We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in the wilderness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages to your Saves list
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   3876 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
MELBOURNE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Peace in the wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Just back from 4 nights at Highlander, we took food for 3 nights, and wished we had taken food for 4 nights as we would put the wood fire on and have dinner by it, just lovely. At dusk we saw so much wild life as these cottages are individual and the bush around has been left as nature meant it to be, we saw kangaroos, pademelons, wallabys, endless wombats and the real prize siting was a spotted quoll. The cottages are comfortable but not luxurious with some querky bits like the door pulls. There are not many places around to eat and you cannot buy food to cook at Cradle Mountain, all has to be purchased before getting on the mountain. Parks like you to use the shuttle bus which is walking distance from the cottages, extra bonus as so many of the others are miles away and you have to use your car. We had a $60 National Parks Pass which lasts for a couple of months, really good value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    77
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
246
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
170 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in the snowgum cottage, very cozy, open log fire, easy access to the NP (do the walk to dove lake starting from the entrance in the morning), did remind us a lot of some of our trips to Canada. Possums also visiting this place, checking out our evening dish .. (didn't share although!) recommend it certainly as a convenient comfortable place to stay for a visit to the NP !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed in The Bushman's Hut which can be best described as cute & cosy. The cabin is surrounded by wild life & a very friendly wombat & pademelons.The DIY breakfast was excellant value & set you up for a day of walking in the area. It is extremely handy for the Cradle Mountain information centre & the shuttle bus. The owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandura, Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed for one night with friends in the Stringybark cottage. On arrival the log fire was blazing away and you really felt that you were the only ones for miles around. In the evening the wallabies came to visit, even venturing up the steps to our verandah. The beds were comfy and it was very quiet so a good night's sleep is guaranteed.

The location is perfect, only a couple of hundred metres from the shuttle bus terminal.

We purchased the $9 breakfast hampers and were pleasantly surprised at the amount included - very good value for money. We went to the pub for a meal, there was a good selection and it was well cooked and reasonably priced - and of course the outlook was
amazing.

We all felt that we could willingly have stayed for 3 or 4 nights, it would have been soooo relaxing,but unfortunately we were only there for 1 night. May have to come back!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Aus
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Highlander Cabins is the perfect stop[ for your stay at Cradle Mountain. We stayed in Buttongrass which was very charming with a handcarved bed, fireplace and well equipped kitchen. Highlanders is very well situated for exploring the park, 500 metres from the visitors centre and shuttle bus and 1.2 km in either direction to the Chateau or Lodge.
We ordered the breakfast provisions andit was great vlaue @$9 each for cereal, juice, eggs, yoghurt and bread.
A reasonable option for dinner is the tavern/bistro at the Lodge.
We were pleased with our choice of accomodation and feel there is no need to go for the pricier options at the Lodge ot Chateau. Highlanders Cottages was the perfect place to stay in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed here in the Pandani cottage for 2 nights. It's an ideal natural setting and a convenient location for a visit to Cradle Mountain. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We loved this place nestled in a woodland setting. We stayed one night in Pandani and one night in Woodsmoke. It seems that they are quite used to moving people about if continuous bookings in one cabin are not available and the move was effortless on our part. The information included in our booking confirmation was very helpful. We loved the space in Pandini, especially the fully equipped kitchen and the upstairs bedroom. The bathroom was large and everything was very clean. Woodsmoke is a smaller cabin but still had a large bathroom and a good sized bedroom with a very comfortable bed. The kitchen/dining area is a bit cramped but we used it only for breakfast. There are some restaurants nearby. Yes, the TV's were small and had poor reception and there was no internet access but we were looking to get away from all that. It is possible to log on at the visitor's centre across the road but it is a dial up connection and therefore very slow. We did manage to watch the news so we were not completely out of touch. We especially liked the fact that the park entrance was nearby and that we could walk to some restaurants. It was a bit of a hike, about 20 minutes, to the tavern at the Lodge but after a three hour walk in the park it didn't seem far at all! There is a cafe across the road, about a 5 minute walk, that had great sandwiches and they were also serving evening meals. The Tasmanian Devil reserve is nearby. They present an evening program during which you can see the feeding of the animals. I would highly recommend this place if you are wanting to get close to nature.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.