We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Billy Suite- An amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
“King Billy Suite- An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

ARRIVAL
After just under 400km in the car it took us about 4.5 hours to drive from Hobart. We used the Midlands Highway and made a stop at Campbell Town to break up the journey. On arriving at Cradle Mountain Lodge it was easy to find the reception building (which is also the main one) and park out the front. The website for Cradle Mountain Lodge had good details on how to arrive from other cities and also coach and their own transfer service.

RECEPTION
We arrived about 1 hour before the check in time of 1400. We checked with reception if it was possible to have access to the cabin and after checking it was. There was a surcharge for using a credit card to settle the account. Everything was itemised and in order on the checkout.

CABIN
We stayed in a King Billy Suite. Everything has been thought of & nothing forgotten. We could park the car outside the door and didn’t have to use it for our time at the lodge. On entering the King Billy Suite there was a double door air-lock where wet shoes and coats could be left. Umbrellas were provided and sitting in the stand. On entering the suite there was a kitchenette area, with a mini fridge, sink, glasses, kettle, selection of instant & plunger coffee, plunger, selection of teas and plates with cutlery. And not to forget the biscuits! Walking into the room was a big four seater couch and an arm chair, large over sized floor cushions and a coffee table. This open plan design added to the ambience of the suite. The double-sided fireplace is the feature of this room and the neatly chopped supply of wood is stacked in a storage area next to the fire. Outside the suite is an additional supply for firewood and the storage inside the suite is re-stocked when it is cleaned each day. There was a king sized bed, bedside tables & lamps, arm chair and foot stool positioned by the floor to ceiling glass window. There was an oversized bathroom with double basins, plenty of towels, bathrobes, walk in wardrobe area, ironing board, iron and ample supply of hanging space and storage. This area then leads in the other part of the bathroom with interior spa bath, wc and double shower. There is the outdoor large deck that has the hot tub that is kept covered when not in use to maintain the temperature & also to prevent the animals. There are two hooks outside for the bathrobes and a light. Two outside chairs also are on the deck which is private views of the wilderness. Inside the cabin Tasmania timber is featured throughout. There is a cd Bose stereo in the room and three cds were supplied for use during the stay that were lovely to listen to. Staying in this type of room also had a reservation in the Highland Restaurant each night for 1900. If a change of time or cancellation of this is required it was easy to just see the staff. This is the same restaurant where the complimentary buffet breakfast was served. During the evening when we were at the restaurant the staff did a turndown service and left canapés that changed each evening. There was also a complimentary bottle of port to enjoy a glass or two each night. You almost want bad weather during your stay so you don’t have to leave the cabin! From the cabin to the main lodge there were good direction signs and boardwalk paths.

FACILITIES
Two restaurants (Highland & Tavern Bistro), two bar/lounge areas (Weindorfer & Guest Lounge Bar). Under the Highland restaurant is a wine cellar where guests can select a bottle of wine to enjoy with the meal. There was the option to be involved in daily activities (some at a charge). The lovely spa facility (Waldheim Alpine Spa) located just behind the main reception building. There is a basic shop that sells snacks, souvenirs and some basic groceries. In the Tavern Bistro there was a pool table with a cost involved.

AREA
A list of short and long walks is available from Cradle Mountain Lodge, their website prior to arrival, and the National Parks Office just 100m from the hotel entrance. This is also where the parks pass can be purchased for cars to be taken down to the lower car park to Dove Lake. There is the option that is encouraged to park the car at the National Parks Office and take the shuttle down to the lake. There is a fuel station a few kilometres from the lodge that is passed on the way in. It is worth a visit to Waldheim Chalet, it is a great insight to the history of the area and a short walk in the King Billy Pines was enjoyed that took about 20 minutes.

BOOKING
We booked our stay direct with Cradle Mountain Lodge. Emails were sent to us as promised in an efficient time frame and our reservation was in order on arrival.

We would definitely stay here again if we have the fortune to return!

  • Liked — The King Billy Suite & all it had to offer
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    422
    368
    140
    44
    20
See reviews for
157
625
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2007

Stayed for two nights 16/ 17 July. Basic Pencil Pine cabin but found it clean and classy. Wonderful view into the bush from big windows. Breakfast was first class with great choice and the quality was very good for a buffet. The guest lounges were very comfortable although a bit weird in that the "private" guest lounge was too small given the size of the resort. We didn't use the spa but it looked excellent and other guests raved. The bistro provides good but not outstanding meals at a reasonable price. The activities director, Steve, was a gem and helped us to do some walks even though it was snowing heavily for much of our visit. Would stay there again though there are cheaper options in the area. Location, feel and service would be hard to beat.

  • Liked — Location, style, good staff
  • Disliked — restaurant a bit too expensive
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon in one of the King Billy Suites. There was a delay on check in and the staff were brilliant in sorting us out - we even got a glass of champagne in the bar while they did. We had a couple of treatments at the spa which has incredible views - I recommend the 'Bath for Two' very highly as one of the most relaxing things you can do. We spotted some great wildlife on the spotlight tour and the meals we had in the restaurant were exceptional. You can choose your own wine from the cellar and they serve it to you - great fun. Overall a stunning place to stay in an incredible part of the world. We will be back!

  • Liked — Size and Location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

Absolutely magical.
Just like being in a fairytale.
I enticed brush tailed possums into my room with a trail of bread and it was just like being in the middle of a Disney movie.
Staff were excellent, VERY friendly.
Food was excellent, good value, and very fresh/tasty.
Room was very clean, and very cosy & comfortable.
Location is amazing.
Will definitely go back. As soon as possible!

  • Liked — Cosy & clean
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

we booked a spa suite for four nights and loved every minute of the experience - the cabin was located away from the cheaper rooms and was closer to the abundant wildlife in the area. During our stay we saw numerous wallabies, wombats and possums around our cabin.
My wife and I had a number of treatments at the Waldheim Alpine Spa - the staff and facilities are superb - the sanctuary is a must with its outside hot spa
Included in the tariff is breakfast in the Highland restaurant - a fantastic array of choice - highly recommended

we ate twice in the Highland Restaurant for dinner and were happy with the level of service and the quality of the food - food is good without being outstanding (compared to upmarket Sydney eateries) - selecting your own bottle of Pinot Noir from the wine cellar is a nice feature!

all in all, good value, great staff and an enviable location make this the only choice in cradle mountain

I have uploaded a few photos of the interior of the spa suite - the rustic log fire was awesome - many reviews have stated that the log fires are no more - this is only true for the cheaper rooms - book a spa or king billy suite and fully enjoy the remote experience!

  • Liked — Waldheim Alpine Spa - fantastic friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

My husband and I spent an exceptional 3 nights at the Lodge, where the environment really encourages unwinding. The first impression of the Lodge Reception area is warm and welcoming. The exterior of the guest cottages are very rustic, which creates a nice surprise when you see the interior, which is very comfortable and cozy. We had a gas fireplace which really helped to warm up the room, as the outside temperature was cold! There's no internet service in the rooms, although there's a coin-operated kiosk in the lobby.

Within the 3 days, the weather changed from heavy rains to misty cold to nippy with clear skies. The surrounding forest environment is really peaceful. There are several easy walking trails around the Lodge and many longer more strenous trails at the national park next door. There's a Tasmanian Devil sanctuary next door to the Lodge with a feeding that's worth doing.

Staff at the Lodge were friendly but not very knowledgeable about parts of Tasmania outside of the area around the National Park. Breakfast buffets were full of fresh fruit and other hearty items. Dinner menu had good selection of local products, well presented.

There's a great room with a roaring fire and several comfortable sofas and chairs. And a separate guests-only lounge area with another log fireplace. Besides the main dining room, there's a tavern with casual dining, especially good for families with young kids.

  • Liked — Quality accommodations in a great setting
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

A great lodge in a beautiful location. The rooms are done very well: they are modern and and very comfortable, great bed, bathroom, and fire place (though the abundance of wood in and outside the room baffled me, when the fire place was gas heated). Fantastic walking tracks depart from the grounds of the lodge, and others can be accessed in the national park. We walked the "Speeler Track" went up to "Marions Lookout", and found both really enjoyable, a little challenging (for fit but inexperienced hikers) and rewarding. Don't expect to be able to easily get to shops/chemist etc at this lodge the nearest place to do that is 45 mins away (learnt the hard way).

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is widely considered one of Australia’s iconic wilderness experiences. Located on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, one of Tasmania’s premier wilderness regions.Just 2 hours scenic drive from Launceston and 1.5 hours from Devonport, this superb escape showcases the best Cradle Mountain has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational local food and wine, indulgent spa treatments, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. Set discreetly within the wilderness setting, the Lodge offers 86 cabins providing 4 different styles of accommodation, from the contemporary Pencil Pine Cabins and Spa Cabins through to the luxurious Spa Suites and the ultimate in wilderness accommodation, the King Billy Suites.The Highland Restaurant draws on the finest of Tasmania's fresh, local produce providing seasonal menus that celebrate Tasmania's gourmet reputation. Indulge in the serenity of the Waldheim Alpine Spa, one of Australia's most spectacular wilderness spa experiences. Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a 'must include' for any Tasmanian itinerary and provides the perfect haven to escape, rejuvenate, indulge and explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.