We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss eating at Hotel Bruny.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bruny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bruny to your Saves list
Hotel Bruny
3959 Main Road, Bruny Island, Tasmania 7150, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bruny Island B&B and Inns
Cobram, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss eating at Hotel Bruny.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten several times at Hotel Bruny over the past 2 months while on the Island. Great service, friendly and welcoming. Beautiful fresh seafood. Good knowledge of gluten free requirements. The chef even whipped up some heavenly gluten free apple fritters. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malanda, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The units beside the hotel don't look like much, but inside - clean, functional and on the way to stylish! The bathroom had been renovated, but was very plain and parts
looked old. However, it was clean, and had everything you could need - including a hair dryer. Room has fridge, toaster AND a coffee plunger. We didn't bring coffee, but Dave the VERY helpful hotel manager ground some of the restaurant's beans for us free of charge. Hotel doesn't do breakfast, but you could BYO bread/basics. Otherwise some nice little cafés dot the island. We had a lovely reasonably cheap breakfast at The Hothouse Cafe (coffee not so good).
Best of all - the LOCATION!! Lying in bed looking across the D'entrecasteaux Channel, all the way to Mt Wellington.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the two motel rooms which are next to the hotel. It was newly decorated and nicely done, but there were a few things that could be changed to make our stay better... It was freezing and the heater didn't quite battle the poor insulation. The water in the bathroom came out white and tasted of smoke so we didn't want to drink it. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast and there isn't much on Bruny so you either have to bring your own, or get supplies from the General Store across the road. They sell individual cereal packs, but if you want toast it's a bit inconvenient to have to buy a whole loaf of bread, tub of butter etc just for one brekkie.
The owner was very welcoming and friendly and the dinner in the hotel was nice and they had a good selection of beer. It was freezing too despite the two roaring fires.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manns Harbor, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There are two motel rooms side by side behind the bar/restaurant/bottle shop. The food at the restaurant is quite good, but pricey as to be expected. The view from the little motel suites was beautiful, the sunsets were breathtaking. It is basic accommodation... clean, nice, neat, anything you might need is there, but it is nothing fancy. In reading some other reviews, I imagine it might be a bit cold in the winter, but during our stay we were comfortable in the room and it was chilly outdoors at night. One is definitely paying for the location here and I think it is worth it.
You pick up your key at the restaurant and then you are on your own. We did not have any issues that required contact with a desk person so this was not a problem for us. We would (will) return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights on a recent visit. The motel complex comprises of two rooms and the bar/restaurant/bottleshop. The location is good, and useful for touring on Bruny. The view from the room is also good across the sea. However the place could do with a good scrub and proper maintenance. The renovation appears to have been cosmetic, so the bathroom suite is ageing and in need of replacement (the shower was particularly grotty). Agree with other reviewer that it was drafty- there was no window in bathroom and the front window was broken. I did report this to the lady who checked us in on the first night however it was not dealt with. In general the staff were quite standoffish which was a shame. We ate in the bar both nights, the food was good pub grub and the portions were huge.The bar seems to be a very popular place to eat. The only downside to the bar menu was the lack of a healthy options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,609 reviews 2,609 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 344 cities Reviews in 344 cities
1,160 helpful votes 1,160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Only a couple of basic motel rooms but the location is perfect.
Much of the accommodation on the island may have greater style but at the same time lack the views.
We enjoyed our couple of days (probably enhanced as Lynn found the rare forty-spotted pardalote) and having the bistro in the same complex was so much easier than driving to the other side of the island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is in a great spot on Bruny Island, and being located right next to a hotel (with really good meals and a nice fireplace) and a bottle shop is a bonus. We had booked a hotel room for 3 nights in October. You collect the key from the hotel bar and the owner was very friendly and helpful. The rooms (there are only 2) are in an old block adjacent to the main hotel (pub). We were a little apprehensive when we saw them from the outside, as they are circa 1960s and look pretty "rustic". On entering the room, however, it was immediately obvious that it had been beautifully renovated recently and was very clean and fresh looking. The decor was attractive and there were some very useful items provided - kettle, toaster, cheese board, cutley, crockery. The bed was very comfortable and had electric blankets and the TV was a decent size. The issue we had was that the first night it was extremely windy and being an old building there are a lot of leaks. We had to roll up clothes and stuff them along the bottom of the door and the window sills, however, this still left cracks around the windows that we just couldn't block, so the wind was whistling through all night - noisy and cold. There is a small electric heater in the room, but it just wasn't enough, even in October Also, the bathroom is unrenovated and there is no heater in there, so we had to come out into the main room to dry and dress, so as not to freeze. There is good water pressure and plently of hot water. The issue with this is there is no ventilation and the bathroom floor and walls were constrantly wet. I think this could be a great budget-ish accommodation option (although it isn't really that cheap, just cheap for Bruny Island) if they could just seal the windows, provide a strong weather strip on the door, install a decent heater in the main part of the room and put a heat lamp and exhaust fan in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bruny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bruny

Address: 3959 Main Road, Bruny Island, Tasmania 7150, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bruny Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bruny Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bruny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bruny Bruny Island, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bruny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.