We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   9 Murchison Hwy | (Somerset), Burnie, Tasmania 7322, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Burnie
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Dad & I stayed 2 nights at the Best Western Murchison Lodge. We were only intending on staying one night, but I'm glad we extended it out to two.

We had twin single beds. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy, the beds were comfortable. Extra pillows in the wardrobe. A kettle, bar fridge & toaster provided. The staff were friendly. There was very little noise from the main road too.

We didn't end up dining at their Resturaunt, but every time we went past there it in the evening were loads of people there. Locals too - one night there was a Christmas party. That's always a good sign for the quality of a motel's Resturaunt, if local people eat there as well as guests.

All in all, an excellent motel. A great place to stay in Burnie & great value for money.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
18
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geelong Bellarine, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

Immaculately clean, well appointed and well located. I really enjoyed my stay here. The restaurant is also a plus. I will certainly stay here again on future trips. The hosts are friendly as are the restaurant staff.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

2nd visit here, for business. The owners are very friendly helpful people. The rooms are nicely appointed and quiet. Yes, it does have a '70's look, but so what. I had a great night's sleep and the rooms are clean and made up each day. I will stay here again next time in Tassie for work.
Free wifi, but it can be a bit flaky especially down the far end of the complex.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are those away from the kitchen/laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in Burnie on a very wet afternoon, checked in and hoped we weren't in an upstairs room because that meant carrying the luggage up in the rain.
We were but in hindsight it was the better option as we did not have people moving around in rooms above our head.
The lady at reception was very pleasant and could not have been more helpful.
The room was definitely an older style room however the beds were very comfortable, the room was very cold when we arrived and took some time to warm up with the small heater on the wall.
Only issues would be the placement of the TV which was hard to watch unless laying sideways on the queen bed and there was a noise or vibration that was continuous during the night, possibly something blowing in the wind

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Booked late in the day for one nights accommodation traveling with friends. Offered a adjoining room and they did state rooms were more budget style, we all thought ok can't be that bad. We opened the door and oh my back in the budget 70s, and a freestanding oil heater the only heater in the room, light fittings hanging loose, we had to cover one window with a pillow to stop outside lighting when we turned lights out , but the bathroom was clean , we were all tired and had a good laugh we could not believe what we stayed in

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurchisonLodge, Owner at BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
I am also disappointed. Our only family 'interconnecting' room is kept as a budget room with
the intention of offering families travelling with small children a much cheaper alternative.
These rooms were offered at 30% ($83) under our standard room rate. As you carried out
an inspection prior to your acceptance of the rooms and the rate, we were of the understanding that you were satisfied with this option.
I do recall advising of the alternative rooms available but was told that this was not necessary.
Thank you for bringing the window/light issue to our attention, we are now rectifying this.
Each unit has heating in both the main room and the bathroom.

I feel that your review may not have been based fairly on what was on offer. Both rooms
had renovated bathrooms, 32" flat screen TV's, comfortable beds and heating. You also had access to free wireless internet, free movies and our excellent onsite Jetty Restaurant.

We trust that you had a safe trip home and when next on holiday in our beautiful State you may opt to try our executive rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This motel clearly identifies with the 1970s! The layout is dated and it hasn't had a serious refresh for some time. But the rooms are a good size, the TV was a modern flat screen and the bed quite comfortable. Everything was clean and the amenities were quite good for the price (just over $100 on a corporate rate). The on-site restaurant was also well priced with a decent wine list. Each room had a DVD player with free DVDs available from reception and free WIFI was included in the room rate. The staff were friendly and well organised. Good value for money but don't expect 5 star glitz!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Having had very good experiences using Best Western hotels, both in Australia and overseas, this one is very old and basic, which is fine, except the price does not reflect this. The lady/owner was wonderful, and our meal was very good, but again overpriced.. Breakfast was not included, which, if so, would have made the price acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge

Address: 9 Murchison Hwy | (Somerset), Burnie, Tasmania 7322, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, quiet location opposite a scenic tidal river. On the edge of the Tarkine wilderness, near Penguin rookeries, Makers Workshop, Hellyer whiskey distillery and the tulip farms of Table Cape. A short drive to Stanley, the Tarkine Wilderness Experience and the majestic Cradle Mountain. Only 10 minutes from the Burnie Airport. Be sure to try the fresh local cuisine in our renowned onsite 'Jetty Licensed Restaurant'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge Burnie, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Murchison Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.