We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios to your Saves list
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
15478 Lyell Highway, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania TAS 7140, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Dear John & Louise
Richard & I would like to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent one night stay. We found our Studio already warmed for us when we arrived, which we appreciated. The Studio was immaculately clean, the bed really comfortable and the bathroom spotless, well done to both of you! We had excellent advice from John about what to visit in the area, plus what to call in and see on the way to our next destination. He was a font of knowledge! We visited the 'Wall' and were both awestruck. We had a nice dinner at the local hotel, a bit pricey, but it was a good size and delicious. We had three weeks in Tasmania, and we both are still talking about our stay at Derwent Bridge, so hopefully we can return again at some stage.
Richard & Rosemary
Gawler, Sth Australia

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    29
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
74
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed a night in one of the studios. Perfect. Welcomed warmly by John, room spotlessly clean, heating already on, excellent dinner at the hotel down the road, comfortable beds, nice coffee and great advice and directions.
A beautiful spot.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Greetings from the Central Highlands of Tasmania.

Our property has been award, the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence" and wish to share this with you all.

We are very proud owner/operators, striving to present, not only the best possible accommodation experience, but endeavouring to give you the best information, to ensure you enjoy our wonderful part of Tasmania.

Your journey to, or from us, is one of the best days in Tasmania, travelling through an ever changing landscape, with stunning sights and wilderness walks, all of which are a pleasure to do.
We are recognized as the "Gateway to the Western Wilderness", 10 minutes from the World Heritage listed Lake St Clair, with its wonderful walks and only 1km from “The Wall in the Wilderness", a magnificent Huon Pine woodcarving – depicting the history of the Central Highlands. A one-night-stay is simply not enough time to take in what our location has to offer.

However, this award is not possible without the support of you, our guests, who take the time to post comments about their visit and our property.

To all who have stayed with us - thank you. To all who have stayed and posted such positive comments, we sincerely thank you. To win one of only two awards issued by TripAdvisor, makes us truly honoured and acknowledge, this could not be achieved without your support.

Our very best wishes to all.

John & Louise
Owners
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night at the end of walking the Overland Track. I had a Studio Cabin.

There is not a great deal at Derwent Bridge and Lake St Clair in terms of buildings, accommodation or restaurant options and I chose Derwent Bridge Chalets and Studios off the internet. I was not disappointed.

This was a very good and comfortable accommodation option. My Studio Cabin was a reasonably good size and comfortably furnished. It has self catering facilities and John and Louise will provide a basic continental breakfast option for a modest additional fee.

The room including the bathroom were spotlessly clean and warm. The bed was fine.

If you are on foot as I was, it is a 500m walk back to Derwent Hotel to get a drink and a meal in the evening - not far but on a very dark stretch of country road. If you are in a car this is not an issue and I suspect that accommodation at the Chalets is a better option than the hotel. Having said that the hotel does really good evening meals (but not cheap).

For breakfast, take the continental breakfast option or walk next door to the service station cafe which did a good range of fast food during daylight hours. Nothing fancy - but fine.

For hikers - if you stay at the Chalets John and Louise will pick you up from the ferry back at Lake St Clair. The local taxi-van is pretty pricey.

I found John and Louise charming, efficient and helpful.

Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Decided to break the drive from Strahan to Launceston. Worked out really well. We did all the short walks between Strahan and Derwent Bridge including the Lake St Clair figure 8. When we arrived the fire was already on in our cabin and we got a very warm welcome. Great service and great dinner nearby at the Hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

We had such a warm welcome and we felt like a part of the family with Louise and John. The love and passion they put into this home away from home can be seen and experienced in every little detail of this high quality and cozy place.

Cleanliness and atmosphere is in all rooms. We got a tour through their property and loved every little bit.
Everything is very spacious with tasteful interior and equipped for all requirements and needs.

Louise and John are incredible hosts with big hearts and a big honest smile. We got so many great advise and tips. It was like being with family! We can highly recommend Derwent Bridge and it's a must stop on the beautiful west coast route. You will have many opportunities to enjoy a few days in this amazing place and explore the surrounding whilst being in good hands with Louise and John. Enjoy the stay with them.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed just the one night in a studio unit to break up the drive. I booked online before we left to go to Tasmania, but still needed to phone to give credit card details to secure the booking (I refuse to fax or email my credit card details as security may be compromised).

We like to take our time exploring when on holiday - not driving all day to get to a destination. Our studio was closest to the road but didn't hear any traffic noise. The studio was very clean, compact and included a comfortable sofa which was suitable for one night.

One thing that was missing was the compendium - the reception area however is well stocked with leaflets and things to do, and good advice given by Louise when I checked in about the walks to do (which accurately reflected what I had planned anyway as I had purchased a map of Lake St Clair before leaving for Tasmania). We declined the complimentary port, but accepted the chocolates being 2 afterdinner mints.

Once opening the sliding door on entry to the unit, there was a bath mat towel on the inside - I wasn't expecting that as it wasn't raining nor muddy.

We enjoyed our stay at Derwent Bridge - did 3 enjoyable walks at Lake St Clair. The National Park Visitor Centre is very good there, and had a coffee at the hotel adjacent to Lake St Clair. Saw wallabies and an echidna (our first in the wild) in the national park.

We walked to the pub at Derwent Bridge and enjoyed their evening meal - I had the Wallaby Stack and my partner had the stuffed chicken - they were one of the best meals we had during our 2 week stay in Tasmania. Walking back, saw wallabies again near the road.

We self catered for our breakfast and ensured our dishes were spotless before departing early. Breakfasts can be supplied by the property and we didn't use their provisions on the bench - there is a note indicating that if you do, a charge will be made. I suppose some travellers are dishonest and will try and sneak a few ricies or weetbix which is why the sign is there.

It was daylight saving ending the morning we left, so we made the most of having an extra hour in the day in Hobart. As we left early didn't get a chance to see the Wall in the Wilderness as recommended. Next time though.

We enjoyed Derwent Bridge Chalets and Studios and I would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review - it is very pleasing to know guests are happy with their stay with us.

Your comment "bath mat towel on the inside - wasn't raining or muddy" requires a little explanation. We place these mats in all our accommodation, not only for the weather conditions, but for the wallaby and possum dropings, which can be found every where, especially in the carparks adjacent to the accommodation.

This assists us being able to present as much as we can, clean, stain free carpets, thus adding to the appearance of the guest rooms. Trust this answers your comment.

Again, we thank you for choosing our property.

Cheers,

John & Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

On 11th &12th Feb we stayed at the above chalets .In the kitchen we found a sign warning us that $50 would be deducted from our credit card if the kitchen was not left in the condition that it was found.
We were surprised because in all our collective travels (we're in our late 50's) we've never encountered such a requirement and it cerainly wasn't in the terms & conditions when we booked and paid.However,as always,we washed and put away all the kitchen equipment that we used
Imagine our surprise when we returned to Sydney to find that we'd been charged the aforementioned $50.The pettiness of the claims:'smears', 'finger marks', 'stains','wet', 'oily was offensive especially as we paid $270 a night (for this sum one might expect a little bit of house keeping from the proprietor).It is absurd to suggest that we left the kitchen in a mess.
(It might also be mentioned , in view of his exacting standards, he didn't seem overly bothered by the two piles of bird droppings on the verandah,which,apart from their unsightliness,could well present a health hazard to young children).
The number of reviews that refer to the $50 charge in a negative way suggest the proprietor is being over zealous,both in his criticism of peoples cleanliness and his pursuit of profit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perentie, Owner at Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Greetings from Central Highlands of Tasmania,

We responded to this guest, with the following letter, which we are happy to share with you. Please be aware, we are extremely cautious as to whether we charge the fee or not, as we are very conscious of the possible negativity it can bring. In this case, there was no hesitation in applying the fee, as the condition of the kitchen was simply disgraceful.

The fact these guests sent this threatening paragraph in their letter, gave us sufficient reason not to refund the fee and to expose just what type of persons they really are. They wrote:-

“Should there be no reimbursement, we will have no hesitation in contacting various tourist organisations, including the Tasmanian Tourist Bureau here in Sydney and The Crays, as they told us they recommend you. In fact, we will take every opportunity to spread our negative opinion of your management.”

Cheers, John & Louise


Dear Denise, February 26, 2012

Subject: Cleaning Fee Dispute.

We are in receipt of your mail and take this opportunity to respond.

Louise and I are “hands on operators” which entails all that is required to maintain and present our property to our guests. This includes all the bed making, cleaning etc on departure.

At this time, a 100% “stock take” is conducted, especially the kitchen area, when all items are checked to ensure their cleanliness etc for the next of our guests.

After your departure the following was found, put away, in the kitchen cupboards.

2 x Coffee Mugs – coffee stains.
3 x wineglasses – smeary, with finger marks.
4 x glass tumblers – smeary, with finger marks.
1 x dinner plate – not cleaned, with food scraps and butter.
1 x glass bowl – smeary, with finger marks.
1 x glass baking dish – not cleaned.
Fry Pan – oily.
Salad bowl – food scraps.
Colander – food scraps.
2 x large pots – food scraps – wet.
1 x pot lid – not cleaned – finger marks – smeary.
All cutlery – re-washed.

This is a large percentage of the items stocked in the kitchen and is by no means a small amount of housekeeping. Small amounts we do every day, without charge. In your case it was virtually the whole kitchen which took considerable time to rectify.

Because of previous indiscretions, we have been forced to place signage in all our kitchens which clearly states:-

“Dishes

Please be advised it is your responsibility to wash, dry and replace any utensil, plate, pot or pan used during your stay.

A cleaning fee of $50 will be applied should we have to tidy the kitchen after your departure.”

In your email you state: “perhaps not to your exacting standards, but then we were paying $275 per night which should cover a small amount of housekeeping when we left.” A small amount? We think not.

If we had presented the kitchen to you, in the condition you left it, we are sure you would have made (and have every right to make) a serious complaint about our standards. To have to soak food scraps from supposedly washed items…..

The comments in our Guest Comments Books are a testament to the effort we put in to offer the best possible experience when visitors stay with us. Being a self-catering property we do expect guests to leave what they have used in a clean, dry state. This did not occur in your case.

With regard to your threats should we fail to refund the fee. This letter is being forwarded to The Cray’s Accommodation Cottages, the CEO Tourism Tasmania and the CEO Tourist Industry Council.

And ask, when discussing your complaint with others - please show our response, to ensure a balanced view.

The fee stands.

Yours sincerely,

John Wendt and
Louise Forgie-Wendt

Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Address: 15478 Lyell Highway, Derwent Bridge, Tasmania TAS 7140, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Derwent Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Derwent Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.