We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well set up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cradle Mountain Canyons

Cradle Mountain Canyons
Cradle Mountain Road, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7310, Australia
1300 032 384
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Tasmania's first and only canyoning company. Tasmanian owned and operated, we take pride in being able to show visitors some of the most pristine and remote areas of natural beauty in Tasmania.Our operation is based in the Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair national Park, one of Australia's most scenic and popular holiday destinations.We offer tours catering for a wide range of ages and abilities.If you are after an unforgettable experience, come and join us and discover the secret side of Cradle Mountain.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Well set up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Cradle Mountain has something for everyone from the serious Tramper to a day walker with a foot in a cast. For the former there is the multiday trip across the park and for the later the boardwalk timber walkways are really great.
The boardwalks are an easy grade and since they are fairly new are in great condition.
Views are stunning even if the wildlife is mostly hiding. We did manage to see a wombat or 2 in the wild.
Transport within the park is pretty good and the information centre is, well, informative.
We spent a whole day there without going on any major walks.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blue mountains
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dove canyon...Full of wonderful surprises!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our visit to dove canyon started hesitantly, with the weather at 2Degrees and snow falling at marions lookout, we hoped our adventure would be cancelled! 3 layers of wetsuit and spectacular scenery and i didn't even notice the weather until i got back to the carpark after the trip. The adventure was great, held surprises at each turn, it was challenging and empowering. The guides are wonderful and so was the food. I would do it again and recommend it to all my friends who visit Tasmania.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyons C, Owner at Cradle Mountain Canyons, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks very much for the review Pademelon Pie. Glad to hear you weren't too cold in the water, even though it was snowing. Working in an alpine river, the cold is obviously something we have to deal with to make sure our clients have a good time. Thanks very much for the feedback and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Great day out in Cradle Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Me and my friends had a great time, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely recommend it. We left Launceston very early that morning and drove home that night - a big day but achievable, no need to pay extra for accommodation and stay at Cradle if you don't want to. We found it a lot more tiring than we thought we would, walking around in drenched wetsuits plus the weight of all the safety equipment wears you out a lot more than you would think. And then just when you think it is over there is 20 mins of walking up a vertical cliff to get back out! Be prepared to be exhausted and happy at the end :-)
Also, if you don't like heights some of the jumps are pretty high up.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyCMC, Owner at Cradle Mountain Canyons, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the review Kristy. Yep, it is pretty tiring walking around in a wet wetsuit, especially that walk out. We like our clients to be tired at the end of the day though - hopefully that means they feel a greater sense of achievement.

Great to hear you think it is achievable as a tour from Launceston too. I'd like to try to set up a tour departing from there sometime in the future, so good to know you think it can be done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Such a great day out! For a hens weekend we did the 6 hr dove river canyon, and we all had a ball! Awesome jumps, slides, waterfalls and great guides. It was such a different way to enjoy the beauty of the national park. Would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tazzi1, Owner at Cradle Mountain Canyons, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi there Team Jaguar Paw
Thanks for an awesome trip. It was a pleasure to take you down the Dove and go head to head at the quiz night at the Lodge - I'm sure if the quiz master had more of a sense of humour we would have beaten you :) Hope to see you again if another of your friends gets married...or you come along of your own accord.
Cheers
T + N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“unforgettable experience in Tassie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great experience, even for absolute beginner!. This is a must do adventure when visiting Tasmania. Good value for the price....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tazzi1, Owner at Cradle Mountain Canyons, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for the review Syafira. Yes we like to make it possible for people with no experience to enjoy our experiences, so glad you were able to. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cradle Mountain Canyons also viewed

Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania
 

Been to Cradle Mountain Canyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cradle Mountain Canyons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.