We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surreal experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse World

Seahorse World
200 Flinders Street | Shed 1A Inspection Head Wharf Flinders Street Beauty Point Tasmania 7270, Beauty Point, Tasmania 7270, Australia
03 6383 4111
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Seahorse World provides visitors with an opportunity to experience the secret life of seahorses, from pregnant males through birth up to adulthood. By joining one of the regular guided tours, you will gain an intriguing insight into the seahorse, experience the feeding of the fish and hands-on opportunities in the touch pool with many interesting sea creatures. Seahorse World is fully accessible for people with special needs, has an impressive gift shop featuring some of Tasmania’s fine art, crafts and souvenirs and the Seahorse World Coffee Shop.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A surreal experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A trip to Seahorse world is a completely surreal experience. The tour is fascinating and so informative, but the seahorses are the real stars of the show - we could have watched them for hours!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    52
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“hold a seahorse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

took our 5 year old grandson to visit seahorse world, beauty point north of Launceston,tasmania,australia; the staff were v ery friendly, helpful and allowed us to tag onto a tour already started as we did nt think our grandson would concentrate for the whole tour. he certainly enjoyed it all, gazing at these fascinating creatures,watching the feeding frenzy and able to touch everything in the pools including holding a real live seahorse, wonderful time

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely 45minute tour and very interesting. Interactive also being allowed to hold the seahorses. All staff where very friendly and informative.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“To see a real seahorse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Driving from Devon port in about 1 hour.

From Launceston, about 40 minutes.

Normally you would like to have a look on both seahorse and platypus, a double pass will save you 4 dollars (seahorse $20 & platypus 23, only $29 for a double pass)

They are guided tours, each last for 45 minutes, and the tours will end at 3:30. Therefore you must arrive before 2:30 in order to have both tours.

In order to save time, you can consult the staff for priority of which one your should join first.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very interesting venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although I have been before, I still found this venue very interesting and informative especially as I had a friend with me who had never been there. The staff were very courteous and knew their stuff. I would highly recommend a visit to this place to anyone especially families.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seahorse World also viewed

 

Been to Seahorse World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorse World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seahorse World to your Saves list