We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect honeymoon spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages to your Saves list
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   3876 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“perfect honeymoon spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just spent 3 days in Snowgum cottage for our honeymoon and could not have asked for a nicer place to stay. We arrived late in the evening and the fire was lit, lights were on and champagne and chocolates were waiting. Comfy bed and lovely spa with picture window. The owners were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast provisions were more than ample ( enough for lunch too!) I would like to visit again in winter so as to take further advantage of the cosy-ness, however on this trip we had great weather so were out bushwalking as often as possible. It was only a short walk to the lodge ( peppers) in the evening for dinner. Our only gripe is that we would have stayed longer if we had known how lovely it would be. Understandably they are very popular and were fully booked so we couldn't extend our stay this time ( although they were very helpful in recommending us somewhere else to stay). Luckily we live in Tasmania so can come back for longer on our next visit. We have stayed at Cradle Mountain Lodge in the past and I would say this was better value and much cosier.Unrelated to the accommodation but as a general point to note when visiting Cradle Mountain, or any other national park...PLEASE DRIVE SLOWLY! we saw lots of people driving too fast and were very sad to find a young female tasmanian devil dead on the road as we left. We don't have enough of them to spare as road kill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    76
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
244
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I know other reviewers have said a lot of wonderful things regarding these cottages and I can't think of any better reason to want to stay here, as they are all true. This place is heaven on earth. The cottage we stayed in, Buttongrass, was so cosy we found it hard to leave. It was very private, very quiet and in a great location. Easy walk to the visitor centre, to get the shuttle buses into the National Park (they are quite an efficient way to get to the lake). Don't drive in as it is a long way in to Dove Lake on a narrow road & there is a quota system. You may not get let in anyway.
The cabins have all you could want for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Cottages are great with lots of atmosphere, we arrived just after a lot of heavy snow and it was a real winter wonderland. When we arrived the fire was already lit in our cabin for us so it was warm and welcoming. The cabins are private from each other and there is lots of wildlife around the area. The cabins are nicely appointed and right at the entrance of the park area, it is a perfect location. The location suits everyone from a romantic getaway to a family holiday as there are different cabins. Don't stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Upon check in, the receptionist was expecting our arrival and we were immediately felt very welcomed. She explained that we need to pay for the park fee which include the bus transport and advise us to visit on the same day as it will be raining the next day. She was right!! Because of her advise, we were able to visit the beautiful dove lake with clear blue sky. Prefect picture.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place must have been sent from Heaven. If you want a truly romatic getaway, this is where you need to stay. We stayed in Pademelon, our 4th time visiting this amazing little cabin. It has everything you could possibly need, should you wish to hide away for a couple of days. Due to the isolation of your cabin, you start to believe you are the only couple on the planet. The experience is made so much more special and personal, with such a warm welcome from the Managers Ian and Sharon. Nothing is too much trouble, and they know all there is to know about Cradle Mountain. The breakfast hamper, is great value, a definite must have. The wildlife that visit your cabin are so friendly, I could not get enought of them, they are truly beautiful. If you want to stay at Cradle Mountain, I would strongly recommend that you only stay at Cradle Mountain Higlanders, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was cold, windy and rainy when we arrived here late in the evening. We were pleased and grateful when we were greeted with a warm cosy fireplace upon arriving in our cabin - Woodsmoke. Kitchen was adequately equipped with huge portion of make-your-own hearty breakfast provided at $13 per pax. Spotted a couple of pademelons on our last day there! Definitely good location to visit the nearby Devils at Cradle as well as the National park. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Buttongrass for 4 nights during the Easter break, a beautiful cosy cabin with living room and bedroom in one large room, and separate well-equipped kitchen and spacious warm bathroom. First impressions were wonderful, all tidy and spotlessly clean, with good quality bedding and thoughtfully equipped kitchen. This feeling was maintained throughout our stay, as the owners lit the wood burning oven each day while we were walking the hills to ensure a warm 'home' to return to.
The bed was comfortable with very good quality linens and pillows and a luxurious warm feather duvet, perfect for the chilly season. We relaxed each evening in cosy warmth, great after a long day walking, and enjoyed good TV reception (unlike another place we stayed a few years ago) and a free supply of DVDs selected from a large library. We used the neat kitchen to prepare breakfasts, packed lunches and some evening meals using food bought en route (no shops nearby) it had a good cooktop, oven, microwave, large fridge and all the crockery, cutlery and utensils required, and all nice and clean too.
The location is perfect, just a very few minutes stroll to the Cradle Mountain Visitor Centre and the start of the wonderful shuttle bus service. The cabins are well spaced apart, ensuring privacy and ambience, as each is surrounded by natural bushland.
We loved this place, for it's convenient location, comfort and ambience, and it's very affordable compared to some other nearby options. Recommended!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.