We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort with a great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley to your Saves list
The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   61 Hawkesbury Valley Way (Richmond Road), Windsor, New South Wales 2756, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good resort with a great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We chose an upgraded room with a spa which was very nice except the spa which was for two people was very small. Check-in was easy but they charged $80.00 as a deposit in case we left the hotel without paying room service etc...This is the first time I have had to do this. This is as well as having our credit card details.
The restaurant in the evening was great with great customer service. Friendly staff. Ask for a table at the back of the restaurant its quieter and less busy.
When I went to the hotel it was about 50% full it might be a bit different in summer then the pool and spa area would be very uncomfortable and crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    120
    65
    33
    25
See reviews for
61
150
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a family birthday celebration in the Heritage restaurant on 14th July; to say that the service was average was an understatement; the maitre'd spent the night stoking up the fires & did not come near us once but gave us a beaming smile when we departed; it's a bit late for that mate!!! We spent a lot of money(11 of us) for overpriced food & detached service; great space & atmosphere but that was about it!

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else for dinner but I believe breakfast is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent a night away as a romantic break, booked via third party agent, the room description did not match the allocated room. Staff could not be more helpful, very accommodating even though the error was clearly the booking agent. Very friendly staff, service with a smile. Ate in the bar, food was ok, breakfast was definitely worth the money, lovely food and great setting. Did have a swim in the pool, fairly small but ok, jacuzzi in the pool area not great as jets were weak however spa bath in room made up for this! Overall I would definitely recommend to stay, beautiful grounds and very spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. 15 minute walk into Windsor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The best thing about the Sebel Hawkesbury is the buffet breakfast. You are offered a variety of foods including made to order eggs and omelets. Fruit and healthy choices abound as well as the usual breakfast items...bacon, make your own waffles/pancakes, scrambled eggs etc. It's help yourself and pretty much all you can eat. It was a wonderful way to start the day. There are also a variety of newspaper to read. We used a Groupon voucher for a two night stay and had a bit of a problem at check in as we inadvertently did not print the BARCODE page. The receptionist was not very customer friendly in insisting we produce this barcode or pay again. It was not a very warm welcome at all. We had to sit and plow through our email looking for the correct page (we did have the payment page with us showing we had prepaid but that wasn't good enough). We finally found it but then the printer in their "business center" could not print it out. The receptionist had to use her computer to finally print it out to her satisfaction. I had just arrived from the States so I was exhausted and just wanted to rest. A hassle that could have been avoided with a little more customer service training and courtesy.
We were given a room on the 2nd floor and with no elevators it was a bit of a schlep with the large suitcases. (Im thinking she did that on purpose since I challenged her concerning this voucher at check in).

The room as a bit dark...the lighting was dim and there were no lamps. The bathroom only had a small shower which was a disappointment as I wanted to have a hot bath. There were bathrobes which was a nice touch, but one was a bit stained. The bed, thank goodness, was comfy and the pillows were nice...different choices depending on the kind you prefer.

Free WIFI was advertised as well, but the first day we were unable to get on line. We connected to their network, but I think their bandwidth needed to be broadened. We did call about this concern and was told there was nothing they could do. The staff computers were on a different network so they worked fine. We suggested that the band width be looked at by their IT people. The next day, we didn't have the same problem. So wifi is sketchy at best so don't expect much and you might be surprised to get online.

There is an indoor pool and spa but they had the large doors to the courtyard all open all the Why have an indoor pool if you are going to have all the large doors and windows open to it rendering it now an "outdoor" environment in the wintertime? My suggestion to the staff is keep the door closed to the pool during cold damp weather.

All in all its a nice get away. Would suggest going in the warm weather to be able to appreciate all the amenities.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you don't want to carry your own bags up stairs, ask for a ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice one or two night stay out of the rat race of Sydney, this resort is well worth a visit. Lovely gardens to walk around and sit in to read. The food in the restaurant was as good as any in Sydney, truely excellent. Staff may not be 5* trained, but they are courteous. Would definately return for a weekend away.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Warm and cozy... A perfect getaway from the city.

Rooms are awesome, the spa is perfect. Nice courtyard and magnificent pool.

This is a place where you will drag your feet on the way out, or even get dragged out.

Comfortable beds, nice furniture and decoration.

Excellent customer service, perfectly clean, great food and well maintained courtyard.

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room for convenience to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley

Address: 61 Hawkesbury Valley Way (Richmond Road), Windsor, New South Wales 2756, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Hawkesbury Valley > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley is the only 4.5 Star hotel located in the Hawkesbury and Nepean regions. With 105 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, it is the ideal choice for conferences, weddings, romantic weekends away or time out with the children. Our child friendly accommodation near Sydney is perfect for a family weekend, holiday or just to get away from the busy city. This Hawkesbury accommodation is located in the historic town of Windsor in the foothills of the Blue Mountains, if you are thinking about looking for weekend getaways near Sydney, our resort is just an easy 45 minutes' drive from the Sydney CBD and 60 minutes from Sydney International Airport. Planning a romantic getaway near Sydney? You must try our resort. The hotel is set within 8 hectares of manicured, landscaped gardens, and includes an indoor heated pool, 2 floodlit tennis courts, an on-site 9-hole golf course and adjacent 18-hole championship course, fully equipped gym and kid's playground, plus the only Villa Thalgo Day Spa in Australia. It is the perfect setting for romantic getaways in Sydney and the surrounding area. The resort has 8 formal and 5 informal meeting rooms (most with natural light), offering conference organisers and delegates the ideal venue for company training, product launches or incentives. With beautifully manicured rose gardens, lakeside settings and a private chapel, it has all the perfect ingredients for a heavenly wedding in the Windsor and Hawkesbury area or any plans for romantic weekend getaways in NSW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Hotel Sydney
Sebel Hotel Hawkesbury Valley
The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley Windsor, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Resort & Spa Hawkesbury Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.