We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite to the National Park but close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Bruny National Park

South Bruny National Park
Bruny Island, Tasmania, Australia
61 3 6233 6192
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$111*
and up
Bruny Island Sightseeing and Gourmet Tour from...
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Bruny Island
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
461 reviews 461 reviews
262 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Not quite to the National Park but close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went and saw a few other places on the way down to the national park and they were Cape Bruny Light house which is free and has some wonderful views so go there for a look. The other place which was a nice cool place to swim was Adventure bay. The water here is as clear as a bell. On the way down we had lunch at the Penguines Cafe, on the right on the way down, which was cheap and tasty. If you like walking you will love the island but you will need to stay for a few days.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    38
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've been travelling around Tasmania for a month and a half now and Bruny Island is by far my favourite destination yet. This is great for families, adventure seekers or just vacationers. The white sand beaches are irresistible and the hiking, oh the hiking. If you've got a couple hours to spare, I highly recommend the fluted cape walk. This is easy-moderate type hike and the views along the way are picture perfect. Another, more relaxing, sight was the South Bruny lighthouse.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Walk to lighthouse just for the views.Magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The views on the drive down to the lighthouse are great with heaps of photo ops. But walk up to the lighthouse and WOW. True Australian natural beauty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the trip over on the car ferry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Car ferry a great experience and Bruny Island is just beautiful. So much to see, can do it in a day but probably worth staying at least one night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonah, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful place, lots to discover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights on South Bruny Island in a cabin at Adventure Bay. It was right on the ocean with fantastic views and we took a few walks in the national park. The weather was perfect and I will certainly return there one day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Bruny National Park also viewed

 

Been to South Bruny National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Bruny National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.