We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gr8 Tee 2 Green!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnbougle Lost Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnbougle Lost Farm
Save
You added Barnbougle Lost Farm to your Saves list
Waterhouse Rd, Bridport, Tasmania, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gr8 Tee 2 Green!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This our 3rd visit in the last 4 years. The ocean view rooms were very spacious and comfortable, although the bed could be a little firmer. It's definitely better appointed than older Dunes with better quality facilities.

The restaurant perched atop the sand dune hill had excellent meals & service and of course enjoys a 2D4 views of the rugged coastline. The Sports Bar is also a casual well serviced setting overlooking the par 3, 20th hole!

The pro shop has friendly service and useful tips to play a few of the tricky holes. Loved both the Dunes & LF tracks - a real joy and spectacular vistas for golfers and walkers alike.

A "must stop" every time we visit fabulous Tassie - love it!
We'll be back!!

PS - Dec & Jan period is definitely the best weather for golfing here!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A very disappointing experience. Reading TripAdvisor ratings we expected luxury accommodations, but were seriously disappointed. Staff was friendly, but not service oriented. Rooms were similar to mediocre chain motels. Architecturally deficient with no décor. Checkout was strictly 10:00 am. Tap water was safe for baths and showers, but two small bottles of water were "resupplied daily" - non-potable water was a real surprise. Restaurant was spacious and staff accommodating with great views until dark, after which you could only see your own reflection. Menu was ok, but dishes were bland and uninspired. New management and new décor a must.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Lost Farm is primarily for golfers and I imagine that the course is indeed magnificent. However, we were looking for quality overnight accommodation and assumed Lost Farm would fit the bill as the reviews were really good and the hotel encourages both golfers and non-golfers. The setting is lovely but we found that the actual accommodation was very mediocre. The decor is depressing and dark, institutional fluorescent lighting, giving it a utilitarian, hostel or ski-lodge feel rather than an upscale golf resort. Poor quality carpeting and fixtures throughout, the only mirror was in the bathroom, water was non-potable, uncomfortable seating - just not the standard it is touted to be. We booked an ocean view room, but the sea was not visible from the room, unless you reached over from the balcony. The balcony also seemed pointless as there were no chairs there. The dining room was lovely, the staff pleasant, but the food was uninspiring and expensive for what we received. Overall the hotel service was lackluster, more what one would expect from an average motel. Really disappointing. We were glad we only booked one night.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room facing the sea, make sure it really does. The further from the reception area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BizSattler, Public Relations Manager at Barnbougle Lost Farm, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi Linda C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor for us. I am sorry to hear that the accommodation was not what you were expecting. Indeed the accommodation is targeted for Golfers. We take all guest reviews very seriously and will look into your feedback.

regards

Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As Barnbougle Dunes and Lost Farm are rated Australia's no. 1 and 2 public golf courses respectively, he was very keen to play both courses - so we booked an ocean view room at Lost Farm for 2 nights. He found both courses quite challenging with drizzly rain and wind adding to the fun - he did lose a few balls! I walked around with him and found the courses scenic enough to keep me happy.

Pleasantly surprised by the hotel - the ocean view from the room was great and the room itself pleasantly roomy, clean and comfortable. Loved the complimentary biscuits! This is something that has almost disappeared on the 'big island' - but all the places we stayed at in Tasmania (with the exception of one) provided complimentary biscuits in the room.

Restaurant food was excellent and the view across the course and water was fabulous.

One small gripe - no in room dining service. But I was able to purchase sandwiches from the golf shop and bring it to my room.

Service was 'hit and miss' but nothing offensive was encountered - just didn't seem to have much emphasis on 'service' - more casual and laid back approach.

Overall a surprisingly pleasant place to stay - he's planning a return golf trip with the boys.

Room Tip: Our ocean view room had a fabulous view - but the view for rooms overlooking the golf course also lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caves Beach,Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The golf course is a magnificent links course and world class. Accommodation at Lost Farm Lodge is of a good standard. The restaurant is located with magnificent views over the course and the coastline
. Food is reasonable and wine list and service very good.
A must for keen golfers

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our week away in Tasmania, husband sadly did not have his clubs so walked the course the next morning in somewhat blustery conditions, has played at its sister course a few years back, just a beautiful place had a ocean view room, and dined at the restaurant which was superb, great service all round.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful surprise in the middle of nowhere. Spectacular scenery, superb service, scrumptious food, extremely friendly staff, well designed.
We will be coming back for years to come thank you!!
Three cheers to the brains behind the idea

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnbougle Lost Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnbougle Lost Farm

Address: Waterhouse Rd, Bridport, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bridport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bridport
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Barnbougle Lost Farm Bridport, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnbougle Lost Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.