We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Adventure but Spoiled by Lack of any Customer Service Ethic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit of Tasmania

Spirit of Tasmania
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
1800 634 906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 Attractions in Devonport
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spirit of Tasmania’s Melbourne-Devonport service provides you flexibility and convenience when planning your holiday. Our twin ships depart from both ports at 7.30pm and arrive the following morning at 6.00am. During peak season, we also operate day sailings departing from each port at 9.00am and arriving the same day at 6.00pm.On board, you can experience spectacular views, delicious food, great entertainment, relaxation and so much more!
Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Adventure but Spoiled by Lack of any Customer Service Ethic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We purchased the 'luxury cabin' for a trip without car. The weather was wild and the journey was a great adventure with lots of pitching and water coming over our cabin windows! First the plus factors - the dining room menu was great and complemented by great service.

Next the bad news. There is a complete lack of customer service ethic among most staff. It starts with the check-in were we were told (without much grace) that check-in was not for another five minutes and to sit down and wait. Then we discovered that the website information was misleading and our Seniors Card did not entitle us to the discount fare - we had to pay another $100 or so on top of a hefty $450 fare!!!! Feral security staff were the next big misadventure - they insist on opening all bags and shouting orders to the passengers. We waited for half an hour in the queue. More problems later with trying to get the bottle of sparkling wine which was part of our room package.

A great adventure but too expensive and spoiled by staff with 'attitude'. We we treated more as 'self loading freight' rather than passengers who had paid a premium fare.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    169
    99
    35
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
191 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Alright if you're taking a car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

Driving is the only way to see Tasmania, so I took my car over on the ferry. Uneventful trip, good views as you approach Tasmania but that's about it. I went for the cheap recliners, which are marginally better than airliner seats but still very cramped and close together considering how much unused space is on the boat. Also, since the boat's quieter than a plane, sleeping is difficult if the English backpackers are talking all night (nearly resulted in a fight!) Food's decent and worthwhile if you're hungry and want to take advantage of the buffet by piling up a mountain of food on your plate. The bar had some terrible performers so I took beers up to the deserted upper decks and watched the sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wagga wagga Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent experience on the Ship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband & I had a deluxe cabin on the Spirit of Tasmania and it was fabulous. Maybe next time we would just have a twin as they looked good too. The staff were very obliging and happy to help. The process of loading and unloading the car was effortless, and quick and efficient. The meals we didn't bother with as they seemed expensive but the sandwiches were more reasonably priced. Drinks were priced okay too. Would definatly recommend to anyone, and we look forward to do it again on a day trip in summer.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cradle coast tours..you rock!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

howard came and picked us up from the Spirit, took us pn a day tour to Stanley. what a fantastic experience!!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great way to get to Tassie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

The Spirit of Tasmania is a great way to get to Tasmania. Great little rooms if you're staying in them, and there's a movie theatre and other entertainment on board for the younger ones.
Bar staff remember you and what drinks you order, and its a great trip from Melbourne to Tassie. Make sure you take travel sickness tablets though in case it gets a bit rough over Bass Straight.
Would do this again.

Visited June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit of Tasmania also viewed

 
Devonport, Tasmania
Devonport, Tasmania
 

Been to Spirit of Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit of Tasmania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.