We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cottage and great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios to your Saves list
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
15478 Lyell Highway, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania TAS 7140, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at Rufus cottage for one night . We thought the cottage was really sweet with everything we needed, clean, comfortable and well arranged. John and Louise the owners were very friendly and gave us useful information for the next leg of our trip. We appreciated John coming to check the fire was going well and advise us how to keep it going for the night. It was a cold night , it had been snowing and we were warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    29
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
73
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The owners, John and Louise, were outstanding in providing great hospitality. We stayed in the Clair Chalet which was impeccably clean, had its own washer and dryer, a great kitchen, and a wonderful wood stove. John had the fire going every afternoon before we returned from our hikes. It was great to get warm and to relax in the cozy chalet. John and Louise also helped us with recommendations on places to see and set us up with an excellent fishing guide as well. We thought the price was very fair for the accommodation and service. We highly recommend staying here while in the Lake St. Clair area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had such a lovely time and the William Chalet was very nice and warm and such a lovely setting. The accommodation was brilliant and the service was first class. Our host provided great advice on walks and activities in the local area and we were delighted to arrive home to a warm room with the wood heater lit for us each afternoon. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the lovely Chalets at Derwent Bridge and the many activities and sights to see in the region.
Thanks so much for a lovely 3 days.

Room Tip: The William Chalet was far from the road and has a big wood heater and TV with a comfy couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It's unfortunate that this accommodation cannot be made more affordable as I would then be giving it a higher rating. After staying in many locations around Tasmania I just feel that for what is on offer it is over-priced. The rooms are clean but dated and small. We did not have enough chairs to all sit at our dining table. I also found my contact with the female proprietor very abrupt on each occasion I dealt with her - by phone and in person. This did not make us fell welcome. Having said this there are not many options at Derwent Bridge so your decision really needs to rest on how important it is for you to stay in this location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Greetings from the Central Highland of Tasmania,

This guest originally booked a studio (2 person occupancy) for herself. When plans changed and there was a need to cater for 3 adults this unit was no longer suitable. As we had no family chalets available, the best alternative we had to offer was a chalet with a trundle bed. The client suggested - why not a trundle in the studio? We explained there would not be enough room. Then we could all sleep in the queen bed she suggested? We rejected this idea. We explained the chalet, even though only for two, was much larger than the studio with plenty of room for the trundle bed.

It also had the added convenience of a full laundry, carport and undercover deck for spreading out and sorting through the two backpacks from the Overland Track. The offer was accepted - with all the knowledge of the limitations of three persons in a two person space. All extra amenities were provided for the third person and there were two chairs on the deck which are more than suitable to add to the table inside in this instance.

The continued harassment for an early check-in did become tiresome to say the least. The guest was more than aware of timings from the first booking discussion and was reminded with each communication and yet still turned up at 12.15pm to seek entry.

As for the TripAdvisor blog posted, regarding dining at Highlander Arms Tarraleah, this was suggested by John because she complained so bitterly about the local hotel pricing. It was John who phoned to make the reservation and to ensure she received the best of service!

Sadly, the guest has obviously forgotten the discussion the next morning, when comment was made on how happy they were with their stay.

Kind regards,

John and Louise
Co-owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great place to rest & recover from outdoor adventures. The chocolates & wine were wonderful surprise. John was awesome, providing exquisite advise on places to see nearby as well as show us to our chalet in the rain & darkness. The Chalet was clean, warm & comfortable. Several modern devices in the kitchen we utilized during our stay. Thanks for Everything, we hope to visit again from Singapore. Cheers, Jason.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

As a group of friends touring around Tasmania for eight days, it was a pleasant stop on our travels between Strahan and Hobart with the locals, all 15 of them, making you most welcome especially at the local pub which supplied great country PUB meals.

Room Tip: When we arrived back at our cabin, the owner had fired up the wood Koonara and it was warm and cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The accommodation itself was very comfortable, well furnished and we enjoyed having the use of a washing machine and dryer for the night. We left Tassie with only fond memories of our holiday - only to return home to find a letter from the owners stating the $50 cleaning fee had been charged. We were shocked - we have travelled extensively, both in Australia and overseas, and we have never been treated in this manner. As a teacher I value highly leaving rooms in an acceptable condition - I drum this into my students every day. We simply did not leave the chalet in a condition warranting this fee. The letter went on about very trivial things, including finger marks on glasses which we did not even use during our stay.
Please choose carefully - even if you are a tidy, respectable person, you may find yourself $50 poorer. There is no recourse for complaint and the owners will not listen (in fact they will be downright rude, I was in tears) if you give logical reasons why the cleaning fee being applied is simply unfair.
Unfortunately this establishment reflects poorly upon tourism in Tasmania. No amount of beautiful scenery can make you forget downright rudeness.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hello again,

If anyone believes we make all of this up, they are very much mistaken. We know exactly who has stayed, when they stayed and in what condition they left their accommodation – because we do the cleaning etc ourselves! We see this as a blatant attempt to discredit us, because they were literally caught out and because of the severity, charged accordingly. Rude – no, firm – yes – especially when they are being rude to you. It should be noted these guests stayed November 2012, not November 2013! Why have they waited so long to blog?

The following is part of the letter these guests received after their departure and is true and accurate record of the occurrence.

Subject: Cleaning Fee. 21 November 2012
“After your departure the following was found, put away, in the kitchen cupboards.
Cutting board – clear stain marks and food residue
Glass casserole dish – dirty finger marks
Colander – dirty streaks – not cleaned
Glass bowl – not cleaned
Pepper grinder – dirty marks
2 x Glass tumblers – not cleaned – finger marks and wet
Pepper/Salt shakers – dirty
2 x Wine glasses – dirty marks
1 x Champagne glass – dirty marks
1 x Dessert bowl – food scraps and wet
1 x Side plate – food scraps and wet
1 x Dinner plate – food scraps and marks
1 x Microwave Casserole dish and lid – not cleaned – food scraps
Pyrex measuring jug/bowl – finger marks – smeary
Fry pan lid – not cleaned
Grater – not cleaned
Whisk – dirty handle
Can opener – smeary – finger marks.”

The cleaning fee is more than justified in these circumstances.
John & Louise
Owner/operators
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Highway, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania TAS 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.