We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mecca Restaurant

Mecca Restaurant
22 Mount Street, Burnie, Tasmania, Australia
0364324488
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 63 Restaurants in Burnie
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a 120 seat family restaurant with a huge menu that includes steak, pasta, pizza, chicken and seafood at very reasonable prices. Our full menu is also available for take-away. Bookings are recommended.
Tasmania
1 review
“Faultless service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Saturday night 66 Pipers, Drummers and stage crew, fed,watered and out in under 1 hour. Emailed most food choices day before as time restraints, food ready to be eaten at 5 pm. Nothing a problem, staff happy and helpful. Not one complaint, food perfect, price brilliant. Will book again for Celtic Force 2014. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    11
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Rude and unwelcoming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went there for a dinner with family. Staff member rude mixed up meals and everything seem to be a hassle especially when it came to cutting our cake. I wont be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent two nights in the Ikon hotel above this restaurant, and I visited twice with my sisters. The staff at Mecca were friendly and the food tasted great-- not fancy fare, but good and hearty-- based on what I had and what I "sampled" from my sister's plate. The schnitzel was my favorite on the menu, and the atmosphere was relaxed and family friendly. Love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor customer service, misleading/false menus”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Can Not Believe the DISGUSTING customer service on display at Mecca tonight!! scallops where ordered which appeared to be imported and full of water from being FROZEN but advertised as FRESH!!! Tasmania scallops pffft disgusting and when sent back my company was treated to the WORST CASE of Harrassment I have EVER witnessed by 3 DIFFERENT STAFF MEMBERS!! i am Appalled & disgusted by the staff there!! Ruined a really fun night!! with company Would advise people to avoid.. So disgusted!!! and then to have myself and company leaving the restaurant to be followed out with profanity name calling....appalling rate it nil if was able

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard
1 review
“rude and unhygenic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Ordered a pizza, noticed the young who was playing with his iphone get up and make the pizza without washing his hands or using gloves. I went up to him and asked if he could make another and use gloves next time as did not want the one he just made. The came out and said get out we dont want you here, very abusive and even thought he was going to hit me and on top of that he called my son a germ when my son told him to calm down. Could not believe it.

Simple thing like hand hygiene, what else do they do behind your back. Calling health inspector let them sort him out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mecca Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mecca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mecca Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.