We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful house in central Burnie!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duck House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Duck House to your Saves list
The Duck House
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   26 Queen Street, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A delightful house in central Burnie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Location was within walking distance of town/the makers workshop with off street parking. Facilities were everything you could need, including fresh garden produce and yummy breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the bath relaxing, even with the ducks! A great place to stay in Burnie.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Duck House is a gorgeous house with everything you could need for a stay in Burnie. The house is immaculately maintained, the owners will give you a very warm welcome and you will have access to a great garden with free vegies, herbs and lemons/limes. Generous breakfast provisions are supplied for you to prepare for yourself in the very well appointed kitchen. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The house is situated on a very quiet street while still within a very short walk to the bars and restaurants of Burnie. The host is very knowledgeable of the local area and can advise on local gems to visit; we took a drive to Stanley based on their recommendation and the drive over there was one of the highlights of our trip to Tassie - absolutely beautiful countryside. Unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: The Duck House is a must stay if in Burnie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Thanks for a great time whilst we were there your hospitality was 100%
When we come back over we shall certainly visit you again
This place is a must visit
If you near here take time to look around at so much to do in this wonderful country

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautifully furnished cottage, welcoming hosts and free WiFi - what more could a traveller want?!? But there's more! The breakfast supplies were delicious and more than ample for our guests. Just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at one of the Duck Houses - Mrs Philpotts.

A beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated house with a friendly host. It was so warm, welcoming and had a lovely homely feel - perfect to relax in. There is also plenty of off street parking.

The one bathroom is large enough to dance in, with room enough to actually split in two and create an ensuite off one of the bedrooms.

The free range bacon & eggs, juice, milk, bread, cereal, jams, butter and the lovely plunger coffee - were so fresh and tasty, best way to start a day.

Wish we could have stayed longer than one brief night with work - to appreciate all the full bookshelves, and the shared herb, vegi and fruit garden! Can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Last weekend my entire adult family stayed at Mrs. Philpott's House, which is next door to the Duck House. It was a wonderful place for the 6 of us to relax and enjoy our time in Burnie as a family. The provision of eggs and bacon for breakfast - and plunger coffee - were welcome additions to all the other treats and we all felt very much at home. The owners were particularly accommodating with our early arrival and late departure and our friend who stayed in the other house - Amelia's Cottage - was also very impressed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Duck House accommodation actually has 3 cottages: The Duck House, Amelia's and Mrs Philpott's.
I stayed with a friend in The Duck House cottage for one night and loved it. We were welcomed into a beautifully warm cottage that was a real feast for the senses. The fridge was stocked with fresh eggs, bacon and milk (and probably more but I can't recall); there were condiments galore AND a vegetable and herb garden that you could help yourself to!

It was such a wonderful change from sparsely and clinically furnished hotel rooms that it made our conversation difficult because my mind kept wandering as I'd imagine the history of the furniture and decorations.

I can't recommend The Duck House strongly enough. I will definitely find an excuse to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duck House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duck House

Address: 26 Queen Street, Burnie, Tasmania 7320, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Burnie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Burnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duck House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Duck House B and B cottages are fully self- contained and within easy walking distance of the beach and the penguin viewing area, Burnie CBD and restaurants. There are private gardens with herbs and vegetables for you to harvest and enjoy. A "Multi Award Winning" establishment, the three B and B cottages have won "Best Accommodation in Burnie" for 2008, 2009 and 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Duck House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duck House Burnie, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duck House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.