.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food but service and atmosphere let it down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We ate lunch here on a Saturday. The food was good, enjoyable in fact, but the service was a little cold and pushy and they sat us directly opposite the toilet. Not the best atmosphere when eating... This was our second visit and to be honest I'm not sure we will go back again. Shame, because it has loads of potential. My advice, train staff to smile and it's ok to give your customers a few minutes to look at the menu before repeatedly asking if they are ready to order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    45
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't even bother.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Try hard cafe...looking to be more than it is, oh and closes for business early. Locals probably love it but travellers be warned, and avoid!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

up there with the best melbourne laneway cafes but without the attitude.
Hi-viz wearing council workers,suits,tradies and even a few devonport hipsters all came through for their morning caffeine hit. most orders I noticed were pre empted by the barista with "the usual?"................. impressive.
great breakfast love the avocado and fetta mash home made hash browns and house beans!
only place for coffee and breakfast in this town I expect lunch would be just as good

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Tucked away in you guessed it, a Laneway, this place is so unexpected. Great food and service with a very unusual decor make this one of the most popular breakfast and lunch spots in the city.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Hit & Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have been here probably a dozen or so times now, and it seems to be getting worse with every visit! Such a pity because it was great when it first opened. We had eggs benedict with ham - which was actually served with soggy chewy bacon. We also had the chicken panini which was just bland. The coffee was ok. Staff very impersonal, no one looked like they really wanted to be there. Doubt this place will last much longer if they continue down this path!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laneway also viewed

 
Devonport, Tasmania
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to Laneway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laneway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.