We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant! Best time in Tassie!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“excellant! Best time in Tassie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Excellant hotel definitely 4.5 stars! Friendly staff and professional, superb dining experience, beautiful surrounding. No where better to stay if going to cradle mountain!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    476
    176
    65
    27
See reviews for
205
811
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in the beautiful King Billy Suite. From the outside the cottages look a bit rustic but as soon as you step foot inside you are immersed in beautiful, luxurious surroundings. The double sided fireplace is a wonderful touch and works a treat for winding down with a glass of complimentary port after the day's activities. The room did have a spa bath in the bathroom however we did not use it as we much preferred to be under the stars in our own private hot tub. We loved the fact that this relaxing experience did not include a TV in our suite to interrupt our relaxing experience. On that note there is no Optus phone reception (which does seem to be the norm in Tas), once again did not bother us but I guess would be handy to know (Telstra ok though). Lots of wildlife, constantly greeted by wallabies, possums of an evening and even the odd wombat or two. The lodge is the perfect location to access Cradle Mountain National Park. Breakfast in the morning was hearty and dining options in the evening vary from pub meals to more fine dining. Terrific wine cellar specialising in Tasmanian wines, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed in a 'Deluxe Spa Suite' for 2 nights paying $450/night. The Lodge is in a great location for visiting Cradle Mountain, the staff were professional and attentive. Our room looked nothing like the photos on their website and was quite run down. A small, old spa in a basic timber hut did not live up to expectations and for the price paid was poor.
The restaurant was pleasant and the food and service good however a 2 course meal with 1 bottle of their cheaper wine was $180. After staying in some fantastic hotels and B&B's elsewhere in Tassie we would recommend staying in some of the self-contained accommodation and splurging a bit in Strahan or the Tamar region.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

This is a resort property, with duplex cabins. There are many beautiful walks and many organized activities for people of all ages and fitness levels. There is a fine restaurant, a great pub and a cozy lounge. We saw wallabies, a wombat and an echidna right near our cabin.
Staff was professional and courteous, and still friendly and cheerful. Whatever problems other travelers may have had in the past have apparently been corrected.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

OK we had a free nights accomodation with our Accor Advantage Plus card, but I do feel ripped off. This Hotel is labeled M Gallery well I don't think it is much better than a Mercure Standard, and I would definitely not pay $300 per night. OK it's in the wilderness it beautiful, but position alone does not rate for this. The staff at check in were very friendly. We got to our Pencil Pine Cabin and well it ain't worth the $300 tag. The room was comfortable as was the bed. The shower was adequate. The fire which clicked on and off all night was annoying. We at at the Bistro in the evening, but were disappoint by the quality of the food and the service. The lady in charge topped our night over discounts on our advantage plus card, and the food quality, she didn't really care. The bar was nice to sit in and have a drink in front of the log fire. The breakfast in the Restaraunt was good. Sorry been there but won't go back. Hotel needs a face lift, and staff changes.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Cradle mountain is fantastic, the bush walks are good and mostly all boardwalks.
Cradle Mountain Lodge Pencil Pine cabins are comfortable, but I'm glad we did'nt pay the full rate of $ 300 per night, I would have felt ripped off
Positives;
Warm and cosy on cold Cradle mountain nights.
Clean room with good room service.
Compilmentary cooked breakfast is good and well organised
Native animals, mostly Wallabies graze around cabins

Negatives;
Bed was hard, not too comfortable for a good nights sleep.
The gas log fire is a nescessity on cold nights, however it automatically cuts in and out throughout the night (noisily) due to expansion and contraction crackling. ( Very annoying )
The pub food at the tavern was mixed, good the first night, but not so on the second night
Mini bar prices extravagant ( don't touch )

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed two nights and wished we could have stayed more. We elected to stay in a spa room and we were not dissappointed. Our room was located at the very back of the resort on a hillside which was teaming with wildlife at sunset and was a short leisurely walk to the main lodge. The rooms were clean, we had a real log fire and the bed was the most comfortable we had in Tasmania.

We did the wine and cheese tasting on the first night which allowed us to check out the fantastic wine cellar (the tasting was located down there) plus sample some of the wonderful wines on offer. Dinner in the main restaurant was fantastic and could not be faulted as was the breakfasts provided. The staff were impeccable at all times.

We would definately recommend visiting the Tasmanian Devil enclosure just down the road for something different.

Our only issue, which is clutching at straws, was the phone was not working in our room and there was no mobile reception - but then it is a wilderness lodge. :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a unique wilderness experience, set right on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, just 2 hours drive from Launceston and 1.25 Hours from Devonport. At Cradle Mountain, you'll soon discover that fine food and wine are an unavoidable part of this rustic holiday. This superb escape showcases the best Tasmania has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational locally produced food and wine, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. The Lodge itself is warm and inviting with open fires, comfy chairs and cosy spots, perfect for enjoying the postcard views or just relaxing. Around Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge there are more than 20 walking trails that suit every fitness level. Imagine wandering through towering forests with trees older than mankind. Discover animal and plant varieties found nowhere else on earth. You can trek mountains, explore trails on horseback or mountain bike, and learn to fly-fish - just some of the many activities on offer. And when it's time to relax, guests can indulge in a therapeutic massage or sauna at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the perfect place to soak away tension and time. Set discreetly within its pristine wilderness setting, Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge has 86 private timber cabins, offering 4 grades of accommodation. Each provides every comfort you could need, some with spa baths. ** Ecotourism Australia Certification - Want to help the environment while your on holidays? The ECO Certification logo means that you are guaranteed to experience a genuine and authentic tour, attraction or accommodation that looks after the environment. The ECO certification program assures you that certified products are backed by a commitment to sustainable practices and provides high quality nature-based tourism experiences. Note: Any incidentals will be charged on check-out and a 2.0% Credit card surcharge would be applied to these incidentals ** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, EasyToBook, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.