We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Can't wait to return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages to your Saves list
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   3876 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect. Can't wait to return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a gem this place is. We were thinking about staying at a more upmarket place up the road but decided that our budget wouldn't allow for it... and what a great decision that was.

I can't give these cottages enough praise -- our stay was honestly the highlight of our trip to Tasmania. We stayed in the cottage with a spa bath, a big comfy bed with a wood fireplace right in front of it. So relaxing. It was also nice to read the guest book and see others' experiences - not a negative word in sight!

Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Will definitely be back and staying for 3+ nights.

TIP: bring food and alcohol with you. There are fully equipped kitchens in the cottages and no stores nearby (as far as we could tell).

Room Tip: Check their website to see lots of pictures and choose the room that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    84
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
274
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Our fire was already lit for us when we arrived late in the afternoon an Wombat, a studio cabin in this lovely part of the world. We preferred to cook our own meals and stay by the fire, the kitchen was fully equipped.
Very comfortable bed and good shower... And shower caps, thank you!!
Perfect for a relaxing getaway with lots of small animals quietly grazing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at Telopea, that's an excellent cottage indeed. After greeting by two friendly staffs at reception, (the lovely lady recommended a nice wine to us too), we reached that wonderful cottage. One night before, we have been informed there was a good weather in Cradle mountain at FB, i.e. such a great customer service.
The Telopea is a romantic, well equipped and nice cottage.
if you're going with your another half, highly recommended to stay at Telopea.
Will stay at there in our next visit to Tas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We loved our time here. Staff and owners were knowledgable, helpful and could not do enough for us. Wifi is available from some properties.

Cross the road at dusk and stroll amongst the wombats grazing on the grass.

Our cabin - Teleopia - was warm and cosy, lots of wood for the fire supplied daily, immaculately clean, and with a large bathroom and jacuzzi. It was a delight to return to it each evening.

The kitchen is small but seemed to have every item we needed to cook.

Stock up on food before coming into Cradle Mountain because while you can eat out there ate no stores selling basic food items like eggs or vegetables.

Great walking for all levels - even for those pushing children in prams.

A good selection of DVDs, maps, books, games are supplied.

We appreciated being able to buy a car pass and walking map at reception. So convenient. We recommend both.

Room Tip: We stayed in Teleopia which has wifi reception and is amazingly quiet. A studio which is good for co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

- No Wi-Fi
- The staff is helpful. I arrived at 5pm and he helped to book a night animal tour which start at 5:30pm, which is also a must-join activity.
- Full cooking facilities, anyway, my oven did not working.
- The area is cold (0 degree in May). The heater, e-blanket and hot bath water worked well.
- Different kinds of small animals can be easily found around the cottage. Some even left me some souvenir outside the door in mid-night.
- There is a barbecue facility, but it is not outside the flat and needs to bring your own light.
- No restaurants and stores nearby, restaurants in reception closed early. Need to buy food from Shieldfield (nearest town and 1hr drive). Or have dinner in nearby hotels.
- The Cradle Mt. visitors center is just opposite to the hotel.

Room Tip: Reception is closed at 6pm. Better contact the staffs if late check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights in early May and it was a fantastic experience. The cabin is great for the two of us and extremely comfortable. The owners were enthusiastic and knowledgable and went well out of their way to help us with any question or request we had. Much to the delight of my wife, wildlife (a paddymelon and a brush tailed possum) came right to our front door. We'll be going back just to experience the quiet serenity again. Well done.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Beautiful cottages in natural bush setting. Fully self contained, cosy, conveniently situated near visitors centre. Helpful staff. Good value. We were in pademelon and indeed several came to graze whilst we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.