We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Indian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Corner

Indian Corner
104 Wilson St, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
(03) 6431 9393
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Burnie
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
West Kentish, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

So surprised to find this little gem in Burnie! The food was excellent & service perfect. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosebery, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nicest curry in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Curries on a cold winter's evening - who'd be able to resist? Well not us. They have a huge open fire place, the moment we sat down one of the friendly waitresses served some poppadoms and dip to help us to pass the waiting time. We chose the Set Menu for two and got to try different starters (tikka, samosa, dip), followed by all-you-can-eat mains! Lamb Rogan Josh, Butter Chicken, Vegetable Curry and rice as needed, nan bread and more dip on the side. What a feast. We basically had to be carried home .... that good! yeah!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in AUSTRALIA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved the place. Food was amaging, friendly staff and very nice atmosphere. We are Indians, so we know the authentic Indian taste. It was the best Indian food we've had in Australia. Definitely recommended for a great dinner place. Next time we are in town, we will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, highly recommended, yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This food was awesome, one of the best Indian dishes I've had! Great for Burnie! I would ignore anyone claiming they are an award winning chef and giving bad reviews, obviously this restaurant is awesome going by all the good reviews, well done

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Typical over rated Indian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

It's a funny thing when you read reviews and your expectations rise only to see them collapse when you taste the food. I travel the world tasting food, I'm an award winning chef and I'm here in Tasmania writing a book. Locked away for 5 weeks my trip to Burnie was all about devouring my favourite if all foods Indian.
Where do I start. The tandoori chicken was not fresh from the tandoor oven it was a microwave reheat. The "whole chicken" had been taxed of key parts I assume ending up in some other dish. The flavour and texture was marginal at best.
The pumpkin vegetarian dish was poorly constructed tasting bitter.
However the waitress was wonderfully delightful.
It rather sad uneducated people get to review foods. It's their lack of experience that sees them rate highly what is poor food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Corner also viewed

Burnie, Tasmania
 

Been to Indian Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.