We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chance to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canton Palace

Canton Palace
23 Station Street, Wentworth Falls, New South Wales NSW 2782, Australia
+61 2 4757 1868
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chance to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A big surprise. Some of the best food we have experience. The menu was extensive. Food was of a high quality, tasty and fresh. The staff were friendly and attentive. BYO

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious meal. It was worth braving the cold mountain weather. The service was adequate. Meal came quickly. Reasonably priced. They offer home delivery by taxi which is a good option to our hotel in Leura if not wanting to go out. Looking forward to returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited Canton Palace on a public holiday over Easter, and having already observed how packed restaurants in Katoomba and Leura were, we were perfectly happy to overlook some flaws in service on an understandably hectic night. Service in the restaurant was pushed to the limit and three floor staff simply couldn't stay on top of the number of tables they had to serve, turning over for new customers and takeaway orders all at once. Even when we could see a table for two we could have been seated at, it was at least half an hour before a staff member even had a chance to set it up with cutlery and napkins and direct us to it.

Service aside, the food simply didn't stand up to scrutiny. The menu is diabolically large (something like 90 individual dishes, not counting variations with different meats/sauces) and completely lacks any focus. Effectively every Asian cuisine you could imagine is represented, but the problem is that when delivered, the dishes are no better than an average takeaway place. Our Massaman curry was incredibly dull, and tasted as if it had been made with a supermarket sauce, and a dish of prawns and vegetables stir-fried to go onto crispy noodles was impossible to finish. The prawns were noticeably un-fresh and the sauce was a gelatinous, bland coating that made the dish difficult to enjoy. Our deep fried entrees were exactly as you'd expect, at least.

Even subtracting the surcharge, the meal was remarkably overpriced for what it was - some of the worst Asian cuisine I've ever had.

As I say, it was a busy night for them so do take that into account. The staff were at least friendly and apologetic, and were managing to just hold it all together under pressure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Asian Restaurant in the Blue Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Blue Mountains doesn't shine when it comes to Asian restaurants, but Canton Palace is an exception. The food is fresh, tasty and always delivered with a smile. It is a great place to order take away as the service is always prompt and the food piping hot. The two best things on the menu are the battered prawns with hot and spicy salt, and the fish with hot and spicy salt - both rip roaring delights. The soft shelled crab is also a highlight.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than average with variety on the menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Better than average standard food, with more variety than you would expect from a local Chinese restaurant: decent alcohol options, easy parking, close to station, with high chairs and relatively family friendly. Worth the return visit. Also does a range of cheap lunch take sways and has card payment options (not everywhere in the street has this). Has toilets but I haven't used them

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canton Palace also viewed

Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
 
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
Wentworth Falls, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Canton Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canton Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.