We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village to your Saves list
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
3.5 of 5 Cottage   |   Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here with my husband on our honeymoon and it was lovely. We had a cabin facing the bushes. It was quiet and romantic. The people working there were very helpful and even spoiled us because it was our honeymoon. Lovely get away for people looking for some solitude. There were also some nice restaurants around though, Cradle mountain is a quiet area so don't be expecting to do a lot other than walking around some beautiful mountains and seeing a lot of australian wild life.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    171
    39
    8
    4
See reviews for
102
218
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at C M Wilderness Village in September with our family of 5. What a magical place. Our accomodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Heaters galore and cosy beds. We even had a little pademelon with baby in pouch take shelter from the rain under a tree outside our villa. Spectacular storm that night with amazing lightening and thunder rumbling though the mountains, made me feel sorry for the poor hikers that were on the Overlanders Track. Thankyou for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent a night in the very comfortable cabins on offer at Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village, with the family in September. The facilities were all well presented and clean, with space for all. Set in a lovely bushland setting amongst the very friendly wildlife. A great spot for the kids to run around and breathe in the fresh air. Highly reccomend this property, nothing to complain about at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Wilderness Village and loved it! Perhaps the snow helped make our stay more memorable but our chalet was comfortable, clean, warm and felt like home. We were surrounded by trees and visiting wild animals - buy apples to feed the super friendly possums that come onto the balcony at night! Perhaps the rate is a little overpriced but I guess that's the area. My only negative comments are that the supplied crockery was a little tired and should be replaced and more than 3 coat hangers in each wardrobe would have helped us unpack properly. We would stay here again.


Also, be warned that petrol at the Cradle Mountain Information Centre is at least 50cents more than the normal price but as the closest other petrol station is a fair drive away you don't have much choice.
Buy your favourite groceries at Coles etc, there is a very small store at the Discovery Park next door but it is extremely limited especially for fresh fruit and veg... bread was frozen and $5 a loaf! They only sell alcohol to their residents.
If you decide to do any walks in the National Park, allow longer than the time given on the notice boards. We drove a group of boys back who had missed the last shuttle bus back to the information centre as they had been advised to leave their car there due to the snow. It would not have been a nice walk back in the dark and cold...but we did get to see plenty of wombats and a quoll as the sun was setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet which was spotlessy clean and obviously very well maintained. Nice soap etc in the bathroom but we felt the cost was way too high compared to other Tazzy stays. Staff at reception weren't friendly, but free DVD,s was a nice touch. We'll try somewhere else (options are few) if we return to cradle Mountain (which was fantastic!!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have book for 1 night, a 2 bedrooms charlet in July, which we had a quite late arrival, around 4pm, the sun was gonna go down, when i reached the reception, staff was already prepared all check-in document, it went smooth, and staff are nice!

It's just located on the way goes up to cradle mountain, with big signboard can easily be found!

The cottages are all surround by tree forest, it was clean, toasty, and quite new for all interior. You can sell stars all over the sky in the night! Which was awesome!!

But there are few thing hv to remind u,
1. When u drive up hill from the main road to the property's area, it is a narrow, steep, unsealed road, Drive carefully.
2. Kitchen is not fully equipped, it comes with no dishwasher, wash your own dishes!
3. Though the bathroom is quite new, very clean, bright, but there might be problem of not enough hot water supply. Water is not hot enough for showering in such cold July winter!
4. No cellphone signal for Vodafone

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Views are of the trees and pretty and private although you are close to your neighbors. I recommend staying here, but not as for a luxury retreat. I've used better looking cooking equipment in share households and the fittings could do with a good spring clean and some updating. We did enjoy using the spa bath in the lounge in the Premium Spa Cottage that we had. Staying here in the snow is magic, but arrive early if snow is forecast or you may not be able to make it up the steep driveway! Be sure to leave a tap dripping if it is snowing so you have water in the morning.

Room Tip: Maybe check that your bathroom smells OK before settling in. Get a spa cottage if you like relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village

Address: Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village is situated in temperate rainforest in Cradle Valley on the edge of the World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain/Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania. Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village strives to provide guests with a natural wilderness experience in highland accommodation in Tasmania without compromising comfort. Our private, self-contained cottages and chalets in Tasmania have been carefully sited in the rainforest so you are surrounded by native plants and wildlife. Our Cradle Valley accommodation offers a variety of cottages catering for the travelling couple up to larger family group. The Wilderness Village at Cradle Mountain boasts a contemporary restaurant featuring modern Tasmanian cuisine with views through temperate rainforest along the Cradle Valley to Cradle Mountain. Hellyers Restaurant has been crafted using local timber and stone. A large central stone fireplace will comfort guests needing to recharge after a day on the track. Hellyers Restaurant is open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday from 6pm, and guests are invited to enjoy a drink from the bar in the guest lounge from 2.30Pm. Continental breakfast hampers are available for guests to pre-order, where they can prepare from the comfort of their self contained Cottage or Chalet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Hotel
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.