We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lakeside location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake St Clair Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lake St Clair Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake St Clair Lodge
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Lyell Highway, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful lakeside location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The single biggest issue I had with the resort is how expensive everything is... I would expect to pay a little extra given the remote location but the mark up is extraordinary. The resort location on the shore of the Lake is breath taking and you have access to the wilderness and the wildlife on your doorstep. If your willing to payout for lakeside accommodation and can look past the cost of everything this is a really lovely spot for a couple of nights. The 'resort' is currently being upgraded and a large amount being invested in the new lakeside chalets.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    19
    29
    47
See reviews for
26
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cairns
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

1.Lake St Clair Lodge gave POOR ADVICE when contacting them by phone for information on the area. We asked them is was easy to get from their lodge to Dove Lake where we were canyonning. They said its is pretty close. Well yes Dove lake is 60km away as the crow flies but to drive their takes 3.5 hours!
2. The PRICING is through the roof on food in their little shop, in their restaurant and their boat trip. If you go their take ALL your own food and drink.
The interpretive boat cruise around the lake cost $150 for our family of 4. It was a trip in a cold covered tinny from one end of the lake to the other. The guide had only just started and new nothing except the names of a couple of mountains which she thought that was what they were called. She could not answer any questions relating to the vegetation, animals etc., around the lake or the walks and where and what you would encounter. The whole trip took 30 mins.
3. We were given keys after checking in, went to our rooms and found that one of the rooms had not been cleaned. We had to wait another hour while they got someone to clean the room.
4. After eating their spagetti bolognaise (I think the sauce was from a tin), I suffered severe diahhorea and vomitting for 8 hours from which I believe was food poisioning as no other member of my family got sick.
Supposedly it was new management and unless it changes again I would strike it off any list.
Overall I would steer anyone who was thinking about staying at Lake St Clair Lodge well away from it. The walks were good but not worth the other inconveniences and waste of money.
If your looking to do nice walks, activities and stay somewhere decent in the cradle mountains and have better food both taste and pricing wise, I would choose somewhere near Dove Lake Cradle Mountains.

Room Tip: studio rooms are best, newer. the chalets are ok, relativley good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have been travelling around Australia for the past 11 months and the campsite at Lake St Clair Lodge in the Cardle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park in Tasmania is the worst we have stayed in.

The campsites are extremely small and cramped together allowing no space to move or privacy. The amenities are run down, seldomly cleaned (only superficially) and in a state of repair.

A powered site costs $38 a night plus $2 for a shower and on top of that the park fee will cost you $24 per day if you didn't buy an annual pass. Outrageous! Mt Field National Park charges $20 per night for a big powered site with clean amenities and you don't have to pay for showers.

The Lodge claim they are Eco friendly but if you do laundry there are no washing lines to airdry your clothes and you are forced to use their electric dryers which will cost you $4. There are sign informing you that you cannot dispose of grey water but no means to do it in an environmental friendly way.

The staff are mostly foreign students and most of them cannot help you with any enquiry and you have to wait for a senior person to attend to you.

There are other options for camping close to Lake St Clair and I do not recommend this place for camping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing end to a superb hike. It was immediately apparent that staff were overworked and bound by the owners 'rules' to be able to provide appropariate customer service. Meals overpriced for a restaurant without full table service. Stayed in the dormitory which was OK but toilet block was very dirty. Wish I had of looked at other accommodation and meal options a small distance from the lake.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We had just finished the overland track and wanted a couple of days of luxury(?) before setting off to see the rest of Tasmania. The Lodge restaurant and cafe are the most overpriced and poorly serviced venues I have ever experienced. Wine with a meal? Ha! Go to bar and they give you a bottle- no glasses! Now go and collect your own cutlery! Food was burnt,( so badly that's daughter took back in disgust), salad consisted of a few slivers of capsicum and the end part of a tomato. The prices were ridiculously high ( 18.50 for a pie!). Don't stop here any longer than absolutely necessary. Very bad first impression of Tasmania's hospitality industry ! :( Aweful experience !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I returned to Lake St Clair lodge based on an enjoyable previous stay when it was a well run first class resort style property.

What a disappointment when we returned to find out there was new incompetent management, it was run down, dirty and nothing like it used to be.

On arrival we were not greeted in any form, just had an envelope shoved in front of us with a key and map in it, here this is yours was the only welcome.

We went to their 'restaurant' which used to be high quality - it was now not more than a bistro, the floors were covered in food and rubbish, the tables were dirty, the food was very ordinary. At one stage someone was vacuuming in between people whilst they were trying to have their meals.

Our room was dirty, the lounge and carpets covered with stains, floor not vacuumed properly, the room was not serviced properly, one day we had our towels removed and not returned, whoever did this left muddy footprints in the bathroom.

None of the clothes dryers in the laundry worked, our bathroom was cold because the heater had been removed with just the wires hanging out of the wall.

We complained to the manager and even asked to be compensated considering what we had paid ($290 per night), all we got was stalling tactics, complete rudeness and arogance from him, we left in disgust.

We would have left sooner had we not be forced to pay for our three nights well in advance.

Apart from spending a lot of time hiking in the park (fantastic) we spent the rest of our time at the Wilderness Hotel up the road, what a gem, great food and atmosphere!!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

There are few places in the world where you can stay this close to nature. The lake is beautiful and the water is crystal clear, I suggest you take a kayak to enjoy the scenery - including watching the platypus's swimming around and the trout fishing is great - if you have the right gear and information. Also the walks are breathtaking and remember if they say five hours, it is five hours, take plenty of water and take your time. Our neighbours at the tent site were pleasant and understood that sometimes you need to sacrifice a bit of comfort to enjoy this environment, the campsite is set amongst large gum trees. Lastly the amenities are work in progress, but the showers are hot and the toilets are clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake St Clair Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake St Clair Lodge

Address: Lyell Highway, Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty lodging in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake St Clair Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Tasmanian World Heritage Reserve. We welcome you to tranquility wrapped in outstanding natural beauty. Located on the shore of Australia's deepest freshwater lake. Our home has a serenity which promotes a connection with this wild and globally significant World Heritage Area. So hold your breath, open your eyes and enter a world away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lake St Clair Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake St Clair Lodge Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake St Clair Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.