We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling, Dirty, Rip Off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lake St Clair Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lake St Clair Lodge to your Saves list
Lake St Clair Lodge
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Lyell Highway, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling, Dirty, Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My Family just returned from a trip to Tasmania and was quite appalled with the standards at Lake Saint Clair Lodge.
I was very disappointed with the unclean state it was in. When we checked in, the room had a stale odour, and below is a list of things we found;

Walls stained and not clean in bathroom
Dirty light switches
Dirty dishcloths left under sink;
Dirty walls in bathroom;
Shower very dirty, had to wear thongs
Dirty toilet bowl
Dirty rangehood in kitchen
Unwashed utensils/cutlery, I had to wash everything we used first(lucky I had some clean tea towels on me)
Dirty/dusty floors upstairs
Broken sliding door
No winders on windows
Dead flies on floor
Food was terrible

At a very expensive cost of $410.00 per night

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We are sincerely at a loss as to the basis of your comments. The cabins at Lake St Clair are new and carry the scent of a new cabin. Incense is also placed in every cabin to assist in the sensual experience of the site. We therefore find it difficult to understand where a stale odour smell would eminate from.

The cabin that you stayed in was cleaned by three housekeepers prior to your stay. It was then checked off by the executive housekeeper to make sure that everything was in order. Accordingly, we are having difficulty in reconciling the condition that the room was purported to be in contained in this review, with the reality of the situation.

Despite this, we do apologize if there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    29
    20
    31
    47
See reviews for
26
86
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

As other people who have written reviews have experienced, we booked a 2 brm lodge to end our Overland Track experience - we were all looking forward to a hot shower and a nice meal and somewhere comfy to sleep - we got a good bed at least! For our $300 a night we expected something nice, the bedrooms were nicely appointed, but we were disappointed with the kitchenette - you would think they would at least have matching crockery and cutlery for that kind of price? Didn't even have any water glasses, just 5 wine glasses! The bathroom was bad, with lots of mould all through the shower, NO SOAP (I mean seriously, we had just walked for 6 days, we NEEDED that soap! Good thing we had our own with us), and the shower head shot water up on to the ceiling, which then proceeded to drip cold water down on you as well as all over the floor.
As we didn't have a car with us, we were forced to eat at the restaurant - the food was good but the service was a bit lacklustre. We had clothes to wash in the laundry - one of the machines didn't work, just took our money and didn't turn on - so we went to reception to get some more coins as well as our money back - the lady at reception (who was lovely by the way) spoke to the manager - who's answer to that was "we aren't a bank", implying we weren't getting our money back! He was SO RUDE, absolutely disgusting - didn't want to know which machine was broken, told us not to put money in the machine again (gee, thanks for that mate, because we would have just gone straight back to the same machine if you hadn't pointed that out to us) and was generally very rude and unhelpful. Breakfast isn't available until 8.30 in the morning, so we were packed and ready at the cafe by 8.25, stood at the counter for 10 minutes while the staff just looked at us, but didn't serve us, so we walked out (our lift was there to pick us up by that time) and drove down the road to the Wombat Cafe and had the best pancakes ever! I'd definitely recommend the cafe, the staff are lovely - we had clean clothes posted to the Lodge so we had something to change into, which didn't arrive in time, and were delivered to the cafe the day after we left - they sent me a text to let me know they had forwarded it back on to our RTS address which was great service above and beyond.
I wouldn't recommend staying here! Such a shame as it could be lovely there, but with the man that manages it being so rude and unfriendly, I don't think it will be any good until he's gone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We do apologise that not all aspects of your experience were to your expectations. It does however appear that some aspects were to your satisfaction.

We are striving to improve and provide consistency in service. To that end, you'd be happy to know that the owners changed the manager earlier this year.

As you've identified the area is amazing, so we do hope that we'll be able to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had strong reservations about staying here due to the mixed reviews I've read here and elsewhere. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. The lake-view room was tastefully appointed with lovely attention to detail. It's a free standing cabin that shares a common wall with one adjacent room. Both rooms have separate entrances and outdoor table and chairs. The room was clean and I thought great value for money.

The only negative comment I have relates to the level of customer service provided at reception at check in when we were served by a male staff (manager?). Even though I had specified that we wanted a twin bedded room on my reservation 'special request' box and verbally communicated this to him at check in, he still gave us a room with a double bed. When we returned to reception, he allocated us a twin bedded room but made no remarks regarding the state of the room - it had not been cleaned! We spotted two cleaning staff nearby and with the help of their supervisor they were extremely helpful and got the room ready in about 30 minutes. We didn't eat the the lodge but the menu (though not cheap) looked appealing. I got the impression that the hotel staff are over worked. The man who checked us in (the manager?) and the supervisor who helped us sort out the room, were also serving at the restaurant....

We stayed for two nights and checked in on new year's eve 2013. Outside the reception area, we learned from one of the singers of a concert that evening in the dining/lounge area of the lodge. It would have been good customer service by the staff at reception to have alerted us to this!!

This property has enormous potential. Perhaps under new management where hotel staff work less hours and are trained in good customer service, this property might well be much more sought after.

The location is stunning, next to the lake and a short stroll to the Visitor's Centre where many walks in the area commence.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lake-view room. It was a lovely room. If you want a twin bedded room, best to confirm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Sincere thanks for your comments. Step by step we are striving to improve. We will definitely take your feedback on-board and assess areas identified as bottle necks.

We do agree with you that the area is stunning and we feel privileged to be able to operate in such a pristine environment.

Music at the Lodge are great nights where local musicians get to come out to the lake and showcase their talent. We do hope that you were able to join into the festivities whilst you were with us.

We hope to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived with much trepidation having read shocking reviews. However staff booking us in were extremely friendly. Our cabin was very clean & comfortable.We chose to bring BBQ food and cooked in the camp kitchen.Had our dinner on the bank of the lake as the sun set... a glorious sight !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are very glad to have been able to be of service to you. Unfortunately there are a number of mixed reviews on our property, whilst some are genuine, we are also aware of a targeted campaign by others who would rather see the Tasmanian Wilderness locked away than open to be experienced by others.

We also have an unfortunate issue of not being able to address a number of the camping issues due to that being under the control of the regulator and not us. Whilst most guests don't realist it, we do lobby the relevant bodies to address this situation and hopefully one day we will be heard.

We're glad you found our staff friendly and the cabins clean and comfortable. We will certainly pass on your thoughts to them as they do work hard to try to make each guests experience a special one.

We hope you enjoyed the balance of your holiday and do hope to be able to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We travelled with friends from the UK and we were so embarrassed that we had booked this lodge. We had rooms at $300 per night by the lake and although the location is beautiful everything else is shocking. The service simple inept, incompetent and sometimes rude. The food and drinks were totally over priced and the restaurant area is old and worn and drab. At least the room was cosy and warm and pleasant. The walks nearby are beautiful however I would not recommend this lodge to my friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We understand from your review that you may have experienced some problems with staff. Unfortunately it is always challenging to find the right balance of seasonal and professional staff. Certainly hospitality is more than a profession, it is a passion. Since then we have progressively removed staff that did not deliver the level of standard required. Whilst this will be an ongoing tasks, we have appointed a Food and Beverage supervisor to take control of the aspects related to service.

We are certainly privileged to be operating inside the Tasmanian World Heritage Area. Unfortunately, with this privilege comes a higher cost of operating due to larger rents and costs associated with our remote location.

We are happy to hear that you did enjoy the location and also found our cabin to be cosy, warm and pleasant. We are continuously improving and do hope we are able to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Lake St Clair is a national treasure. The walks out of the lodge are breathtaking.
The cabin we stayed in was comfortable, but over-priced at $300/night.
The reception staff were efficient and friendly.
The staff in the cafe are rude and incompetent. We walked out. Luckily the pub at Derwent Bridge serves great food but very expensive.
You need to take everything with you, you can't buy anything within an hours drive. There is plenty to do within the national park if you like hiking and appreciate the natural wonder that is Lake St Clair. There's no need to leave the Derwent River area.
If you plan to go further afield e.g. Franklin River, or the wilderness towards Strahan, then there is cheaper accommodation in Queenstown.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our cabins. Establishing a facility such as this inside a World Heritage Area was a very delicate task. Did you know that the buildings have been constructed on anchors so as to avoid digging in this globally significant area?

We are certainly very privileged to be living and working in such a unique part of the world.

We are sorry that some of your stay did not match up to your expectations. Getting the right balance of professional staff and seasonal workers is always a challenge in remote locations and our is no different. We do hope that you choose to come back again, so that we can show you the level of service that we believe is consistent with an international resort property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Over-priced restaurant, TERRIBLE service. Seriously worst ever - slow, kept forgetting our orders, we gave up. Room didn't even have a remote control and they refused to supply one. Didn't matter in the end as the TV couldn't be turned towards the bed and not all channels worked.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSCLManagement, Manager at Lake St Clair Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are privileged to have such a beautiful site inside the World Heritage Area. Did you know that we are the ONLY property located inside the World Heritage Area in Tasmania? Unfortunately due to this, there are much higher rents that are charged to us that would not be ordinarily encountered by a similar business.

We do apologise that you were unable to locate the TV remote or the guide to the television channels. This is something that has now been included on housekeepings checklist to ensure that it is visible by the guest on entry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake St Clair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake St Clair Lodge

Address: Lyell Highway, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake St Clair Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Tasmanian World Heritage Reserve. We welcome you to tranquility wrapped in outstanding natural beauty. Located on the shore of Australia's deepest freshwater lake. Our home has a serenity which promotes a connection with this wild and globally significant World Heritage Area. So hold your breath, open your eyes and enter a world away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lake St Clair Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake St Clair Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake St Clair Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.