We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barclay Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Barclay Motor Inn to your Saves list
Barclay Motor Inn
112 North Fenton Street, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Motel is a bit old but rooms were large and beds were comfortable. Bit out of way if need to eat at night. You have to drive into town. We wanted to stay longer however they were booked out so he to venture further on. Clean tidy and spacious.
We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barclaydevonport, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are happy that you were comfortable during your stay with us at the Barclay Motor Inn and also disappointed that we did not have the vacancy available for you to stay longer as we feel it is a privilege to be your hosts for more than just a day. We hope that we can be of service to you at some time in the future and that you will recommend others to book with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
8
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Quite a pleasant stay. Conference room became quite warm though as no fans or air conditioning but otherwise ok.

Rooms were well appointed and beds confortable. Breakfast was ok.

DOWNSIDE. No restaurant, no fans or air conditioning and the most annoying aspect was the room service trolled at 7 am sounding like freight trains.

Other than those things this is a bare bones motel and reasonably priced. Not very suitable for the business traveller.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the centre where the room service trollies come from. Bring your own fan in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This isn't a bad hotel but is probably better for families rather than business travelers. I stayed here over night the room were pretty large but a bit on the dated side. Everything was clean but the bed was a bit hard. The main issue for me was no restaurant which forced me to venture out for some of the worst Chinese food that its been my misfortune to eat lol! Over all though its ok.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here for business for 4 nights recently. It is an older style motor inn. However was very clean, and well maintained. Is a light out of the CBD however this provides a quite and peacefull sleep. It is a nice walking distence to the coast, beach precint and lighthouse.

Room Tip: Best to have a car when staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had no reservation - but had to find a place to stay before catching the Spirit of Tasmania back to Vic the next morning on a day crossing. (I don't recommend it and wouldn't do a day crossing again - boring.....)

An older style motel with older style decor and furnishings.

It was spotlessly clean with brilliant facilities for families - games room and sporting equipment, plus a pool.

The room we were allocated was fantastic.It was huge... and very quiet at the rear of the facility.

Can't comment on the breakfast as we left before this was available...

Would definitely stay here again. It is away from the town slightly and in a quiet suburban street

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Spent two nights in the 2 bedroom unit. We liked look of this place on the net and one of its reviews from an American hypnoyist read best in Australia! That's a big rap to put on your own site. We booked two nights in the two bedroom unit,upon entry the outside looks tidy and clean but on entry into our unit the first thing to hit is how old and dated everything was from the furniture to the bed linen the sheets were old some had small holes in them and black spots . Our son tried both single beds and started to itch he finished up on the worn lounge. The pillows had been around a long time and were terrible. We notified the cleaner in the laundry the next day and she was very pleasent and said she would have better sheets put on but our son chose to spend another night on the lounge . My wife and I had another restless night wrestling the worst pillows we both finished up with aching necks . What was going to be a nice two night getaway turned out to be two rough sleepless nights,we are glad to get home to catch up on some sleep . The owners need to buy new pillows sheets and blankets. Upgrade the beds and furniture and another thing I noticed was no smoke alarms on the ceilings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We booked a room at the last minute and ended up in the executive apartment. This is huge and very well kitted out. The second bedroom with two single beds in very long and thin but the rest of the apartment was excellent. The swimming pool is great for families. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barclay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Motor Inn

Address: 112 North Fenton Street, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Devonport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Nice Place To Stay". The Barclay Motor Inn has a choice of clean and comfortable accommodation options to suit most travellers. There are motel style units, studio apartments, two-bedroom apartments, an executive two-bedroom apartment, and a three bedroom cottage that is perfect for either larger families or two couples travelling together. There is an indoor heated pool and half court tennis and basketball to entertain the children and the "young-at-heart." FOXTEL is also provided, and Wi-Fi is available at an extra cost. The Barclay Motor Inn is ideally located in a quiet residential area and in walking distance to the CBD of Devonport and several eateries. 7 minutes drive to the Spirit of Tasmania terminal and 12 minutes from Devonport Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Barclay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barclay Motor Inn Devonport, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barclay Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.