We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to travel to tassie with your own car” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit of Tasmania

Spirit of Tasmania
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
1800 634 906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 Attractions in Devonport
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spirit of Tasmania’s Melbourne-Devonport service provides you flexibility and convenience when planning your holiday. Our twin ships depart from both ports at 7.30pm and arrive the following morning at 6.00am. During peak season, we also operate day sailings departing from each port at 9.00am and arriving the same day at 6.00pm.On board, you can experience spectacular views, delicious food, great entertainment, relaxation and so much more!
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great way to travel to tassie with your own car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The boarding in Melbourne was quite confusing...don't hold off lining up in your car thinking that you can't board until 1.5hrs before departure as you will wait in line for about two hours anyway. Food is a rip off. I travelled with 12 yo son on ocean recliner with no probs - we both slept fine, however we r used to "roughing it"; an ocean recliner may not suit those who definitely need a bed for sleep

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    169
    99
    35
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have travelled on the spirit a few times. It is great as you can take your car and caravan if you wish. It is a bit expensive when you have a caravan but if you can stay in Tassie for a few months it is well worth it. We have travelled on a night sail and a day sail. We would always travel at night and take a cabin. We found the day sail quite long and tedious. I don't know how people with children manage. We would advise eating before boarding. The food is rather expensive and not that good. There is an on board theatre that does screen recent movies. The cabins are small but quite comfortable. You can book a deluxe cabin which gives you a queen size bed and a TV. The other cabins have bunks or 2 singles and no TV. The staff are very helpful. The bar prices are quite reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Just a few things to be aware of...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Like other travellers have said, there are quite a few issues about the Spirit that new travellers should be aware of.
For example: it is expensive. Three people in a shared cabin, plus a car and two dogs costs us $1600 around Christmas time.
NEVER be tempted to book an 'Ocean Recliner'. They are absolutely appalling, and although they are cheaper than a cabin, you will arrive bleary eyed in Melbourne or Devonport because you won't sleep a wink!
The food on board is ok, but I would recommend eating before you get on the boat, or bring a lunch box or snack instead. Be aware however that finding good food in Devonport can be a challenge!
You will wait in line sometimes up to 2 hours before boarding. This can be painful, so bring a book/iPad/something to do while you wait, same goes for disembarking, which can take a similar amount of time.
Like others have said, the convenience of taking your own car and unlimited baggage is good, but if you are in a hurry, or are on a budget, flying may suit you better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Crossing Bass Strait on the 'Spirit'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What I love about it is, comfort, and we can take our caravan across with us, If you have children there is something for them to do too. The cabins are a little small but it depends on what level of cabin one chooses, the Silver service restaurant is excellent and I love the way it showcases local Tassie food. There is also a buffet which serves reasonable food. The travel/tourist office staff are knowledgeable and just about every area of Tassie is covered. they also have maps of how to navigate one's way out of Melbourne.
The major drawback is the cost , there is a seniors discount available, It is necessary though to book your passage early as they book out quickly. Fares are cheaper in the winter months, Spring / summer Autumn are the best times to visit . The Autumn colour is amazing. Devonport is a great place to have breakfast before travelling South. There are some lovely eateries in Devonport.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Swaying free movies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Traveling to Tasmania on the Spirit of Tasmania II is more expensive than flying but the conveniance of taking your own car with more lugage balance out the cost if you are going to spend a week or more in Tasmania. The food on the ship is over priced quality lacking, the ship offers a theatrette with a kids move at 8 and adult movie at 10pm which is free and is relaxing as the ship sways breaking through the waves. I recommend buying food before boarding the ship.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Tasmania also viewed

 
Devonport, Tasmania
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to Spirit of Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit of Tasmania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.