We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Splendid

Thai Splendid
Shop C045/46 Macarthur Square Shopping Center, Campbell Town, Tasmania 2560, Australia
+61 2 4628 8802
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Im surprised by some of the negative reviews on this forum. I go here often with friends, and get take away for home. It is not cheap but not overpriced either. The food is great, it's fresh and up to the standard of other good Thai restaurants, my husband always gets the prawn pad Thai and he always has left overs because thy are not shy on the size of servings or prawns. The restaurant itself is nice and modern with wooden floors.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Service is poor and food pretty ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Went here on a Sunday lunchtime, this was the 2nd time we had eaten here. The first time was over a year ago and we were very dissapointed with the food then and vowed not to go back, but we thought we would give it another try as it may have improved. The food was Just Ok. But the service was awful, the girls were miserable in fact a couple of the staff were downright ignorant. We will definately not be going back this time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never a bad experience here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The food being served at Thai Splendid is very very satisfying. I am a regular customer at Thai Splendid and serving sizes have always been very generous. Every dish I have tasted has been incredibly tasty with special mention to Pad See Ew, Peanut Noodle, Massaman Beef Curry and Thai Beef Salad!

The only negative about this restaurant is that some of that staff are not 100% fluent speaking English, but their friendliness and attentiveness far outweighs this.
Atmosphere is simple, and traditional.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Over-priced and under sized. Nothing to write home about.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Over-priced and under sized.
Nothing to write home about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great garlic beef.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Great garlic beef.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Splendid also viewed

Campbell Town, Tasmania
 
Campbell Town, Tasmania
Campbell Town, Tasmania
 

Been to Thai Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Splendid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.