We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, comfy, clean, chic.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village to your Saves list
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfy, clean, chic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed in a one bed cabin that was very nice. It isn't big but did the two of us just fine. The bed was comfortable and the place was kept nice and warm with the gas heater. If you desire self contained style accomodation this is perfectly fine.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    168
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
101
216
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

So here I am sitting on the balcony of our comfortable premium spa suite enjoying the peaceful bush atmosphere with a glass of wine I purchased at the reception lounge and a meal I cooked myself in the neat kitchenette. We could be miles from anywhere but infect we're really close to all that Cradle Mountain has to offer. Booked out at the Cradle Mountain Lodge? No problem - you'll be very happy here as well.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed in the premium spa cottage for one night. The room wasn't cheap at $270 but it was a great location close to the mountain.

PROS
- close to mountain
- quiet surrounds and nice bush outlook
- clean
- powerful gas heater
- modern flat screen tv with some movie channels
- great spa (a con was the water coming into the spa was all dirty)
- small foyer area to room was great to wipe shoes and hang coats
- friendly owners
- bar honour system
- DVDs, books and board games to borrow

CONS
- pillows were terrible! Be prepared. Bed quite hard too
- only 2 bowls, 2 plates, 2 knives, 2 forks, 2 spoons etc. A couple extra wouldn't have gone astray
- no guide for movies
- limited toiletries (eg. no shower cap)
- 10am checkout

Cradle Mountain is beautiful and well worth a visit! Be prepared with the weather. We experienced snow which we would never have imagined in December!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

I recently stayed in a premium spa cottage, was extremely impressed with it - stayed in a standard cottage last time, was still nice but the premium one was absolutely gorgeous!! Not cheap but worth every cent. Would highly recommend it. Very close to everything, very well equipped, great little kitchen, very clean. Make sure you bring all your food if coming here as food very limited here - this is clearly outlined in any travel guide/website. Absolutely stunning part of the world, highly recommend to anyone to come here if you havent been.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed in a premium 2 bedroom chalet, so I can only speak for our room (there are others not as nice, I think). Concur with most previous reviews -- lovely bush outlook (although no direct view of Cradle Mtn from our chalet) with possums visiting our deck at night. Quiet and private with adequate room between cabins. Very nice new interior, clever and functional layout, just the right size for the 3 of us. We did find the lounge room and bathroom heaters could not quite manage to keep it warm enough, and it was not cold when we visited (only chilly) so would be worried about staying here in the true winter. The staff were just average, not particularly helpful but not openly hostile. There was a nice common lounge which no one seemed to use, and internet came at a price. Overall a nice place to stay except in the coldest months.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

What a great place! We were in a basic two-bedroom cabin, and we delighted in watching the wallabies, brush-tailed possums, and unidentifiable birds that came right up to our patio door. Also, after 10 days or so in standard hotels, we were delighted to cook for ourselves in the well-equipped open kitchen. Two restaurants nearby, one of which we tried and were happy with. Not to mention the most important factor--it's just seconds from the beautiful national park, great for hiking and wildlife viewing.

Bring your warm clothes: You're in the mountains, so it can get chilly. But the accommodation has efficient heat, an electric mattress pad, and a heated towel rack--so it's easy to make yourself very comfortable.

The funniest thing that happened during out trip: They were upgrading the furniture DURING our stay. One afternoon when we straggled in from a gorgeous long hike, we thought we were in the wrong cabin because the sofa, TV, and tables were all different from the ones we had left that morning. Luckily, I spotted my socks dangling over the heater to dry, and we had a great laugh about it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Very well appointed little modern cabins. We had the premium cabins which were supposed to have two queen beds but turned out to have one queen bed and two singles. However they were very warm and we even had possums on our back porch. It's about 10km from Dove lake and the cradle mountain.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Address: Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.