We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base close to everything Cradle Mountain has to offer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages to your Saves list
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   3876 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base close to everything Cradle Mountain has to offer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Highlanders. Perfectly located close to many walks. The cabin was lovely and homely and warm. The spa bath was a nice treat to enjoy after a few hours walking. The staff were fantastic and extremely helpful. There are games available to borrow and a selection of DVDs.

The visitor centre, cafe and shuttle bus to Dove Lake are a short walk across the road so you can leave your car behind if you want to.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    77
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
245
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whyalla, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Great facilities and environment. Excellent staff service and advice, very friendly.
We stayed 3 nights in the "Pandani" unit, very comfortable, gas heater for instant heat and good cooking facilties, with a good selection of wines available from reception. Each "house" is separate for privacy in a great bush setting, ours was 2 story with the bedrooms upstairs. Each house has a comments book, where holidayers are invited to make a comment about the stay. This was great reading and gave us some good hints about our stay. Board games were avaialble from the office, a great idea for cold/wet days & nights.
Ideal place for us to stay for a few days of walking through the national park.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed in the bushmans hut for 2 nights and this has to be the best place ive stayed in a very long time...no make that the best place ever. This hut is so cosy and has everything one would need for a stay in this area. The resident possums make for some great entertainment after dark!! We were running quite late on our way up as the road upto cradle mountain was blocked for some time so we contacted reception to let them know. They were extremely helpful in our situation and heated our cabin up for our arrival (as this was going to be beyond their business hours) and left us torches and a map on how to find our way to the cabin. This kind of service made us feel so welcome and at home before we even got there. The peace, beauty and tranquility of the surroundings was just unreal and I would recommend this cabin to anybody wanting to stay at cradle mountain in a place that has that something special. We are already planning our next stay. I just wish that I had one of these cabins of my own :-)

Room Tip: Book well in advance to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This location really gets you back to nature. The Wombat cabin had everything you need including visiting possums on the balcony, with a spotted quoll passing by in the morning. Within walking distance of the shuttle up to cradle mountain. A warming pot belly stove to welcome you on arrival into your cabin.

Room Tip: Wombat cabin has own carpark in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

the small cottage we live is" bushmans Hut"
all these cottages are cosy, comfortable and charateristic decorated.
really worthy for such a small house with all the equipment you need.
warm and friendly owners:)

the fire warm equipment can cause a little thirsty in your throat during the midnight. however, it is the selling spot of the cottage, those are how the bushman original life style!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

This is our second stay at Highlanders and it won't be our last , we chose ButtonGrass Cottage this time.( Snow Gum last visit ) Cosy magical forest setting, log cabin , warm, romantic, log fire blazing, what more could one ask for! Got settled in, put our gourmet local produce away in modern kitchen and headed out to do the Enchanted Forest walk near the Lodge . Watch out for wombats and pademelons . A little cold and wet but this is Cradle Mountain , we enjoyed coming back to our warm cabin , never see the other guests so one feels like you are on your own . Look out the windows , be patient you will always see something hopping around the cabin, possums at night , pademelons on dusk or tiny cute marsupial mice scampering around the logs.....a dreamy place to share with someone you love

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I recently stayed at this property for 2N with 3 other friends in Currawong cottage. It is a large cottage with 2 bed rooms and a huge living room with kitchen. The cottage was very comfortable with ample heating in the rooms, bathroom and the living room. The beds were firm and comfortable (good back support). We previously read that there would be animals out and about the cottage but sadly we've only manage to catch a currawong (big black bird) round the house.

The staff at this property are very friendly and helpful. They've helped us arrange an awesome ATV Quad Bike tour. The cradle mountain area is very beautiful and 2 night was honestly insufficient to do it justice. Stay for 4 nights or so to take in the natural beauty, breathe the fresh air and see the numerous wildlife!

We also had the free breakfast for 2 (courtesy of tripadvisor) which is quite huge and good value for anyone thinking of getting it. However, it's still best to stock up with groceries in launceston before visiting cradle mt.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages

Address: 3876 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cabins are all hand built in a traditional mountain style and feature lovely natural timbers inside and out. All cabins have log fires except for two and three have spa baths with full of rustic mountain charm. With wildlife at your doorstep, spectacular alpine scenery all around and a rustic mountain cabin to call home, you will really feel at one with nature when you make Cradle Mountain Highlanders your base for exploring Cradle Mountain National Park.Take a walk through ancient rainforests, scale snow-capped peaks or just curl up by the fire in your snug wooden cabin and let the peace of the forest surround you.Whether you are in the mood for self-indulgent comfort or a budget conscious family, there’s a cabin here to suit you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Highlanders Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.