We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in July” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cradle Mountain Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cradle Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Cradle Mountain Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3718 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Devonport, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Christmas in July”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We spent a very pleasant weekend here last weekend enjoying a special Xmas in July at the hotel.
It was a package deal which included mulled wine on arrival in the Gallery with hot nibblies to go with it as we wandered through the gallery admiring the art on display.
The accommodation was clean, spacious and very scenic looking out over the snow covered mountainside.
The buffet meal catered for all tastes with a range of sea food, roast lamb, turkey and ham plus a host of side dishes and sweets.
Santa appeared to the enjoyment of all the young ones, along with Rudolph by his side.

The lounge was available the whole time with live music being played and log fires added to the comfort throughout the night.
In all, the whole night was very well organised and the atmosphere was pleasant and lay-back.

Most enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms have views and are very comfortable. Choose toward the end of the wings if you want extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your stay here at Cradle Mountain Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Christmas in July special package, and in particular that you found the event to be well-organised and enjoyable. I'll pass your feedback on to the team.

Yours sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    171
    92
    34
    24
See reviews for
54
248
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We started our visit to Tasmania with 2 nights at Cradle Mountain Hotel. The hotel was very conveniently located, and an easy drive to many of the scenic walks around Cradle Mountain and Dove Lake. The hotel room was comfortable and roomy enough for our family of 3. The restaurant was busy (there aren't too many eating alternatives in the area) and the staff were busy, but the service was good and the food reasonably priced. We attended the nearby night session and learnt about Tasmanian Devils and Quolls, which we and our 8 year old son enjoyed. We would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room to be comfortable & spacious. I'll pass on your feedback regarding the service you received in our restaurant to the team, they'll be pleased to hear that you were happy with the service they provided.

We'd be more than delighted to welcome you back if you decide to return to the area.

Yours sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Waking up to a beautiful snowy vista was magic for my grandchildren and we would have loved to stay a 3rd night, but unfortunatly they were booked solid so we could not extend our stay.
Reception was friendly, housekeepingwas most obliging when we needed extra towels for the children and along with that came extra soap, shampoo,biscuits and hot chocolate sachets with the comment " I thought you might like these for the children". Every where we went within the Hotel was clean and well presented and nothing was " too much trouble" and if you passed a staff member you were acknowledged. The common areas were kept warm and cosy with staff regularly stoking the fires. The food was good and reasonably priced. This hotel doesn't have all the bells and whistles, but what it does have is, warm and welcoming staff and ambience

Room Tip: On the opposite side from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of our property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular that you found our staff to be helpful and welcoming. I'll definitely pass on your kind feedback to the team, they'll be very pleased to hear that you were happy with the service they provided during your stay.

I'm glad to hear you were able to experience Cradle Mountain in the snow, it certainly is a magical place this time of year!

Yours sincerely,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Once again we visited this wonderful venue for a winter Xmas. Bitterly cold outside about five degrees when we arrived but blazing log fires inside. The staff are all so helpful and never lose their patience in spite of being rushed off their feet with something like 140 guests to feed and keep happy. We particularly like the lounges where we sat sipping champagne toasting our feet by the fire and admiring the view into the rain forest. I just know we will be back!

Room Tip: The king split rooms are most attractive with a lower level lounge area looking out over magnificent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We truly value our returning customers, and so I am very glad to hear that our staff were able to assist in making your stay an enjoyable one. We'd be more than delighted to welcome you back if (or when!) you return to the area.

Kind regards,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here for my 4th wedding anniversary. The location here is great, it's about a 5 minute drive from the entrance to the national park, and only a two minute drive to the visitor centre at cradle mountain if you want to catch the shuttle bus down to Dove Lake.

The hotel has a few common area's situated throughout the complex with lounge chairs and fire places. It was quite relaxing to sit out there in front of the fire and read or drink a glass of wine.

We stayed in the split level king spa room which was very nice. It had a view just looking out into the woods, and a big spa bath(Which is worth having if you're going on hikes in the winter cold up there.)

The service at the hotel was exemplary. Every person we dealt with was very lovely and helpful and made us feel quite at home there.

It is definitely worth considering the Cradle Mountain Hotel if you're looking at staying up at Cradle. It is clean, has good atmosphere, and great service. The rooms are nothing too fancy, but you should be coming up here to be spending more time outdoors then indoors anyways.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular that you were pleased with the service delivery of our staff. I'll pass your kind comments on to the team.

We'd be delighted to welcome you back to Cradle Mountain Hotel if you ever decide to return to the area.

Kind regards,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Really nicely laid out hotel. There is an awesome and huge gallery of wilderness photography that is a must see. The food options were good in Quolls and the pizza from the bar. We were lucky enough to wake up to a thick blanket of snow on our second morning. Sice to have a view of wilderness outside every room. The WIFI was the only drawback as it was incredibly slow. The shared lounge area with wood fire was great, with beautiful views over the wilderness.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and am pleased that you were able to experience Cradle Mountain in the snow! We will definitely take on board your comments regarding the speed of our wifi.

If you ever return to the area, we'd be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were staying somewhere else and had forgotten to bring along anything for an evening drink in the room. The big 4 caravan park will not sell any of its bottle shop wine or beer to people not staying there. So they directed us to Cradle Mountain Hotel. The staff were very friendly and we bought beer and wine to takeaway at reasonable prices. The dining area looked very comfortable and the lodge is set in nice bushland with a gallery we forgot to go back to and wish that we had.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CradleMountainHotel, General Manager at Cradle Mountain Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review of our property. I'm glad to hear that we were able to assist you on this occasion, and that you were pleased with the service delivery of our staff.
Kind regards,
Greg Astell
GM Cradle Mountain Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cradle Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Hotel

Address: 3718 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Chateau)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cradle Mountain Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of alpine wilderness, Pure Tasmania's Cradle Mountain Chateau sits on the edge of Cradle Mountain Lake St Clair National Park. It's the perfect base for alpine walks. Be pampered at the end of the day with a soothing massage and outdoor hot tub at Calm Day Spa; and enjoy hearty mountain fare and a crackling log fire. The Chateau is home to The Wilderness Galley, a magnificent collection of nature photography. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cradle Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Chateau Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.