We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $219* inc breakfast
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I could only squeeze in one night and this fabulous lodge and we cant wait to go back for at least a few nights next time. Whilst the weather was not condusive to doing much outdoors, we still had a fabulous stay. Our cabin was quiet and peaceful, nicely appointed and very comfortable. This is going to sound bizarre however what surprised me the most was how pleasant the cabin smelt. Usually these types of places tend to have a stale / old smell to them however this was not the case at Peppers. We dined at the Highland restaurant and it was nothing short of amazing. Service was wonderful, selection of wine was great, food was delicious and desert is a must! We literally rolled out of there! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Splurge a little and go for the Spa Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and thank you for your positive comments regarding the room. I have passed on to both our Kitchen and Food and Beverage teams your feedback concerning Highland Restaurant and how you thought it was amazing.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    426
    157
    50
    22
See reviews for
183
732
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Above says it all. For $322 pn (incl devils feeding tour) we were expecting a pretty nice room and amenities. The room was average and nothing special - definitely not living up to the price tag.
Staff were attentive and helpful, but no better than what you'd hope for.
Spa is ok but again over priced and they will try and sell you products/ask you if you'd like add-ons to an already inflated menu.
Tavern is probably the best element to the resort - good prices, food and atmosphere but it is accessible to all visitors to the mountain, so no reason to stay here.
Major peeve with this place was that you paid for anything you said "boo" at. Internet ($5.50 per HOUR), washing powder costs you, credit card surcharges, real coffee at bfast.
Our advice: stay somewhere else, visit the tavern and try and avoid being ripped off during your stay on the mountain.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry you were disappointed with some of our pricing.

We appreciate your positive comments concerning our staff and Tavern.

I apologize that we were not able to meet your pricing expectations.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Cradle Mountain Lodge, having visited briefly before but never stayed. We loved Cradle Mountain and wished to return. Our accommodation was in a Pencil Pine cabin. The bed was very comfortable, with chairs and a small table at the foot in front of a gas fire, which was necessary at night, as our visit was in September. Bathroom facilities were most acceptable, and the only thing we might have wished for was a larger refrigerator, however, when visiting, the idea is that you eat at the Lodge. Our package included breakfast, and each morning we loved heading down to the Lodge for a full breakfast. Activities during the day can be as energetic or lazy as you like. We did small walks to begin with and gradually increased to longer. At night, it was wonderful to sit in front of the log fires with a glass of wine in either of the communal rooms at the lodge before going to dinner. We ate mostly in the bistro, which serves pretty typical pub meals, however one night we went to the a la carte restaurant - a bit too expensive and not what we enjoy anyway. We met and chatted to people from all over the world on our trip and the highlight was snow! It snowed on a number of occasions whilst we were there. A word of warning - conditions can get slippery in snow. Use the front stairs instead of the ramp at the front door if it's snowing. It's also good to remember that this is a location which is a distance away from doctors and hospitals. Staff are trained in first aide only. All in all, this is a very special location and Peppers catered very well to our needs whilst we were there. The staff were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the room and thought our staff were great. We are also glad to hear that you were able to experience snow during your stay. It can snow anytime of the year here but Winter is the highest chance to experience it.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anakie, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

3 night anniversary getaway in a spa suite was great. The character and atmosphere of the lodge is just right for the location and the tavern and restaurant compliment each other perfectly. In the short time we were there it was hard to choose between relaxing in the cabin and lodge and getting out into the beautiful scenery and many and varied walks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

We are certainly glad you chose us to celebrate your anniversary and are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

We hope to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge in the neat future.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife surprised me for my birthday we got in on the Saturday long drive from davenport but well worth it(suggest you take a hire car)we found the facilities pretty good and basic but really down to earth and it's exactly what we were after,staff always friendly and helpful I found the massage was good but you could hear the conversation taking place t reception so it's wasn't as relaxing as it should of been but the therapist was good(firm is what I wanted and that's what I got)we love Tasmania for all it's beauty and fawna and we were pretty happy we stayed at this place

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent 5 nights in a King Billy Suite to kick off our honeymoon around Tasmania. These rooms are magnificent, we loved the dual fireplace, the hot tub on the deck, and coming home each evening to canapes, great music (I even bought a copy of the CD) and bottomless port. We also had a complimentary bottle of sparkling on arrival. I've never felt more relaxed.

If you're not looking to splurge on the King Billy cabins, the rest of the lodge also looks lovely; the staff are helpful, the location is ideal - it is the closest accommodation to the national park (literally at the entrance) and you can walk to the ranger station a couple of hundred metres to catch the bus into Dove Lake. Driving your own car is discouraged and disallowed if it is too busy.

The only downside is there are no cheap meal options - the main restaurant is a set $60 for two courses and the tavern meals are still $20-$30. For this, you get a generous and delicious meal, but a lot of the time we just didn't want so much and ended up sharing. If you just want to grab a pie for lunch for example, the park visitor centre up the road is the only place to go.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback on your recent stay.

What a way to start your honeymoon, 5 nights in a King Billy Suite! We are really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the room, our staffing and our location - we border the National Park so I think it can't be beaten.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your first anniversary.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Lovely friendly efficient staff. Great rooms and yes they might benefit from an upgrade but still spotless and have everything you need.
Felt very relaxed from the moment we stepped into the grounds.

We booked a couple of trips with Hannah Montanna who was a wealth of knowledge. Great canoe trip along with the sporlighting tour. Must say at no stage did we feel unsafe just very relaxed, fun and informative. ( hard to feel unsafe at 10km an hour)
Great way to enjoy the bush without losing out on your creature comforts. Will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMLTasmania, General Manager at Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a memorable holiday and very pleased to hear that you were able to relax, enjoyed our friendly staff and the spotlight tour with Hannah. I will pass on your feedback to her.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge again soon.

Regards
Leigh Reid
General Manager
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge

Address: 4038 Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7306, Australia (Formerly Cradle Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is widely considered one of Australia’s iconic wilderness experiences. Located on the edge of the spectacular World Heritage listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, one of Tasmania’s premier wilderness regions.Just 2 hours scenic drive from Launceston and 1.5 hours from Devonport, this superb escape showcases the best Cradle Mountain has to offer with warm hospitality, sensational local food and wine, indulgent spa treatments, breathtaking scenery and magnificent wilderness surrounds. Set discreetly within the wilderness setting, the Lodge offers 86 cabins providing 4 different styles of accommodation, from the contemporary Pencil Pine Cabins and Spa Cabins through to the luxurious Spa Suites and the ultimate in wilderness accommodation, the King Billy Suites.The Highland Restaurant draws on the finest of Tasmania's fresh, local produce providing seasonal menus that celebrate Tasmania's gourmet reputation. Indulge in the serenity of the Waldheim Alpine Spa, one of Australia's most spectacular wilderness spa experiences. Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge is a 'must include' for any Tasmanian itinerary and provides the perfect haven to escape, rejuvenate, indulge and explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cradle Mountain Hotel Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Cradle Mountain Resort
Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.